After entering to instagram.com, I get the following message:
Your Account Was Compromised
It looks like you shared your password with a service to help you get more likes or followers, which goes against our Community Guidelines.
Change your password to continue using Instagram. If you share your new password with one of these services, you may get blocked from following, liking or commenting.
However, I never shared my password with any such service. In fact, I don’t even have an Instagram password.
Before getting this error message, I regularly got alerts about “suspicious activity”, and it had me confirm my phone number or email address.
I was able to restore my account, but I’m wondering why Instagram sees “suspicious activity” or that I “shared your password with a service to help get more likes or followers”.
Some details Instagram may see as suspicious:
- I have visited one such website, but out of curiosity, and never inputted my password or account details. I use the Brave browser, so Facebook shouldn’t be able to track me out of Facebook.
- I use Linux.
- I have a rooted Android phone.
- I’ve used the browser developer tools on Instagram.