dnd 3.5e – Can a character without the appropriate item creation feat pay the XP in a cooperative effort to craft an item?

Consider a 15 level Cleric and a 12 level Wizard crafting a Ring of Protection +5

  1. The Cleric provides the Shield of Faith spell and the caster must be of a level at least three times greater than the bonus of the ring prerequisite.
  2. The Wizard provides the Forge Ring feat.
  3. The Cleric agrees to become the creator of the item, determining the item’s caster level and ending up paying the XP cost.

The Dungeon Master’s Guide (215) doesn’t say much on this, maybe unusual, scenario:

If two or more characters cooperate to create an item, they
must agree among themselves who will be considered the
creator for the purpose of determinations where the creator’s
level must be known. (It’s generally sensible, although not
mandatory, for the highest-level character involved to be
considered the creator.) The character designated as the creator
pays the XP required to make the item.

But here is the Magic Item Compendium (232) on this topic:

The XP cost must always be paid by the character who supplies the item creation feat required by the item, no matter how many other characters cooperate in its creation

So far I understand the underlying assumption. In order to be appointed as a “creator”, a character must have the appropriate “creation feat”.

Is there more than this that I’m missing? Does the Magic Item Compendium clarify or contradict the Dungeon Master’s Guide in the passage presented above?