dnd 5e – Is the Cloak of Many Fashions ability an illusion or an actual physical change?

The Cloak of Many Fashions is found in Xanathar’s Guide to Everything and says:

While wearing this cloak, you can use a bonus action to change the
style, color, and apparent quality of the garment. The cloak’s weight
doesn’t change. Regardless of its appearance, the cloak can’t be
anything but a cloak. Although it can duplicate the appearance of
other magic cloaks, it doesn’t gain their magical properties.

My question is does the actual physical shape of the cloak change, or is it entirely an illusion? The description mostly seems to imply to me the former, except for the line where the cloak’s weight doesn’t change. If I for example changed a cloak made of lace into one made of cloth of gold its weight should absolutely change. That it explicitly doesn’t implies illusion.

On the other hand, there are definitely spells and enchantments that change the size of an object without changing its weight. The Pole of Collapsing, also from Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, explicitly physically changes a 10-foot pole to a 1-foot-long rod without changing its weight.

On the gripping hand, the line ‘regardless of its appearance, the cloak can’t be anything but a cloak’ seems to imply that it can appear to be other things but remains physically a cloak. Or that could be taken to mean that you can change its appearance however you like as long as it remains a cloak.

What say you?

dnd 5e – Hiding with a Cloak of Elvenkind vs Faerie Fire

If you fail the DEX saving throw, you glow. Whether or not this reveals a hidden character is up to the DM

The spell description is very clear on the glowing:

Each object in a 20-foot cube within range is outlined in blue, green, or violet light (your choice). Any creature in the area when the spell is cast is also outlined in light if it fails a Dexterity saving throw. For the duration, objects and affected creatures shed dim light in a 10-foot radius.

Any attack roll against an affected creature or object has advantage if the attacker can see it, and the affected creature or object can’t benefit from being invisible.

There is no special exception for hiding or visibility. If you are in the range of the spell’s effect, you make a Dexterity saving throw. If you fail it, you are outlined in light.

Whether or not you can hide, and how well, are up to the DM:

HIDING

The DM decides when circumstances are appropriate for hiding. When you try to hide, make a Dexterity (Stealth) check. Until you are discovered or you stop hiding, that check’s total is contested by the Wisdom (Perception) check of any creature that actively searches for signs of your presence.

You can’t hide from a creature that can see you clearly, and you give away your position if you make noise, such as shouting a warning or knocking over a vase. An invisible creature can always try to hide. Signs of its passage might still be noticed, and it does have to stay quiet. (PHB, Chapter 7: Using Ability Scores, Using Each Ability, Dexterity, Hiding)

So whether or not glowing would reveal you depends on the scene overall and how you are hiding. If you are hiding in a closed, lightproof box, then the glowing might not matter at all. If you’re hiding by ducking into a dark corner, suddenly starting to glow might automatically reveal you without an observer needing to make a roll. Crouching behind a low wall might produce a faint glow which a potential observer could roll Perception to notice (or notice with Passive Perception).

The Cloak of Elvenkind doesn’t necessarily matter. It gives Advantage on a roll to hide, but the result of that roll is the result of your effort to hide. It imposes Disadvantage on Perception checks made to notice you, but the result of that roll is the result of that effort. If circumstances make hiding impossible, like suddenly glowing in the dark (as above), then you can’t hide.

The argument that hiding might make it impossible for an observer to see you is a decent one. But if the observer knows how Faerie Fire works, and knows it’s been cast on an area where you might be, suddenly seeing dim light centered on a particular spot is a pretty good argument that that spot is where you are. In such a case, you may still be unseen, but not necessarily hidden.

dnd 5e – Does wearing a cloak over the Robe of Eyes “close” those eyes, preventing you from seeing out of the robe?

There is a case to be made either way.

This is a great question, and it is going to come down to a DM ruling, as there is a compelling case to be made for either ruling. Unfortunately, I cannot give a definitive answer either way, but I can offer some arguments and let you decide. The first is a more strict rule-oriented approach, that is, let’s just go by what is written without trying to make sense of it; and the other is a more “simulationist” approach, that is, what makes the most sense in the context of the narrative. The DM and the players should just work out how they want to rule on the Robe, and apply that ruling consistently over the course of the campaign.

Interpretation 1: You can still see in all directions, even while the robe is covered by another article of clothing.

There is a case to be made here based on the Robe’s interaction with creatures that have abilities that trigger when they are seen. The medusa has an ability called Petrifying Gaze:

When a creature that can see the medusa’s eyes starts its turn within 30 feet of the medusa, the medusa can force it to make a DC 14 Constitution saving throw if the medusa isn’t incapacitated and can see the creature.

To avoid this, a creature can usually avert its eyes:

Unless surprised, a creature can avert its eyes to avoid the saving throw at the start of its turn. If the creature does so, it can’t see the medusa until the start of its next turn, when it can avert its eyes again.

While wearing the Robe of Eyes, a creature is never considered to be averting their eyes:

Although you can close or avert your own eyes, you are never considered to be doing so while wearing this robe.

If you can never avert your eyes from the Medusa, you can always see the medusa, even while wearing another article of clothing over the robe.

Interpretation 2: The eyes on the robe are doing the seeing, so they would see only the article of clothing that covers them.

Alternatively, we can make an argument from the spell description that the eyes are function as points of sight, and what you see is relative to their position on the robe. Usually magic items don’t tell us how they work – magic be magic. But with the Robe, it seems to indicate how it works:

The eyes on the robe can’t be closed or averted.

This seems to indicate that the position of the eyes matters, so covering the eyes with another robe would mean they see the inside of the robe only.

dnd 5e – Does wearing a cloak over the Robe of Eyes “close” those eyes?

The text on the cloak says:
“ The eyes on the robe can’t be closed or averted. Although you can close or avert your own eyes, you are never considered to be doing so while wearing this robe.”

Does this mean that the robe can see through a cloak that you’re wearing over your robes? Or would a cloak, or a blanket for that matter, obscure the robes to the point that you wouldn’t be able to see out of the robe of eyes and actually consider your eyes closed while wearing the robes?

dnd 5e – Can an Unseen Servant “wear” clothes, such as a robe or cloak?

Is it possible to put a robe or cloak over an Unseen Servant, potentially fooling others into thinking that the Unseen Servant is actually a person?

The spells say the servant is a “invisible, mindless, shapeless, medium force”, but it is unclear to me how such “force” interact with clothing.

The servant can clean, mend, and fold clothes, so clearly it can manipulate clothes in some capacities. The servant can also perform simple tasks that a human servant could do, and presumably wearing clothes is such a task.

However, the Unseen Servant is shapeless, so I’m not sure if it would be possible to put a piece of clothing over it.

dnd 5e – How does a Cloak of Displacement interact with a tortle’s Shell Defense?

The cloak has a property that causes creatures to have disadvantage on attack rolls against the one wearing it, and

This property is suppressed while you are incapacitated, restrained, or otherwise unable to move (DMG, pg 158).

The way Shell Defense is described

You can withdraw into your shell as an action… While in your shell, you are prone, your speed is 0 and can’t increase, you have disadvantage on Dexterity saving throws, you can’t take reactions, and the only action you can take is a bonus action to emerge from your shell (EGW, pg 181).

is effectively the same as being both incapacitated and restrained, with the only notable difference being that an attack against a prone creature

has advantage if the attacker is within 5 feet of the creature. Otherwise, the attack roll has disadvantage (PHB, pg 292).

While extremely similar mechanically, the tortle using Shell Defense is technically neither restrained nor incapacitated. Furthermore, the ability to emerge from its shell as a bonus action implies the capacity to then move during that turn if the tortle chooses to, so neither are they otherwise unable to move.

As such, would the Cloak of Displacement work for a tortle using Shell Defense (and thus cancel out the advantage melee attackers would normally have due to the prone condition)?

RAW and RAI interpretations are both desired.

Software to cloak on google and other search engines to increase affiliate commissions | Proxies-free

Cloaking is a SEO technic to show spider bots a different page than real users. Google doesn’t like it if its deceptive, but if its the same content type, then its ok. Usually cloaking scripts have high subscription fees for IP list updates for the latest spider bot IPs, but the software FinalCloak uses a new method to detect bots dynamically and is only a onetime payment. That way traffic can be sent directly to affiliate landing pages, while search engine bots see the “real page” which can now be highly optimized only for search engines to rank higher in the SERPs. This can really help to increase affiliate comissions as users have 1 click less to your affiliate lander, so you can send them directly to the network you are promoting :]

 

pathfinder – How can an NPC cloak for a long time by the party?

I have an imminent story in which I want an NPC to hide its identity in order to gain the party's confidence. The nature of the trick will mean that they travel with the group for a longer period of time (days or weeks), so I need something with a long duration.

Effects similar to change yourself would be ideal, but all i can find is lacking the required duration for my purpose. The Hat of disguise, bigger Continuously modified (double cost) is the best solution I've found, but at 24,000 gp is very expensive and not something that the group should have access to.

Currently the PCs are at the 6th level and will be in 7th or 8th place at the time of this action. The group has a magician who works Discover magic on everything he sees, a paladin who uses to discover the evil On every important NPC and druid with extremely high levels of perception, I have to be able to fool them all. They also have a bard and a barbarian, but they are easier to cheat.

Magic aura and undetectable orientation I'm going to develop a bit, but suggestions that do not have that many resources are appreciated.

How can an NPC hide its identity from PCs for a long time?

dnd 5e – At what level do you give the command when you activate the Majesty's cloak?

From level 6, glamor bards receive the following abilities.

Mantle of Majesty
From the 6th level, you gain the ability to wrap yourself in a fairy-tale magic that makes others serve you. As a bonus action, you work Command without using a spell slot, and appear eerily beautiful for 1 minute or until the end of your concentration (as if you were focusing on a spell). During this time, you can use the command in each of your moves as a bonus action without using a spell slot.

However, it does not really mention what level you are in command of. Do you use it as a level 1 spell or at the highest level that you can cast in your level?

Cloak fighting, the ultimate deception … How do you build it?

I am creating a new character and having an idea for a character inspired by the novel "Dance of Coats". In this novel, the MC fights like a rogue, but uses his coats to move his position, hide his movements, and surprise his enemies.

The only other limitation I take for the said character is that he either uses little or no magic. Pure physical ability and ability.
I will create a 5th level character for this and would like to have a general level 10 plan. Only officially printed sources are used.

* The campaign itself is a dungeon style campaign.