Restoring previous version of a SharePoint list item retains subsequent ‘appended’ values

I have a list with two fields that have these settings:

Multiple Lines of Text (Plain Text)
Append Changes to Existing Text (Yes)

Example:

Condition Comments:    

General Comments:  

I started with this:

Condition Comments:    

General Comments:   Here is a general comment

And then I mistakenly appended a value to the Condition Comments field instead of the General Comments field, ie:

Condition Comments:  Here is another general comment  

General Comments:   Here is a general comment

I went to the item’s Version History and selected v 1.0 to Restore.

However it has kept and duplicated the Condition Comments values, ie:

Condition Comments:  Here is another general comment  
                     Here is another general comment 

General Comments:   Here is a general comment

I tried this process several times and now have something like this:

Condition Comments:  Here is another general comment  
                     Here is another general comment 

General Comments:   Here is a general comment
                    Here is a general comment
                    Here is a general comment

How can I get back to the version prior to the mistake, ie v1.0 and not keep the subsequent changes that were made since that version?

I want to end up with this:

Condition Comments:    

General Comments:   Here is a general comment

Edit

I don’t understand it yet, but it looks like these articles and questions are related:

Problem restoring a list item version and comment history (2010)

Deleting a version from a custom list item will only remove the data inside field/s with “Append Changes to Existing Text = Yes”

Related reading:

How versioning works in lists and libraries

Edit 2

When i try and delete the undesired versions, I get this message:

Sorry, something went wrong
Versions of this item cannot be deleted because it is on hold or retention policy.