dnd 5e – Can a caster ready an action to block a breath weapon with Wall of Stone?

No, this won’t work

The method for readying an action is that you use your action to hold the spell at the ready (pre-casting it), then use your reaction to cast it when a given trigger occurs.

But here’s the catch (PHB, p. 193):

When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger. Remember that you can take only one reaction per round.

If you have readied a spell to cast if a dragon uses its breath weapon, the only time you may unleash the spell is after the dragon has used its breath weapon and the outcome of that has been resolved (finished). Meaning you will cast Wall of Stone after the dragon uses its breath weapon, and thus after you’ve already saved/taken damage from it.

dnd 5e – Can I ready an action to block a breath weapon with Wall of Stone?

dnd 5e – Can I ready an action to block a breath weapon with Wall of Stone? – Role-playing Games Stack Exchange

dnd 5e – Does my version of Fire Breath break my pseudodragon?

Normally, if you have a pseudodragon familiar (via the warlock Pact of the Chain), the way it works is that you can skip your action to allow the pseudodragon to attack with its action. This is lower damage, but if it works, then you’ve permanently given a target disadvantage on attacks.

Also, if you use your pseudodragon familiar in combat, there’s a good chance it will get killed (for example if it provokes an attack of opportunity when flying away after using its sting), and then you’ll pay 10gp to resummon it.

What you have here is different: you have a creature that is not your familiar (since it sounds like you “won” it rather than “summoned” it), so it can use its fire breath every turn in combat, in addition to your action. But, on the other hand, if it tries doing that, something is just going to hit it and kill it. Also, the damage is so small that it’s almost not worth rolling dice for.

(Also, a “1-foot cone” isn’t really a thing in 5e. Either it affects a creature in a 5-foot square, or else it doesn’t.)

If this were your familiar, it would be very annoying to your DM, because the ability you’ve added is phrased as “not an attack” and so it would work in addition to your action. In every combat your pseudodragon would attack for four damage and then a monster would spend an action killing it, and then you’d resummon it for the next combat.

Part of the problem is that this gives you a damage boost that you wouldn’t otherwise get from a familiar, but more of the problem is that you have to roll a lot of dice (including, potentially, tracking damage-over-time effects) and it slows the combat down.

About the Sting ability: it is usually not useful except in very specific combats: using Sting to poison an enemy, if the enemy is important enough to be worth spending a turn to try to give it a debuff, but not important enough to have legendary resistance or a high CON save.

About your proposed ability: it is never useful in combat but might be useful outside of combat. You won’t ever want to get your pseudodragon close enough to an enemy to do its thing, because it’ll get killed and the attack damage is negligible. But you might get some utility from having the pseudodragon light things on fire at a distance.

If I were your DM, I’d say this is probably fine, and I’d allow it.

If I were writing it, I’d simplify it, because right now it’s rolling way too many dice. I’d say:

Flame Puff. Melee weapon attack. +4 to hit, reach 5 ft, one target. Hit: 4 (1d4 + 2) fire damage. The pseudodragon can maintain this ability continuously, like a tiny cute blowtorch.

With this writing, the attack mechanics are exactly the same as Sting, but it’s clear that you’re just trading the “might poison the target” ability for a “light unattended objects on fire” ability. Making it an attack also makes it clear that the familiar can’t use this in parallel with your own attack, if it ever gets made into a familiar.

dnd 5e – How can I scale down fire breath for use as a Creme Brulee torch?

I am starting a campaign in which my character is an accomplished and award-winning chef, and in an egg-themed competition won a dragon egg with a pseudodragon. I’ve talked with my DM, and he’s letting me replace the “Sting” ability with the ability to shoot small fire breaths. The entire point of this is to allow my chef character to be able to cook and use the dragon breath as a creme brulee torch.

The fire breath I am using in this example to scale down is for the Adult Red (or Brass) Dragon, whose actions state:

Fire Breath (Recharge 5-6): The Dragon exhales fire in a 60-foot cone. Each creature in that area must make a DC 21 Dexterity saving throw, taking 63 (18d6) fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.

I don’t want to necessarily do damage to my tasty creations, but I would like for it to be a living being that assists me in my culinary creations.

How can I scale fire breath for use as a Creme Brulee torch?

dnd 5e – What is an orb of dragon’s breath?

My players have just started Rise of Tiamat and are likely to encounter a Dragonsoul in their next session.

The Dragonsoul NPC in Rise of Tiamat has an Action called “Orb of Dragon’s Breath” which gives them “Ranged Spell Attack: +7 to hit, range 90 ft., one target. Hit: 27 (6d8) damage of the type to which the dragonsoul has damage resistance.”

The Dragonfang NPC in Hoard of the Dragon Queen has a similar Action.

Is this “orb” to be understood as simply an orb-shaped spell without a carried physical component?

Or is it rather a physical object that allows them to perform the Action, in the same way their “Shortsword” Action implies that they carry a physical shortsword which the PC’s might loot?

dnd 5e – Does the Draconic Bloodline sorcerer’s Elemental Affinity feature apply to the spell Dragon’s Breath?

As quoted above, Elemental Affinity engages when(emphasis mine):

you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry…

When you cast dragon’s breath, you are not dealing damage. You are granting an ability for whomever it is cast on to(emphasis mine):

use an action to exhale energy of the chosen type in a 15-foot cone.

It is when you use that action, not when you cast the spell, that is dealing the damage.

You are using your action to utilize the effect granted by the spell, but not spell is being cast. The spell is only giving the creature the ability exhale energy.

**You are not meeting the requirement of casting a spell when you are dealing the damage and therefore can not use your Elemental Affinity.

The damage dealing effect is similar to Breath Weapon of a dragonborn.

There is no spell being cast, it is just an ability that uses an action to engage.
When you deal the damage, you are expending an action. Granted, it’s an action given to you from a spell, but the damage is dealt from the action – not from casting a spell.

The fact that a spell gave you that ability doesn’t change the mechanic of its use. When you’re dealing the damage, it is not from casting the spell. It is from using the action granted by the spell (which, again, is not casting a spell.)

Strict vs loose reading

Ultimately, I think there is some ambiguity and it depends entirely on how you read the spell. Given that we are talking about a feat here and one concentration-based spell, I don’t think it’d be a huge deal to grant it by stating that the spell is ultimately causing the damage on one breath attack action during the spell duration.

This is somewhat supported by the same initial line. The difference is in granting

cast a spell that deals damage…

to the end-action for the damaging effect and not just the spell itself.

If it becomes overused, then you can always go back to the stricter after discussing it with your player.

But the hard line reading does suggest that this interaction doesn’t work given you aren’t casting a spell to cause the damage.

dnd 5e – How much time would it take for a plesiosaurus to get enough breath at the surface?

I found some information about whales and dolphins which may suffice.

How do whales and dolphins breathe?

It only takes them a fraction of a second to take another breath. However, as their nostrils are actually a blowhole and the plesiosaurus would have to lift it’s whole head out of the water it would take fractionally longer.

As a round in 5th edition combat equates to 6 seconds, I would suggest it can do this as a bonus action.

dnd 5e – Would the advantage against dragon breath weapons granted by dragon scale mail apply to Chimera’s dragon head breath attack?

Dragon is a specific creature type.

From the Monster Manual:

A monster’s type speaks to its fundamental nature. Certain spells, magic items, class features, and other effects in the game interact in special ways with creatures of a particular type. For example, an arrow of dragon slaying deals extra damage not only to dragons but also other creatures of the dragon type, such as dragon turtles and wyverns.

[…]

Dragons are large reptilian creatures of ancient origin and tremendous power. True dragons, including the good metallic dragons and the evil chromatic dragons, are highly intelligent and have innate magic. Also in this category are creatures distantly related to true dragons, but less powerful, less intelligent, and less magical, such as wyverns and pseudodragons.

Since a chimera does not have the Dragon creature type, it is a Monstrosity, it’s breath weapon doesn’t count for Dragon Scale Mail.

It wouldn’t be unreasonable to rule otherwise.

Above is the RAW ruling, but it seems perfectly reasonable for a DM to rule that the Dragon Scale Mail gives advantage against the chimera’s dragon head breath weapon. It fits thematically, for sure.

dnd 5e – Gust of Wind vs Green Dragon Breath

I think this is similar to Can Warding Wind block the effect of a Green Dragon’s Poison Breath? but the wording of Warding Wind seems more conservative than Gust of Wind.

I just ran a combat where a druid used Gust of Wind against a green dragon. I had the dragon retaliate by flying (slowly) towards the druid and using its breath weapon. The players were delighted, immediately declaring that the monster’s attack should have been nullified because:

(Green Dragon)
The dragon breathes poisonous gas in a 30-foot cone

(Gust of Wind)
The gust disperses gas or vapor…

However, I ruled that the breath weapon worked as normal through the line of the wind, using similar logic to the most upvoted answer on the linked question, that “dispersing gas” is for handling cloudkill, wall of fog and other lingering effects that explicitly describe being dispersed, and that breath weapons (or other instantaneous area effects) do not get cancelled through dispersal. Instead, I would argue, breath weapons may only get blocked by spells that say it more directly e.g. Wind Wall which says that it “keeps gases at bay”.

It would not have been a big deal if the players were correct in my case, as the dragon had other tactical options – moving out of the of the gust of wind to attack from the side for instance – so the ruling did not change much about the outcome (although it disappointed the players because they were convinced they had outsmarted the dragon and made it lose an attack). And in the end the battle was won by the PCs.

Should I have allowed Gust of Wind to nullify gas-based breath weapon attacks made within it, according to rules as written? What exactly does “dispersing” mean in the Gust of Wind spell description?

DreamProxies - Cheapest USA Elite Private Proxies 100 Cheapest USA Private Proxies Buy 200 Cheap USA Private Proxies 400 Best Private Proxies Cheap 1000 USA Private Proxies 2000 USA Private Proxies 5000 Cheap USA Private Proxies ExtraProxies.com - Buy Cheap Private Proxies Buy 50 Private Proxies Buy 100 Private Proxies Buy 200 Private Proxies Buy 500 Private Proxies Buy 1000 Private Proxies Buy 2000 Private Proxies ProxiesLive.com Proxies-free.com New Proxy Lists Every Day Proxies123.com Proxyti.com Buy Quality Private Proxies