dnd 3.5e – Can you count an impromptu weapon as a melee weapon and ranged weapon? Can you add an improvement to an improvised weapon?

Improvised weapons are usually left to the DM. There is very little we can tell you for sure. Most of these questions have to be asked of your DM.

Improvised weapon as melee and ranged weapon

A weapon can be considered both a melee weapon and a ranged weapon. many throwing weapons do that. An improvised weapon could also be – you can hit someone on the head or throw a rock at someone, and both would be attacks with an improvised weapon. On the other hand, we can imagine a thrown game card being able to hurt somebody, and it's hard to imagine how you can melee someone with a map that hurts you. (It probably does not count to hit her only with the card wrapped around her fist.) Your DM may or may not allow it, but it probably depends on whether you can imagine it actually hurt anyone.

Melee weapon mastery and ranged weapon mastery with throwing weapons

In any case, thrown weapons, if allowed, can be both melee weapons and ranged weapons, and the phrase for melee weapon and ranged weapon control means that you get the bonus if you use the right type of weapon, regardless of the type of weapon of attack you do. And officially they are stacking. So you could get +4 to attack with a throwing weapon and cause damage if you have both. However, you should ask your DM for it, as it may be cheesy for some DMs to get both. Personally, given that you've burned four exploits this way, I do not consider this a very good option, even if your DM allows it – weapon focus, weapon specialization, melee weapon control, and ranged weapon control are rather poor exploits.

Magic improvised weapons

To become magical, a weapon must first be a master weapon. An improvised weapon is by definition something that is not a weapon at all. If you made a card that was designed as a weapon and of masterful quality, it would no longer be improvised, but a real weapon. Whether this is possible or not in your game world depends on your DM.

Conclusion

Ask your DM for fancy, perhaps exotic weapons that are actually weapon-laden playing cards. Maybe polished metal edges. Maybe use the stats for a dagger. Then you can get masterwork versions and magic them, and there are no questions. To have indeed Impromptu weapons are a bad idea – there is really no advantage in using them at all, I have tested.

Also, you probably should not take Weapon Focus unless something really good requires it. You probably should not take four levels of fighters – one level of power per level for the first two levels is fine, a level of performance that's really weak on every second level. And even if you do, you almost certainly should not choose weapon specialization. That does not bother the Weapon Mastery exploits, but they're not that good anyway. Instead, I recommend a look into the masterpiece of Complete the Warrior, Bloodstorm Blade Tome of the battle is also good for throwing. If you want to be force-based, choose Brutal Throw from Complete the adventurer is good and the Ranger can use you to skilllessly engage in dueling or ranged attacks. If you want to be based on skill, then Dead Eye by dragons Compendium Dex can damage you, and if you treat the cards as if they were daggers, Shadow Blade will use them Tome of the battle will also (they stack). Swordfighting is useful for keeping the Shadowblade, and there may be more useful things you can do as well.

dnd 3.5e – Does a doppelganger change its shape?

Doppelgangers have a version of the special ability shape change. The linked rules determine what you can do with this ability, and creating new devices is not one of the options. The only mention of objects is:

Any equipment worn or carried by the creature that can not be carried or carried in its new form falls to the floor in its space. As the creature's size changes, any gear worn or carried by it that can be carried in its new shape will change to the new size. (Nonhuman creatures can not wear armor designed for humanoid creatures and vice versa.) The equipment returns to normal size when dropped.

In order to no, a doppelganger can not create new clothes with his ability to change shape. It will either continue to wear the same garments as before (if they match the new shape), or the garments will fall to the ground (if they do not match the new shape).

dnd 3.5e – Which gods of deities and demigods can defeat an absurdly high party without being cheese or gods?

Deities and demigods is a strange piece of 3.0 material that gives countless gods statistics. As every DM knows, "if you specify it, they will kill it." In fact, page 31 makes the seemingly absurd claim that a level 100 party could easily find it. Following this investigation, I took a closer look at the statistics blocks of these gods and found that:

  • Most deities are level 40, although a handful (eg, Dennari) have levels closer to 20. This often gives them absurdly good values, but perhaps not level 100 absurd.
  • Most deities have access to some absurdly powerful salient divine abilities like Age Reality or Life And Death and are immune to more things than I could list. I suspect that would make it stupid if even a 1,000-member group challenges them.
  • Most deities have been around for so long that they have already seen all the tricks that players can think of, and given the absurd reach of their senses, they will be ready DR weeks in advance.

Which gods could defeat a high-ranking party without becoming gods themselves? In particular, my second and third points seem to make many gods invincible.

I know there is cheese that can kill almost anything, but I would like to rule it out. Since I have allowed the hypothetical party to be as high as I like, I hope cheese is not necessary. After all, the book claims that a level 100 party could do it with ease, and that's my focus. Who can defeat an absurdly leveled non-divine party in ways the designers might have intended?

dnd 3.5e – Does the caster know when a variable-duration spell ends?

Does the caster know when a variable-duration spell ends?

I'm looking for a RAW answer (answers based on Pathfinder or D & D 3.0 are fine if D & D 3.5 does not contain any information). I did not find one here or in the rules.

For example, time stop has a duration of 1W4 + 1 rounds.

  • Does the character only know that he has between 2 and 5 rounds?
  • Does he know exactly how long he has left, since the magic affects him?
    (ie if he rolled a 1, does he know he has 2 rounds)?

How about color spraybecause it is poured on another person?

If there is no such information, how should I treat it as a GM?

dnd 3.5e – Are exploits "effects"?

The word cause is often used in D & D 3.5e, but is rarely defined – and if so, it is defined in a certain narrow range that clearly does not encompass its entire meaning. In the rules that explain the workings of magic descriptions, the entry "effect" in some spells is treated the same, however, the word "effect" for various other aspects of the spell is used – especially for the entire spell doeswhether it uses an "effect" entry or not. And magical items apply "effects," as do conditions, and so on.

The only time we got an official word on the subject comes from the infamous CustServ answer to the question, exactly what Iron Heart Strike actually does. This reaction is infamous because it is absurd and causes absurd situations like a warblade to turn off the sun when it's hard to see. This special episode is one of the main reasons why I have "officially" set in discussing CustServ in horror quotes … But if you stick to this answer, which uses an incredibly broad definition, then feats are likely effects because Pretty much everything is.

So nobody knows. Everyone just has to decide for themselves. This of course causes problems when two people decide differently at the same table. Sure, the DM has the last word, but that does not prevent the other player from feeling disappointed by the situation, which is not great. If in doubt, discuss this with your DM.

I've never had a problem with creatures that qualify for talents and prestige classes that need to be evil.

dnd 3.5e – Is it possible to be considered evil to qualify for a performance?

Changelings have the talent of racial emulation to count them as other races for qualifying for things. Goliaths and Half-Giants have a powerful form that allows them to be considered large under different circumstances. In many classes and races, you can ignore some requirements for certain talents / classes. And many characters can use UMD to be considered something they do not use a magic device for.

Is there a way to be considered evil in terms of qualification for accomplishments?

dnd 3.5e – Do potions affect the undead?

Do potions affect the undead?

In particular, I look to see if a zombie child can benefit from Amaranth Elixir (from the Bondage City Adventure Path), which provides a bonus of improvement in strength and damage to wisdom. However, I plan to treat Amaranth Elixir as a potion, so I think this question generalizes.

I can not find anything fast, suggesting that undead are not potions, but I have the unshakeable intuition that this should not work …

dnd 3.5e – What exactly does the spell Polymorph do?

The first point of confusion with the spell polymorph clarifies how exactly his text interacts with that of Old Self, For this purpose, below is the combination of the two spells as if polymorph was written as a separate and not as a derived saying. This was achieved by separating both spells line by line and then replacing the lines with Old Self with the respective lines polymorph, plus line breaks of Old Self to refer to "topic" instead of "you".

Note that this answer uses the "Replaced" interpretation of polymorph versus Old Self instead of the interpretation "adds or substitutes". The "Add or Replace" interpretation results in strange rules that make little sense from a player's point of view, such as the arbitrary restriction that a creature of normal minuteness, of which there are no normal player races, becomes smaller the size selection. So in all cases where a polymorph Rule refers to something that is governed directly by Old Self, the relevant one Old Self Language was completely discarded and replaced by the language in polymorph,

polymorph

transmutation
Level: Sor / Wiz 4
components: V, S, M
Casting time: 1 standard action
Range: Touch
Aim: Willing creature touches
duration: 1 min./stage (D)
Saving Throw: none
Spell Resistance: No

You turn the willing subject into another form of living entity. You can not make a subject take on a form that is smaller than fine, or you can not make a subject assume an intangible or gaseous form. The assumed form can not contain more hit dice than the level of your caster (or the subject's lower HD) up to a maximum of 15 HD at the 15th level. The new form may be of the same type as the subject or one of the following types: aberration, animal, dragon, fey, giant, humanoid, magical beast, monstrous humanoid, mud, plant or vermin.

When switching, the subject recovers lost hit points as if they were rested one night (though this healing does not restore transient capability damage and provides other benefits of rest, and the change back does not heal the subject). The subject receives ratings for strength, dexterity, and constitution of the new form, but retains its own ratings of intelligence, wisdom, and charisma. The subject's class and level, hit points, targeting, base attack bonus and basic rescue bonus all remain the same.

The subject retains all the supernatural and magical peculiar attacks and features of his normal form, except those who need a part of the body that the new shape does not have (such as a mouth for a breath weapon or eye for an eye attack). The subject retains all the extraordinary special attacks and properties derived from class levels, but it loses all of its normal form, not derived from class levels. It also receives all the extraordinary special attacks that the shape possesses, but not the exceptional special qualities possessed by the new form or supernatural or magical abilities.

If the new form is capable of speech, it can communicate normally. The subject retains all the magic abilities it had in its original form, but the new form must be able to speak intelligibly (ie speak a language) to use verbal components, and limbs must be capable of fine manipulation be to use somatic or material components.

The subject acquires the physical qualities of the new form while maintaining his own mind. Physical features include natural size, worldly movement abilities (such as digging, climbing, walking, swimming and flying with wings, up to a maximum speed of 120 feet for flies or 60 feet for non-flying movement), natural armor bonus, natural weapons (such Claws, bites, etc.), bonuses for racial skills, racial bonuses, and all gross physical traits (presence or absence of wings, number of extremities, etc.). A body with extra limbs does not allow the subject to perform more attacks (or more beneficial two-weapon attacks) than normal.

The subject does not receive any particular features not mentioned above among the physical characteristics, such as obscurantism, low vision, blindness, blindness, rapid healing, regeneration, smell and so on. The subject does not receive supernatural special attacks, special qualities or enchanting abilities of the new form.

The creature type and subtype of the subject (if any) change to match the new form. The creative can not take on the shape of a creature with a template, even if that template does not change the creature type or subtype. Incorporal or gaseous creatures are immune to transformation, and a creature with the subtype form-shifter can return to its natural form as a standard action.

You can freely set the minor physical properties of the new shape (such as hair color, hair texture, and skin color) within the normal ranges for a creature of this type. The essential physical characteristics of the new form (such as height, weight and gender) are also under your control, but they must comply with the standards for the new form. The subject is effectively disguised as the average member of the race of the new form. If you use this spell to create a disguise, you will receive a +10 bonus on your disguised check.

When the change occurs, the subject's equipment, if any, will either remain supported or held by the new form (if it is able to carry or hold the item) or merge in the new form and become inoperative. When the subject returns to its true form, all the objects previously fused into the new form appear in the same place on their body that they were before, and are functional again. All new objects which the subject wore in the assumed form and can not wear in his normal form fall down and land at his feet. Anything that could carry it in any form or carry it in a part of the body that is common to both forms at the time of the reversal is still held in the same way.

Any part of the body or piece of equipment that is separate from the whole returns to its true form. When killed, the subject returns to its original form, though it remains dead.

Now that the spell is clearer, we can now pinpoint what happens polymorph Really, numbered after paragraph:

dnd 3.5e – Does dropping out of a threatened field trigger a casual attack?

Falling is an extremely cumbersome, underdetermined part of the rules. However, the basic rule for triggering a casual attack is pretty simple:

To move

Leaving a threatened field usually provokes a casual attack by the threatening opponent. There are two common ways to avoid such an attack: the 5-foot step and the withdrawal action.

Leaving a threatened place provokes normally. As the warblade leaves the threatened field, it leaves it and will provoke.

It could be argued that "move" refers to certain intentional actions performed by creatures to move themselves, and that falling does not count. In the rules, the word "move" or "move" is used to refer to any type of movement, whether or not it is a movement action. I think this is a weak argument. For example, a creature pushed out of a threatened field with a bull rush provokes it explicitly. So does a creature that is (at least probably) carried by a mount from a threatened field. So should fall.

But no part of the rules deals directly with this situation that I can find.

dnd 3.5e – Is there a special place in RPG SE where users can post source code or helpful spreadsheets they have created / use to share love with other users?

I'm playing a Summon Focused Druid in my 3.5e campaign, and have done several incantations and math tasks on the fly, all of which has become cumbersome. I could not find a helpful bow for animal / creature templates. .NET, C #]. It's in progress, but I want to share the source code if it's working and / or "done".

So, RPG friends, is there a special place for that? Where do I look if I want to find something and / or where do I throw my links / leaves if I want to share the love? If I find that the community prefers leaves rather than source code, I would shift my work to converting them to sheet format.

Screenshot of the idea of ​​the program / progress

Enter image description here