spells – How much Hit Points does casting a two action heightened 2-nd level Heal restore?

Heal

You channel positive energy to heal the living or damage the undead. If the target is a willing living creature, you restore 1d8 Hit Points.

Two Actions (somatic, verbal) The spell has a range of 30 feet. If you’re healing a living creature, increase the Hit Points restored by 8.

Heightened (+1) The amount of healing or damage increases by 1d8, and the extra healing for the 2-action version increases by 8.

I’m reading this as a two action heightened 2-nd level Heal restoring 2d8+16 Hit Points. Am I interpreting this correctly?

dungeons and dragons – Are there any descriptions of the casting of Identify in official writings?

I am making a list of how my wizard would cast spells, specifically using the components supplied. Sometimes this is pretty obviously a joke which I can play upon, but sometimes the components don’t really make any sense (to me at least).

Identify (D&D 5e) specifically calls for a 100gp pearl, and an owl feather. My understanding is that previous editions had the same components, albeit the pearl was consumed. I can’t see what this is meant to represent, and designer intent is off topic, but I am aware that there are multiple novelisations of various D&D realms; none of which I have read.

In these novelisations, or any other official sources (including sources which were once official and no longer are, cannon, comment or otherwise), is there a description of someone casting Identify using the components?

I don’t care if it is forgotten realms or any other setting, don’t care the age of the information or what edition it was originally intended for, nor do I care if it is divine magic, arcane magic or any other source – as long as a pearl and owl feather are involved. I am mostly interested in the ritual casting of the spell, but the quick casting using the components is also of interest as I can extrapolate a ritual from that, and bonus points for both!

dnd 5e – Do you have to see the person, the armor or the metal when casting heat metal?

Rules-as-written, you must be able to see the target of heat metal.

Heat metal says:

Choose a manufactured metal object, such as a metal weapon or a suit of heavy or medium metal armor, that you can see within range.

If you cannot see the metal object, you cannot cast heat metal on it.

A word to DMs: don’t nerf your players’ spell choices

Say you have a player at your table who picks heat metal and is excited to use it. Don’t nerf their choice for no reason. What I mean is, if I chose heat metal, and all of a sudden every armor wearing enemy covered all of their metal armor with XXXXL shirts, and then the DM said I couldn’t use heat metal on their armor, I would be very upset – it would undermine a positive development of the combat, so to speak.

Now, suppose I was known throughout the land for using heat metal on my enemies to boil them in their boots, it would be interesting and fun to have one encounter, or even one story arc, where the party deals with a group of enemies that has specifically outfitted themselves to counter my heat metal. This would be a neat and interesting encounter that forces me to think outside the box. But it would not be fun if it were all the time.

Don’t nerf your players’ spell choices, unless there is a temporary, narrative driven reason behind it.

dnd 5e – On casting ‘Imprisonment / Chaining’, on changing &/or non-stable surfaces – where, where do the chains go?

The 9th level spell Imprisonment can be cast a few different ways. One possible cast-version creates ‘chains’ that keep the target restrained:

You create a magical restraint to hold a creature that you can see within range. The target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be bound by the spell; if it succeeds, it is immune to this spell if you cast it again. While affected by this spell, the creature doesn’t need to breathe, eat, or drink, and it doesn’t age. Divination spells can’t locate or perceive the target.

Chaining. Heavy chains, firmly rooted in the ground, hold the target in place. The target is restrained until the spell ends, and it can’t move or be moved by any means until then. The special component for this version of the spell is a fine chain of precious metal.

Note that these special Imprisonment-Chains are firmly rooted in the ground (R.A.W. / above). Here are my variants on one concern, below:

  • what if the target is 60′ to 120′ up… on a wooden floor? Do the chains reach all the way to ground level as the spell takes effect?

  • what if the imprisoned is standing on any firm yet non-stable surface when this spell is cast? Examples abound: on a ship, in the air due to a kite or hot air balloon. Or even on an otherwise quasi-stable surface such as sand or ice or swamp or lava or glass – the chains would have to take root somewhere ‘in the ground’.

I admit that this question isn’t deeply serious. Still, i am darn curious where these crazy chains would end up going.

dnd 5e – Can an Arcane Firearm staff receive the d8 bonus when casting any of the blade cantrips?

Can an artillerist’s Arcane Firearm staff receive the d8 bonus when casting any of the blade cantrips? Since the staff can be both an arcane focus and can supposedly be used as a melee weapon.

Specifically Booming Blade and/or Greenflame Blade

Additionally, if yes, which damage does the d8 add to? The bludgeoning from the staff, or the secondary damage types?

dnd 5e – Are Casting Foci Magic Items?

By “casting foci”, I am referring to arcane focus, druidic focus, and holy symbol, because they’re all just different fluff for the same thing, just keynamed for class restrictions.

When I say magic item, I mean magic in the sense that it has supernatural properties, not “magic item” as a rarity based loot-drop type item as exemplified by the DMG treasure lists. (That said, the second situation below may be affected by that definition) When I say mundane, I am referring to an absence of magic, not a state of boringness.

These are all listed in adventuring gear, and each type of casting focus gives examples of objects which can be used. The adventuring gear consists of mostly mundane objects, and the examples given sound like mundane objects as well. However, the list also includes magic items, like healing potions… and the foci are indeed being used to generate magical effects in the game without the use of non-monetary spell components. The answer to this question is relevant in these situations:

  1. A character finds some need to improvise a casting focus, so they pick up an object which satisfies the description of an example. (Let’s say, a wooden dowel rod for an arcane caster who lost his wand) Does it work? If so, why can’t an arcane caster use any phallic object, (most weapons, his finger, or even his actual phallus) as a stand-in for the word “rod”?

  2. A character, through whatever circumstances, loses their focus, so they decide to make a new one with downtime. Should they use Craft or Create a Magic Item? If they must use create a magic item, what is a druid doing that is so special when he cuts this sprig of mistletoe over any other sprig of mistletoe?

This is based on me thinking about this answer I gave a while back, and being dissatisfied with it. (And a friend made some dick jokes about the word “rod” as an example for arcane foci.) I cannot find anything in the core texts which states clearly one way or the other. (Though I’ve been known to be a poor reader) So, I would like to know,

is there any official source which clearly states whether or not casting foci are magic items?

dnd 3.5e – Increase factotum spell casting pool

A factotum (3.5e dungeonscape) can “fake” casting spell with the ability arcane dilettante.

This allows to spend inspiration points to “cast” spells from the sorcerer/wizard spell list as spell-like ability.

The limitations are three fold :

  • number of spell per day capped by the aforementioned ability advancement (up to 8 at level 20)
  • max spell level also capped (up to 7th at level 18
  • only one spell of the maximum level (the rest may be distributed however the player likes)

The question is : is there any proposition to circumvent (at least partially) these limitations or to increase the limit ?

dnd 5e – Can a Sorcerer multiclass use Metamagic on a Ritual Casting?

I have a character who multiclassed from a Sorcerer into a Druid. She has the Subtle Spell metamagic, and has prepared the Purify Food and Drink spell via her druid spellcasting feature – this spell has the ritual tag. She is a guest at a feast, but some nefarious individuals are also present there. For a number of reasons* she wants to cast purify food and drink as a ritual, and spend 1 sorcery point to use subtle spell on this casting – can she do this?

To be more general, Can sorcerer-multiclass characters use Metamagic options on ritual castings from other spellcasting classes? I see nothing that would prohibit this**, but I want to make sure.

Relevant excerpts:

Subtle Spell: When you cast a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to cast it without any somatic or verbal components.

Druid Ritual Casting: You can cast a druid spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell prepared.

* Wanting to avoid being poisoned, save her spell slots for a possible fight, and simultaneously not offend the hosts by insinuating that they would allow anyone being poisoned at their feast by noticeably checking.

** Apart from the awkward 10 minute pause before eating, but that can be done before the meal if the exact time of serving is known or controlled.

dnd 5e – Can a chain of simulacra casting a spell make it permanent?

This is a weird question.
It has been established that a caster could cast Simulacrum on themselves to make a simulacra, then the simulacra can cast Simulacrum on the caster to make a second simulacra of the caster, and son on. Let’s call this a chain of simulacra.

Certain spells can be made permanent by casting them on the same place daily or weekly for a set period of time, such as a month or year. These spells include Mordenkainen’s Private sanctum, druid grove, forbiddance, guards and wards, temple of the gods and mighty fortress.

I am not certain of the wording on these, but could a chain of simulacra make any of these permanent?