dnd 5e – Does the bonus action attack from Polearm Master receive the bonus to attack and damage rolls from a magic weapon?

If I have the Polearm Master feat and am wielding a +1 Glaive, the bonus action attack will use the same modifier as the standard attack (STR). However, does it also receive the +1 bonus from the fact that the weapon is magical?

Personally, I’d think that the full weapon is magical (not only the cutting part), so indeed the bonus attack gets a +1 as well. But in my DnDBeyond character sheet, the bonus attack does not include the magical bonus. So I wonder if this is RAW or a bug in DnDBeyond.

functions – WordPress Admin CPT custom action to add_action securley

I write this PHP code in my functions.php but i was wondering if this the correct way to do it (best way and security)
Is this securley?
What about use of wp_nonce_url in the link? (is $_GET request safer with wp_nonce?)

First i create a custom link in edit.php of the CPT “reservaties” with admin ajax to call add_action for do some stuff

function add_new_reservaties_column($columns) {
    $columns('goedkeuren') = 'Bevestigen';
    $columns('annuleren') = 'Annuleren';
    return $columns;
}
add_filter('manage_reservaties_posts_columns', 'add_new_reservaties_column');

function add_new_reservaties_admin_column_show_value( $column, $post_id ) {
    
if ('goedkeuren' == $column) {
         
   printf( '<a class="button" href="'.wp_nonce_url(admin_url( 'admin-ajax.php?action=accepteer_reservatie&post_id='.$post_id ),'reservatie').'">Reservatie bevestigen</a>');

}
if ('annuleren' == $column){
         
           printf( '<a class="button" href="'.wp_nonce_url(admin_url( 'admin-ajax.php?action=annuleer_reservatie&post_id='.$post_id ),'reservatie').'">Reservatie annuleren</a>');

}
}
add_filter('manage_reservaties_posts_custom_column', 'add_new_reservaties_admin_column_show_value', 10, 2);

do some stuff after clicking on custom link

add_action( 'wp_ajax_accepteer_reservatie', 'accepteer_reservatie' );
add_action( 'wp_ajax_annuleer_reservatie', 'accepteer_reservatie' );

function accepteer_reservatie() {
    if ( isset ( $_GET('action') ) && !empty($_GET('action')) && !empty($_GET('post_id'))){
        $post_id = $_GET('post_id');
        
        // get ACF field values from post
        $email = get_field( 'e-mail', $post_id );
        $naam = get_field( 'naam', $post_id );
        $datum_reservatie = get_field( 'datum_reservatie', $post_id );
        $uur_reservatie = get_field( 'uur_reservatie', $post_id );
        $telefoon = get_field( 'telefoon', $post_id );
        $aantal_personen = get_field( 'aantal_personen', $post_id );
        $bericht__opmerking = get_field( 'bericht__opmerking', $post_id );
        $lunch_of_diner = get_field( 'lunch_of_diner', $post_id );
        
        
        // convert special HTML variables and mapping with ACF field values
        if($_GET('action') == 'accepteer_reservatie'){
            $tekst_email = get_field('reservatie_goedgekeurd', 'option'); 
            $subject = get_field('reservatie_goedgekeurd_onderwerp', 'option'); 
        }
        if($_GET('action') == 'annuleer_reservatie'){
            $tekst_email = get_field('reservatie_geannuleerd', 'option'); 
            $subject = get_field('reservatie_geannuleerd_onderwerp', 'option'); 
        }
        
        
        $tekst_email = str_replace('(NAAM)', $naam, $tekst_email);
        $tekst_email = str_replace('(DATUM_RESERVATIE)', $datum_reservatie, $tekst_email);
        $tekst_email = str_replace('(UUR_RESERVATIE)', $uur_reservatie, $tekst_email);
        $tekst_email = str_replace('(TELEFOON)', $telefoon, $tekst_email);
        $tekst_email = str_replace('(AANTAL_PERSONEN)', $aantal_personen, $tekst_email);
        $tekst_email = str_replace('(BERICHT)', $bericht__opmerking, $tekst_email);
        $tekst_email = str_replace('(EMAIL)', $email, $tekst_email);
        $tekst_email = str_replace('(LUNCH_DINER)', $lunch_of_diner, $tekst_email);
        
        // send e-mail to client if accept

            $headers = "From: Bistro De Bolle <info@bistrodebolle.be>";
            $send_mail = wp_mail($email,$subject,$tekst_email,$headers);
        
        //if mail is send show message
        if($send_mail)
        {
            wp_redirect(admin_url('edit.php?post_type=reservaties&notice=success'));
        }
        else{
            wp_redirect(admin_url('edit.php?post_type=reservaties&notice=fail'));
        }
        
    
    }
    
    wp_die(); // this is required to terminate immediately and return a proper response
    
    exit();
}

Thanks for your advice!

pathfinder 1e – How does ‘Standard Action Attacking’ Work with the Big Cat animal companion?

I’m playing pathfinder with my friends as a hunter (ranged build) and I have an animal companion (the Big Cat animal companion archetype). We are currently level 5, and we started at level 4 and I am confused about how many attacks my companion gets.

I am unsure which of my Big Cat’s bite and claw attacks it can use as a standard action, or after moving, and whether or not it needs to use a full round action to full-attack (without moving more than a 5′ step) to use all of its attacks.

Example:

Let’s say I move 10 yards and then I want to attack an enemy:

dnd 5e – Would it be balanced to introduce an “Aim Action” that uses the same mechanics as True Strike?

There are few things in D&D 5E on which the consensus is as overwhelming as on the fact that True Strike is an extremely poor cantrip. As discussed in many places, the main problem is the action economy. As this answer to a similar question puts it, casting True Strike is not so much a benefit as it is a trade off: You waste your action on one turn in order to gain advantage and thus use your action more effectively on your next turn. As has also been pointed out countless times, this is rarely optimal, as attacking twice without advantage usually still has a higher expected damage than attacking once with advantage.

The generic scenario in which True Strike actually helps is when a character needs to put all their focus into making sure that one crucial, strategically relevant attack actually hits. Putting it like that doesn’t let it sound particularly magical: the character just takes their time to aim. I really like the narrative and I could imagine very dramatic, epic, and satisfying game moments with this mechanic. However, they do not happen, since they alone are hardly a convincing reason to choose the otherwise almost useless True Strike as one of one’s limited cantrips.

Would it be balanced to introduce an Aim Action, that is available to everyone and does exactly what True Strike does (mechanically)?

One obvious implication ist that True Strike is now entirely pointless and hence is removed from the game. Since it’s almost never chosen anyway, I don’t see this as a problem.

Some additional context: I also noticed that the Unearthed Arcana Class Feature Variants include the “Cunning Action: Aim” for the rogue. Having a general Aim Action and allowing this feature variant would keep in line with the idea that the Cunning Action lets the rogue do things anyone can do, just quicker. It’s Unearthed Arcana, so this may not be a great argument, but I like how consistent it feels.

dnd 5e – Does a Fighter’s Action Surge stack with the Haste action?

A fighter, once per rest, can use Action Surge to gain an additional action on his turn.

The target of a Haste spell also gains an additional action on his turns (until the spell ends).

If a fighter is Hasted by a fellow mage and then uses his Action Surge, does he gain two additional actions on his turn (for a total of 3 actions, plus the eventual bonus action & reaction) ?

php – Action on Custom Post publish

I want to send a push notification when a custom post is published ( send in both publish or updated)
I tried this code to create a custom post and send a notification.

<?php
/*
Plugin Name: Send Notification CPT
Description: Declares a plugin that will create a custom post type to send notifications.
Version: 1.0
*/

if( ! defined('ABSPATH')) {
    exit;
}

// Register Custom Post Type Send Notifiction
function create_sendnotifiction_cpt() {

    $labels = array(
        'name' => _x( 'Send Notifiction', 'Post Type General Name', 'textdomain' ),
        'singular_name' => _x( 'Send Notifiction', 'Post Type Singular Name', 'textdomain' ),
        'menu_name' => _x( 'Send Notifiction', 'Admin Menu text', 'textdomain' ),
        'name_admin_bar' => _x( 'Send Notifiction', 'Add New on Toolbar', 'textdomain' ),
        'archives' => __( 'Send Notifiction Archives', 'textdomain' ),
        'attributes' => __( 'Send Notifiction Attributes', 'textdomain' ),
        'parent_item_colon' => __( 'Parent Send Notifiction:', 'textdomain' ),
        'all_items' => __( 'All Send Notifiction', 'textdomain' ),
        'add_new_item' => __( 'Add New Send Notifiction', 'textdomain' ),
        'add_new' => __( 'Add New', 'textdomain' ),
        'new_item' => __( 'New Send Notifiction', 'textdomain' ),
        'edit_item' => __( 'Edit Send Notifiction', 'textdomain' ),
        'update_item' => __( 'Update Send Notifiction', 'textdomain' ),
        'view_item' => __( 'View Send Notifiction', 'textdomain' ),
        'view_items' => __( 'View Send Notifiction', 'textdomain' ),
        'search_items' => __( 'Search Send Notifiction', 'textdomain' ),
        'not_found' => __( 'Not found', 'textdomain' ),
        'not_found_in_trash' => __( 'Not found in Trash', 'textdomain' ),
        'featured_image' => __( 'Featured Image', 'textdomain' ),
        'set_featured_image' => __( 'Set featured image', 'textdomain' ),
        'remove_featured_image' => __( 'Remove featured image', 'textdomain' ),
        'use_featured_image' => __( 'Use as featured image', 'textdomain' ),
        'insert_into_item' => __( 'Insert into Send Notifiction', 'textdomain' ),
        'uploaded_to_this_item' => __( 'Uploaded to this Send Notifiction', 'textdomain' ),
        'items_list' => __( 'Send Notifiction list', 'textdomain' ),
        'items_list_navigation' => __( 'Send Notifiction list navigation', 'textdomain' ),
        'filter_items_list' => __( 'Filter Send Notifiction list', 'textdomain' ),
    );
    $args = array(
        'label' => __( 'Send Notifiction', 'textdomain' ),
        'description' => __( '', 'textdomain' ),
        'labels' => $labels,
        'menu_icon' => 'dashicons-format-chat',
        'supports' => array('title', 'editor', 'excerpt', 'thumbnail', 'revisions', 'author', 'comments', 'trackbacks', 'page-attributes', 'post-formats', 'custom-fields'),
        'taxonomies' => array(),
        'public' => true,
        'show_ui' => true,
        'show_in_menu' => true,
        'menu_position' => 5,
        'show_in_admin_bar' => true,
        'show_in_nav_menus' => true,
        'can_export' => true,
        'has_archive' => true,
        'hierarchical' => false,
        'exclude_from_search' => false,
        'show_in_rest' => true,
        'publicly_queryable' => true,
        'capability_type' => 'post',
    );
    register_post_type( 'sendnotifiction', $args );

}
add_action( 'init', 'create_sendnotifiction_cpt', 0 );


//Notification post

function cc_publish_wpse_263985( $postid ) {

    // check if post status is 'publish'
    if ( get_post_status( $postid ) == 'publish')   {


$url = 'http://192.168.100.24:8181/notification/topic';

//The data you want to send via POST
$data = array( 'title' => 'Hello World',
     'message' => 'Hello',
     'token' => '',
    'topic' => 'Active');

$options = array(
  'http' => array(
    'method'  => 'POST',
    'content' => json_encode( $data ),
    'header'=>  "Content-Type: application/jsonrn" .
                "Accept: application/jsonrn"
    )
);

$context  = stream_context_create( $options );
$result = file_get_contents( $url, false, $context );
$response = json_decode( $result );

}
}

?>


dnd 5e – With Crossbow Expert feat – can you Bonus Action attack on your turn, and then use a readied action to attack on someone else’s turn?

I am playing a crossbow expert ranged rogue and trying to maximize my sneak attack capabilities in order to remain competitive with regard to DPR (Paladin and Fighter in the group).

I am wondering if by RAW, I can use the bonus action attack provided by this feat first and then if it is successful, ready my regular attack to trigger on someone else’s turn – essentially allowing me a chance at two sneak attacks within the round.

I am solo-classed, so I don’t have access to Extra attack and not looking to abuse Haste. I am wondering if this is in DM-rule territory or if there is some source I can point to that would allow something like this?

dnd 5e – Drop an Item Action

Focusing specifically on your use case, where you have 2 full hands, and want to cast a spell with a material component requirement.

I don’t think that your DM’s ruling is supported by the rules in 2 ways. The first is that dropping an object does not appear to use up your free object interaction. Jeremy Crawford has tweeted

The intent is that letting go of something requires no appreciable effort. But picking it up does.

Also, Basic Rules page 73 or PHB page 190 has a callout box “Interacting with Objects Around You” with a quite extensive list of “the sorts of thing you can do in
tandem with your movement and action”. One of these items is “pick up a dropped axe”, but not “drop an axe”. Combined with Crawford’s tweet, RAI (if not RAW) is that you can drop the object without using up your object interaction.

Regarding then casting the spell, here’s what the rules (Basic Rules 83, PHB 203) say about Material Components:

A spellcaster must have a hand free to access these
components—or to hold a spellcasting focus—but it can
be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic
components.

If you want to cast using a spellcasting focus that you are not currently holding, you most likely need to use the object interaction to draw it, the same as a weapon. (An exception would be a Cleric who has a holy symbol which is an amulet or an emblem. The rules give “wear it visibly” as an option for using a Holy Symbol. PHB 151)

However, nothing in the rules indicates that casting a spell with components from a component pouch uses up that object interaction.

The “Interacting with Objects Around You” list again does not list “accessing components in a component pouch”. I think it would be reading a lot into the rules to interpret “must have a hand free to access these components”, as requiring the object interaction. If you were required to already be holding the component it would say so, because this sentence has been “eratta’d” to say that about the focus. They would have said it about the components if it was intended.

There are also spells that such a requirement would make almost impossible to cast. For example, Feather Fall(PHB 239) can be cast as a reaction, but has a material component.


A couple of quick notes about the rest of your points:

You cannot use a Bonus Action unless it is granted to you explicitly by a class feature or feat etc. For example, to take an extra “Use an Object” action like you are suggesting, you would need to be a 3rd level Thief:

Fast Hands

Starting at 3rd level, you can use the bonus action
granted by your Cunning Action to make a Dexterity
(Sleight of Hand) check, use your thieves’ tools to disarm
a trap or open a lock, or take the Use an Object action.

A component pouch is not a spell focus. However the component pouch, Focus, or explicitly having the component in question are all ways to satisfy the material component requirement.

dnd 5e – 5e Drop an Item Action

Interacting with one item is free. Interacting with two items is not. This leads to the odd case that if I have an apple in one hand and a flagon in the other I can drop either but not both.

Disclaimer: I newly come to 5e from Pathfinder.

I’ve been searching for possible workarounds RAW which may or may not be legal:

  1. Dropping an object is not an object interaction (DM says otherwise but if someone can find something RAW that supports the premise I’d like to hear about it).
  2. Drop the apple as part of a move, drop the flagon as part of the action. This uses up both object interactions so don’t plan on picking up that drumstick.
  3. I get a third object interaction with use of a bonus action. Since actions can be used in any order I can still cast my spells.
  4. Use an object allows me to drop or stow both but now I’ve wasted my action which obviates the point.
  5. Having a component pouch is considered a spell focus and it’s not necessary to interact with it as an object.
  6. Use of a component pouch to cast a spell is not an object interaction, its an integral and indivisible part of casting the spell.
  7. Drawing a spell focus to cast a spell is not an object interaction, its an integral and indivisible part of casting the spell.

Use case is I have a torch and a map in my hands. I want to cast a spell with a material component. I need to drop the map to free up a hand to cast the spell.

Use case 2 is I have a torch and a map in my hands. I want to cast a spell with a spell focus. I need to drop the map to free up a hand in order to grab the spell focus.

I encourage opinion or unofficial comments but for a solution I need something official in writing with reference link.

Thanks