While reading several spell entries I realized that most attack spells have “Targets 1 creature“, and most area damage spells only say that “You deal X damage to creatures in the area“.
Does this really mean you can only attack or damage creatures with them?
This seems absurd to me, and extremely gamist. I hope that I’m missing something or I’ll have to come up with a house rule to fix it.
Several examples of what I mean:
Can you burn a letter with Produce Flame or Burning Hands?
Can you melt a wooden door with Acid Arrow?
Can you destroy a barn with Meteor Swarm?