dnd 5e – Is it possible to have a character with knowledge of all weapons of war who has no knowledge of medium armor?

If I think more about this question, are the requirements for a Horn of Walhalla cumulative? I began to wonder if characters could use horns effectively without using their lesser counterparts.

Being able to use Bronze, but not Brass, is no problem for Druids or many different characters with the Moderate Masterpiece. However, I have found no way to master all weapons of war without knowledge of medium armor (ie to use the iron horn but not the bronze). Is it possible?

I just want to include official classes, races, and backgrounds (without "unearthed arcana"). Feats and multiclasses are acceptable.

dnd 5e – Can a sorcerer learn a spell from a bard (or other classes) if he's on the sorcerer's spell list?

Yes

A magic role is a magic role. How it was created does not matter to you.

The rules for the spell checker are included in the DMG. If they are in your list, you can use them (and for a wizard, you can copy them to your spellbook).

Creating scrolls is an optional rule in both the DMG and the XGtE. Once created, it is a scroll.

dnd 5e – Is "Tabaxi" still canonically the name of a human tribe in Chult?

I run a campaign in Chult. To make sure I know the setting well, I found this entry in the Forgotten Realms Wiki This article is about the tribe of the chultan. For the race of humanoid felines see Tabaxi.and further explains:

"Tabaxi" was also a name for a breed of humanoid jaguars, which occurs both in Chult and in Maztica. It was thought that this was a mistake in naming. The explanation was that a Cormyr researcher saw a Tabaxi tribesman in a ceremonial Panther skin garb and was informed by a leader that the man was a Tabaxi. This explorer did not understand what the leader meant and assumed that all cat people were called "Tabaxi."

In fact, the Mormyrian explorer was not far from the truth. The human tribesmen named their people after the mysterious cat-human.

This is also dealt with in
Who was this character from the "Tomb of Annihilation" adventure before they became a monster? Pointing to an article in the Dragon + magazine that at least in part confirms part of it metagame Story goes.

But the current printed 5E book about Chult, the Tomb of destruction Adventure, does not mention this at all. Instead, the human natives are referred to as "chultans," and the only references to "tabaxi" refer to the cat's species:

Tabaxi are feline humanoids that were originally native to the western continent of Maztica. Some chants call them "cat folk" or "leopard". After fleeing slavers, groups of Tabaxi have appeared in Chult. They are a cultured people and seldom evil. A few work as guides from Port Nyanzaru. Others enter the jungle in small groups to hunt grungs and goblins for their own purposes.

Sooooo, what is the story here? Are what were the "Tabaxi" now Chultaner?

dnd 5e – reaction during a prepared action?

So, if you hold an action with the action Ready, use your reaction to act when the trigger occurs. You can ignore the trigger, however. When using the Ready action before the trigger (or after ignoring it), can you make a VARIOUS response if you lose the prepared action?

Scenario: The fighter is fighting a bird and a goblin. The goblin is in melee range. The fighter prepares a sword attack when the bird comes within reach. The goblin acts in front of the bird and leaves the range of the fighter. Can the fighter seize a casual attack – consume his reaction, making the attack on the bird unprepared?

dnd 5e – How does the (accidentally knit) elastic ball interact with an existing silence spell?

silence requires that you center the spell on:

Point you choose within reach

As Elastic ball Working depends on where this point is.

If the point is inside the sphere, the wizard mutes.

The point is in the elastic ball and therefore the bullet could not stop the spell effects because it is already in it. additionally silence Effects would also be included within the sphere and the party would not be affected.

But the wizard is not stuck in one place, so they are silenced until they move:

An enclosed creature can use its action to push against the walls of the ball, rolling the ball at up to half the speed of the creature.

This would allow the wizard to move away from the point of silence.

Note that other creatures can also move the globe and possibly reject it into the sphere:

Likewise, the globe can be picked up and moved by other creatures.

If the point is outside, the wizard no longer mutes.

Elastic ball Conditions:

Nothing – no physical objects, energy, or other spell effects – can go in or out of the barrier, though a creature in the sphere can breathe there.

If the origin of the spell effect is outside (or the magician is out of range), the ball actively prevents spell effects from passing. The inside of the bullet would be a safe bubble silence,

dnd 5e – Does mirror image affect spells without an attack roll?

reflection (PHB p.260):

Three illusory duplicates of yourself appear in your room. Until the end of the spell, the duplicates move with you, mimicking your actions. It moves the position, making it impossible to track which image is real. You can use your action to discard the illusory duplicates.

Each time a creature chooses you as the target with an attack Roll a W20 for the duration of the spell to see if the attack targets one of your duplicates instead.

If you have three duplicates, you must roll a 6 or higher Change the attack target to a duplicate. If you have two duplicates, you must roll an 8 or higher. With a duplicate, you have to roll an 11 or higher.

The AC of a duplicate equals 10+ your skill modifier. If an attack if a duplicate hits, the duplicate is destroyed. A duplicate can be destroyed only by attack that is true. It Ignore all other damage and effects, The spell ends when all three duplicates are destroyed.

A creature is unaffected by this spell if it can not see if it relies on senses other than seeing, such as blindness, or if it perceives illusions as false, such as perception.

Attacks are just Things that require an attack roll (weapon attacks and spell attacks). See p. 194 of the PHB:

If ever the question arises as to whether something you are doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: when you make an attack roll, you make an attack.

("Attack" has a certain rule meaning in 5e that does not match the normal English meaning: actions and spells that can be called "Attack" attacks in the ordinary language are not necessarily attacks, as far as the 5e rules are concerned.)

If a spell does not say that the caster is casting a magic attack, then reflection does not interact with it. This is evident from the above full description of the spell: The spell effects only occur when the caster is attacked, and their effects are only to change the target of the attack to one of the duplicates. The only way to determine if a duplicate has been hit is to resolve the attack against the AC of the duplicate. There is no provision for reflection Interaction with spells where the target must (for example) make a save throw.

It could be argued that the first paragraph, especially the sentence It's impossible to track which image is realnotes that reflection makes it impossible to reliably target the caster with each effect. There are other spells that affect the targeting of nonattack spells, and these effects are specifically described:

non-recognition (PHB p.263):

The goal can not be targeted by any fortune telling magic …

Antimagic field (PHB p.213):

Spells and other magical effects, such as: For example, a magical missile or a sorcerer aiming at a creature or an object in the ball will not affect that target.

If reflection We would assume that the description describing the interaction contains a specific clause that affects the targeting of non-attack spells. For example, something that begins with "When a creature targets you with a non-aggression spell …". But there is no such formulation; The effects described are only for attacks.

You could argue that too reflection clearly creates illusions that are valid targets for spells, so an enemy spellcaster inadvertently targets one of those illusions.

However, reflection does not succeed illusions; it created illusory duplicatesand it specifically describes all of their effects. Spells that create illusions (like main or little illusion) have different effects (and do not specify what happens when attacked by a spell, attack or otherwise).

So, to look at the two spells in the question:

thwart (PHB p.219):

Necromantic energy washes over a creature of your choice that you can see within range, removing moisture and vitality. The goal must make a constitutional saving throw,

Magic rocket (PHB p.257):

You create three glowing arrows of magical power. Every arrow meets a creature Your choice, which you can see within easy reach.

(emphasizes mine).

Magic rocket only hits the creature that affects her reflectionand does not affect the pictures at all. It is not an attack, as no attack roll is executed. it just hurts. thwart also ignores the images and influences the target, as it is not an attack either.

dnd 5e – Can Leomund's little hut be raised?

I've tried to find creative ways to get around Leomund's little cabin, and recently I got another idea. When I started, I had been looking for digging creatures that would invade the cabin from below. There is, however, this theme, which really makes sense if the cabin has a floor where it can not enter. Then I had another idea:

Could digging creatures lift the hut as they dig to try to keep a litter that saves agility in the hut or be thrown out? The same applies to a skill like Stonewall / Power, where the hut is raised and tilted. How well is the hut anchored and can this anchor be affected?

dnd 5e – Can Wall of Force transmit heat energy?

The player's manual describes the spell as follows:

immune to all damages

Cold and Fire are both types of damage, and in your example we can assume that the lava would cause fire damage.

The question then is, "Can the wall of power allow damage to pass through it if it does not harm itself?" The answer is still no and here is the reason:

There are three types of heat transfer: heat conduction (contact between two objects, eg in the heat-metal spell), convection (which takes place mainly in gases and liquids for which the force wall is irrelevant) and radiation (not required) a medium and consists of electromagnetic waves).

We can exclude convection and conduct, as the player's manual describes Force as follows:

pure magical energy

which most likely does not behave like normal matter. If Force behaved in a similar fashion, we have a precedent for a lot of Fire damage that does not go through a Wall of Force, a Fireball spell cast at level 9. This inflicts no more than 78 Fire damage to the base 8 W6 Fire damage plus an additional 5 W6 Fire damage. Since there is no limit to the number of creatures that can play a turn in a turn, we can assume that even though three 9th-level sorcerers fire fireballs, the wall (and the creature protected by the wall) will remain intact ,

According to the Improvisation Damage Card on page 249 of the Dungeon Guide

18d10 Dipped in lava, …

That's a maximum of 180 Fire damage per turn dipped in lava. With 3 Level 9 fireball spells causing a maximum of 234 Fire damage per turn, the Wall of Force has set a precedent where extreme temperatures can not affect the trapped creature.

As far as the heating of the interior by radiation,

Nothing can physically go through the wall.

This would include things on the electromagnetic scale, since the waves would have to physically go through the wall, and light would be an exception (not the rule) because the wall is specified as invisible.

dnd 5e – Can the magician's hand be renewed and moved to carry a torch all the time?

Magician hand specified (PHB 256):

The hand disappears when […] You speak this spell again.

In addition,

You can use your action to control the hand.

Since casting the spell is an action, it takes 6 seconds after the first hand is gone before you can grab the torch again. Under normal circumstances, the torch would fall to the ground.

However, many DMs (including myself) dictate that they can do what you ask, even if that is not the strict reading.

dnd 5e – Is a controlled mount on the line?


PHB p. 198

CONTROL OF A MOUNT

While you are mounted, you have two options. You can either control the mount or allow it to act independently. Smart creatures like dragons act independently of each other.

You can only steer a mount if it has been trained to take a rider. It is believed that domesticated horses, donkeys and similar beings have such training. The initiative of a controlled mount operation changes to match your initiative when you enable it. It moves while you steer it, and there are only three action options. Jumping, disengaging and evading. A controlled mount can move and act in the same turn you climb it.

An independent mount retains its place in the initiative order. Wearing a rider does not restrict the actions that the mount can take, and it moves and acts
as you wish. It could flee from combat, attack and devour a severely injured enemy or otherwise act against your wishes.

In either case, the attacker may target you or the mount if the mount triggers a casual attack while you are on it.

PHB p. 311

TRAMPLING CHARGE (Schlachtross)

If the horse moves straight to a creature for at least 30 yards immediately before a hoof strike, the target must successfully complete a litter of DC 14 or be struck prone. If the target is prone, the horse may a
Bonus action to perform another attack with the hooves against the target.

OotA p. 226

CAVALRY TRAINING

If the Chitik hits a target with a melee attack while riding a creature, the mount may respond in response to a melee attack against the same target.


There are two cases:

If you ride a dumb creature that qualifies as a mount, its previously independent initiative (as a separate creature) will change according to your if you want to control it. If you allow it to act independently, the initiative does not change. (Note the above wording: "The initiative of a controlled Mount changes ")

In the case where you take control, both move at the same time. It does not lose the initiative, but just suits you and acts at the same time, until it is your turn. If you were to descend, it would still work on its new initiative, which is similar to the previous drivers (if not, it could act twice in a round by rolling the initiative lower than its driver's and then dropping off the driver).

If you climb an intelligent creature that qualifies as a mount, it retains its place in the order of initiative. You do not direct your actions and your presence does not limit your ability to act.

According to the above analysis, the two creatures do not share a move. If a warrior-riding chitikist moves 20 feet directly at a creature and then attacks it, the mount can perform a single hoof attack, but not use the Trampling Charge feature.

In addition, the mount had to move back and then perform a second hoof attack before the trampling load function could be used.

This is best understood by the following (legal) example:

Cor the Chitik Cavalier rides on Bree the warhorse. Cor & Bree start 15 feet from a Goblin Droop.

Cor instructs Bree to move 5 feet toward Droop to be within range.

Cor attacks Droop with his spear. Because of his cavalry training This feature allows Bree to move 5 feet closer and respond to Droop in response.

Cor instructs Bree to move 20 feet away from statics (provoking a casual attack).

Cor and Bree move 20 feet towards Droop.

Bree makes a hoof attack as an action. Droop strikes off with his STR ST and lies on his stomach.

Bree makes a bonus action hoof attack on Droop.

Cor and Bree use the last part of their movement and walk 10 feet away from Droop.