Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It only takes a minute to sign up.
Sign up to join this community
Anybody can ask a question
Anybody can answer
The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
The Wizard Order of Scribes subclass provides the ability to create a magic scroll of level 1 or 2:
At 10th level, whenever you finish a long rest, you can create one magic scroll by touching your Wizardly Quill to a blank piece of paper or parchment and causing one spell from your Awakened Spellbook to be copied onto the scroll. The spellbook must be within 5 feet of you when you make the scroll.
The chosen spell must be of 1st or 2nd level and must have a casting time of 1 action. Once in the scroll, the spell’s power is enhanced, counting as one level higher than normal. You can cast the spell from the scroll by reading it as an action. The scroll is unintelligible to anyone else, and the spell vanishes from the scroll when you cast it or when you finish your next long rest.
Does casting a spell through the scroll created this way require material components? For example, could I cast Find Familiar or Arcane Lock through the scroll without having to spend the 10gp / 25gp component?
Costly components are not required.
The rules for casting a spell from a magic item state:
Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item, often by expending charges from it. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components unless the item’s description says otherwise.
If the feature required costly components it would say so.
No – You will still have to pay for any expensive components,
When and how they get used is probably a DM call, but it is probably best handled when the spell is transcribed.
I do not think this would be a good house rule either. The expensive components are there for a reason, and doing away with that costs as well as the cost to scribe a spell might be a bridge too far. IMO
Not the answer you’re looking for? Browse other questions tagged dnd-5e wizard or ask your own question.