dnd 5e – What happens when a Polymorphed creature who was mind-controlled reverts to its original form?

The creature would still be under the effect.

Effects such as a neogi’s Enslave action, like conditions, are not part of a creature’s game statistics. Therefore, despite what you might expect, the changing of a creature’s mental ability scores has no bearing on (ending) such an effect. Consider that the target of the polymorph spell retains its alignment and personality.

dnd 5e – What does ‘kind of creature’ mean in the description of the True Polymorph spell?

It appears to be an informal catergorisation of monsters—and possibly more.

Much of this answer comes from the content of this answer to a different question, which has been rephrased to be appropriate to this question.

Current examples of the term ‘kind of creature’ (or similar) include:

  • Antipathy/sympathy (PHB p. 214):

    a kind of intelligent creature, such as red dragons, goblins, or vampires

  • Locate creature (PHB p. 256):

    creature of a specific kind (such as a human or a unicorn)

  • The Protector special purpose of a sentient magic item (DMG p. 216):

    a particular race or kind of creature, such as elves or druids

  • Wand of Orcus (DMG p. 227):

    any kind of undead, not just skeletons and zombies

All emphasis mine.

From these examples, we can deduce the following:

  • Since ‘intelligent’ is pretty clearly a description of a creature, as opposed to part of ‘intelligent creature’ as a distinct term from ‘creature’, it follows that red dragons, goblins, and vampires and each a kind of creature.

  • Since ‘undead’ is a creature type, skeletons and zombies should therefore, under a less specific label, each be a kind of creature.

  • Similarly, the phasing of ‘creature of a specific kind’ suggests the same, if not a similar, meaning: thereofre, humans and unicorns are each a kind of creature (albeit potentially more specific).

However, at this point, we run into a problem: up until the last bullet point, every example mentioned only includes names which match closely to monster names—the series of red dragons of different ages; goblin; vampire; unicorn—but now, we have a much broader term: human. There is currently no monster entry with the name ‘Human’, but this example could still apply to a category of monsters. However, there are at least 46 which fit this description, not including specific adventure NPCs, so this would be a lot less sound a presumption—and this is despite the fact that this is supposed to be a ‘specific’ kind of creature!

We have a different problem with ‘druid’—which can reasonably be taken to be a ‘kind of creature’, since ‘elf’ (a race) is included in the pair of examples comprising both a ‘race’ and ‘kind’ of creature—whereby ‘druid’ can either refer to a monster of the same name or a creature with levels in the character class, which also potentially expands ‘kind of creature’ to refer to player characters.

However, no matter how we interpret the terms, it is clear that every listed example could solely apply to named monster descriptions. For example, ‘unicorn’ has a unique listing that it could refer to. We then have one possible consistent interpretation:

‘Kind of creature’ may refer to a category of monsters.

In any interpretation, we must have the following restriction, in response to the question about how this term interacts with a character’s options when casting the spell, in order to remain consistent with the examples listed so far:

A goblin target may not be turned into another creature which is a goblin.

This is necessary because ‘goblin’ is listed as a ‘kind of (intelligent) creature’. One could reasonably use this example to extrapolate that the target of a true polymorph spell may not be turned into a creature of the same race.

Aside from that, not much is clear.

The most general qualification to the descriptions listed in the various examples must unify race, class (if any), and whatever property being a zombie or skeleton could be.

For the purposes of differences to other transformations, they do not have the restrictions listed, while that allowed by true polymorph does.

The spells and features listed lack this restriction, with the only restrictions listed being CR or creature type. Thus, while the shapechange spell would be able to turn a goblin caster into the form of its goblin ally which has a lower level or CR, the true polymorph spell would not.

dnd 5e – What does ‘kind of creature’ mean in description of the True Polymorph spell?

The true polymorph spell states:

Choose one creature or nonmagical object that you can see within range. You transform the creature into a different creature, the creature into an object, or the object into a creature (the object must be neither worn nor carried by another creature).

If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you choose whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’s (or its level, if the target doesn’t have a challenge rating). The target’s game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the new form. It retains its alignment and personality.

How should this be treated in the context of the rules, and how should it be treated differently (if at all) from other kinds of transformation, such as the polymorph and shapechange spells, and the Druid’s Wild Shape feature, all of which only use the phrasings “a beast”; “any beast”; “any creature”? Is there any creature (or beast) which this spell would therefore be unable to produce which the other transformations would, or is it redundant?

What is a kind of creature, and how do I determine what options a player has when he tries to use this spell?

dnd 5e – Can I hit a creature that has a reach larger than mine but is using itself to hit me?

By the RAW, no, but it’s a DM call

There is nothing specific in the rules about readying an action to strike a creature with reach when it comes in to attack with a body part, and the rule is that you can only make melee attacks against creatures that are within your reach. Despite the attacker having a long reach, its body is way over there, so by default, you can’t do this. However, a DM could certainly to decide to allow it based on the situation at hand.

It’s reasonable to say that you can chop at a limb as it comes towards you; but it’s equally reasonable to say that a dragon’s claw is too heavily scaled and moving too fast during an attack to present a target for a melee attack.

Now, if you’re being grappled by an Enormous Tentacle, it’s pretty hard to argue against being able to attack it, since it’s literally wrapped around your body; but again, this is down to the DM and the exact scenario at the table. There’s no official rule that says this is possible, but that’s why we have human DMs at the table.

dnd 5e – Does the Robe of Stars’s ability to enter the Astral Plane with “everything you are […] carrying” let you do so with a grappled creature?

There is an answer in plain English and there is a loose definition based on the rules.

If you scroll all the way down, my answer for the Goliath is a No. Or at least not without him going through some more hoops.

You are carrying whatever you and the GM agree you are carrying. For example, by the Merriam-Webster dictionary :

to move while supporting : TRANSPORT

  • her legs refused to carry her further

Funnily enough, this could also be argued for other less literal definitions such as:

to convey by direct communication:

  • carry tales about a friend

to bear upon or within one:

  • is carrying an unborn child

to influence by mental or emotional appeal : SWAY

  • She intended the play to carry audiences toward a sense of peace and understanding.

But D&D is usually more literal than this and you will probably get mean looks if you try to argue that you are carry audiences toward a sense of peace and understanding and thus can teleport the whole party with you.
So we can look at how the rules define it.

There is only one rule I’ve found that really mentions carrying for a player character: it is the Strength attribute definition.

I’ll argue that the main definition of carrying is any situation where you would use this rule. Or, looking at it from the character sheet, anything you would list under the Equipment section of your character sheet and count toward your encumbrance limit (even if they have a weight of 0) are things you are carrying. Weather they are objects, creatures or anything else that’s managed this way at the table.

It’s still not completely defined and the players/GM have some say in what is and is not carried. But it’s something.

Lifting and Carrying

Your Strength score determines the amount of weight you can bear. The following terms define what you can lift or carry.

Carrying Capacity. Your carrying capacity is your Strength score multiplied by 15. This is the weight (in pounds) that you can carry, which is high enough that most characters don’t usually have to worry about it.

Push, Drag, or Lift. You can push, drag, or lift a weight in pounds up to twice your carrying capacity (or 30 times your Strength score). While pushing or dragging weight in excess of your carrying capacity, your speed drops to 5 feet.

This includes a few things that are counted as part of your encumbrance :

  • The weapon you carry in your hands.
  • The armor and clothes you wear.
  • Your backpack and whatever is strapped to your backpack or belt.
  • The corpse of your friend you bring back to town for reviving..
  • Your other friend who is just unconcious but stable that you carry on your back

It’s not complete, but we can see highlight a few things that are not carrying based on other rules.

  • It’s not grappling. While grappling you are holding another character in place by some part of their body, but you are not lifting them off the ground or placing them in your backpack.
  • It’s not pushing or dragging. As those have specific rules for what happens when your character is above they limit.
  • It’s not what is inside a cart you are dragging with you, interestingly. As the cart says nothing about this. In comparison, the entry for a horse explains how to handle the weight of a cart.

About the goblin and the goliath?

There is still some uncertainty when it counts to lifting and holding a willing (living) character versus an unwilling character. I think that’s just outside the strict definitions given by the book and that’s where the GM comes in.

But from what I’ve laid out, if the goliath just grapples him : No, the goblin is not carried. The goblin is only slightly restrained, as if the goliath was holding it by the arm and preventing him from moving away. If anything, the goblin is being dragged along.

What if the goliath lifted it above the ground? I could see it be argued. But this is not covered anywhere, so you are in GM call territory. Maybe the GM asks for an athletic check to lift it, maybe he asks for a second one to really secure the goblin as being carried instead of merely lifted. Maybe the GM requires the goblin to be tied or restrained or asleep in some way to get a stable handle over it.

dnd 5e – Is a found Steed allowed an independent destination and creature when targeted by Dimension Door?

This question asks whether a creature summoned by Find Steed or Find Greater Steed can be brought with the caster when the caster uses Dimension Door.

I agree with the accepted answer, which says that:

(1) Assuming a Medium caster, a size Large Steed could not be brought along as a willing creature due to the wording of the Dimension Door spell, but

(2) If the caster is mounted on the steed, the Find Steed ability to “make any spell you cast that targets only you also target your steed” means that even a larger-than-caster sized steed could be affected when the caster targeted only themselves.

Assuming that this is the correct interpretation, and that the steed is not the willing creature brought along but rather an independent target of the spell, do all of the features of the spell also affect it independently?

For example, can it choose its own destination for the dimension door as a separate location from the one chosen by the caster?

And can it bring its own willing creature along with it?

dnd 3.5e – Is there a feat to allow a weapon to hit an incorporeal creature?

TLDR: it’s hard.

Any chance that you could elaborate on your situation? Party composition and levels, access to Magical Emporium Of Everything Books Tell You Exists, etc would be helpful.

Throwing some generic thoughts in the meantime.

Incorporeal subtype is a tricky little thing, but less so than ethereal:

An incorporeal creature has no physical body. It can be harmed only by
other incorporeal creatures, magic weapons or creatures that strike as
magic weapons, and spells, spell-like abilities, or supernatural
abilities. It is immune to all nonmagical attack forms. Even when hit
by spells or magic weapons, it has a 50% chance to ignore any damage
from a corporeal source (except for positive energy, negative energy,
force effects such as magic missile, or attacks made with ghost touch
weapons). Although it is not a magical attack, holy water can affect
incorporeal undead, but a hit with holy water has a 50% chance of not
affecting an incorporeal creature.

There are multiple ways around this issue, but the practicality of most has a lot of room for improvement. I’ll list some of them.

  • Magical Training from Player’s Guide to Faerun gives you 0-level spell slots. Having spell slots, you can use one of several possible ways to increase your spell levels (e.g. Sanctum Spell) and then backfill some spell slots via Extra Slot. From there, you have a 1-level spell slot and can cast magic weapon, which allows to hit incorporeal creatures. Or magic missile which is a force effect. This is hugely impractical.
  • Crafting. Ghost touch weapon is just a feat away.. a feat, a +2-equivalent weapon and an ability to cast plane shift. There are ways around it, but this is still very impractical.
  • Friends. Ghost Touch Weapon (Spell Compendium p102) is a third-level Cleric spell that gives a weapon ghost touch property for a few minutes; this spell seems to be the easiest thing to achieve what you want.
  • Shopping. Wand of magic missile; wand of orb of force; scrolls/oils of ghost touch weapon; weapons with ghost touch ability; a lot of helpful stuff here. Obviously depends on access to vendors.
  • Check whether Tome of Battle can help you out. Martial Study feat allows anyone to pick a maneuver – with level restrictions – and some of those are definitely capable of harming incorporeal creatures, e.g. Fan the Flames. Would be 1/encounter unless you have martial levels, so the practicality is a bit iffy.

dnd 5e – Does a grappling Bigby’s Hand have advantage on a contested check of a creature trying to escape the grapple?

The spell Bigby’s Hand creates a large hand of force that can grapple a target:

Grasping Hand. The hand attempts to grapple a Huge or smaller creature within 5 feet of it. You use the hand’s Strength score to resolve the grapple. If the target is Medium or smaller, you have advantage on the check. While the hand is grappling the target, you can use a bonus action to have the hand crush it. When you do so, the target takes bludgeoning damage equal to 2d6 + your spellcasting ability modifier.

Once grappled by the hand, a creature can attempt to escape the grapple using the general rules:

Escaping a Grapple: A Grappled creature can use its action to Escape. To do so, it must succeed on a Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check contested by your Strength (Athletics) check.

Bigby’s Hand has advantage when initiating the original grapple. However, does it also have advantage on contested checks when the grappled creature attempts to break free of the grapple?

dnd 5e – How can I teleport with an unwilling creature?

Kill them, teleport them, then revivify them.

The rules suggest that a corpse is not a creature, rather is an object. This is explored in detail in this Q&A: Is a dead creature’s body considered an “object”?

Assuming this, if you have access to the spell revivify, you could kill the hostage, then teleport the party by whatever usual means you have that doesn’t allow unwilling creatures, and then cast revivify or whatever resurrection spell suits your fancy upon arrival.

Notably, revivify is your best bet here, as it doesn’t specify that the creature’s soul must be willing:

You touch a creature that has died within the last minute. That creature returns to life with 1 hit point. This spell can’t return to life a creature that has died of old age, nor can it restore any missing body parts.

Other spells like raise dead and resurrection require that the creature’s soul be willing to return. So with some timing, you can get around this using revivify. Everyone gets ready, you kill the target moments prior to teleporting, then cast revivify immediately upon arrival.

Gate

Gate is a 9th level spell that creates a portal to a other plane:

You conjure a portal linking an unoccupied space you can see within range to a precise location on a different plane of existence. The portal is a circular opening, which you can make 5 to 20 feet in diameter. You can orient the portal in any direction you choose. The portal lasts for the duration.

Open your gate and carry your hostage through.