dnd 5e – What is an orb of dragon’s breath?

My players have just started Rise of Tiamat and are likely to encounter a Dragonsoul in their next session.

The Dragonsoul NPC in Rise of Tiamat has an Action called “Orb of Dragon’s Breath” which gives them “Ranged Spell Attack: +7 to hit, range 90 ft., one target. Hit: 27 (6d8) damage of the type to which the dragonsoul has damage resistance.”

The Dragonfang NPC in Hoard of the Dragon Queen has a similar Action.

Is this “orb” to be understood as simply an orb-shaped spell without a carried physical component?

Or is it rather a physical object that allows them to perform the Action, in the same way their “Shortsword” Action implies that they carry a physical shortsword which the PC’s might loot?