Criticals and Piercer Feat

Piercer feat from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything states that on critical attack roll you add an additional weapon damage die to the damage roll. Does this extra dice also double on a critical hit?

Ex: Critical hit with dagger with Piercer feat would be 2d4 + 2x1d4 (piercer feat) = 4d4
Right?

or is it just 2d4 + 1d4 (piercer feat) = 3d4

world of darkness – Does increasing the dice pool make messy criticals more likely?

I just read the mechanics for dice rolling in Vampire: the Masquerade 5th edition and something is bothering me. It seems to me that the larger your dicepool is, the more likely it is to get a messy critical.

Just in case somebody wants to answer without knowing the rules, here is a very brief rundown:

A character rolls a number of d10s called a dicepool. For the vast majority of rolls, at least one of those dice would be a hunger die. Let’s just assume it’s a single one for simplicity. If at least two dice come up as 10s, that’s considered a critical. If at least one of those 10s is on a hunger die, then it’s a messy critical where the character succeeds spectacularly but in the most direct and brutal way possible. Picking a lock with a messy critical can lead to the character ripping the door off the hinges – grants passage but it’s not subtle.

These are the relevant rules here. It seems to me that the larger the dicepool is, the more of a chance for a messy critical. My intuition is the following:

  • with a dicepool of 3, if the hunger die comes up at 10, then you have 2 chances to roll a 10 on the other dice.
  • with a dicepool of 7, if the hunger die comes up at 10, then you have 6 chances to roll a 10 on the other dice.

Is my intuition here correct? Is a master at picking locks would be more likely to let the Beast do his job than somebody who’s just average at locks? I am not sure how to properly calculate the odds of messy criticals.

There is a mechanic that allows you to re-roll some dice but I’m not interested in this, only the chance of scoring a messy critical from the initial roll.

pathfinder 2e – How do criticals interact with degrees of success for attacks in PF2E?

In General

Chapter 9: Playing the Game (Core Rules) describes how criticals work. As you noted, a critical success and failures occur when your result is the DC +/- 10. You seem to misunderstanding how rolling a natural 20 works. From page 445:

If you rolled a 20 on the die (a “natural 20”), your result is one degree of success better than it would be by numbers alone. If you roll a 1 on the d20 (a “natural 1”), your result is one degree worse.

A natural 20 is not a critical hit. A natural 1 is not a critical failure. They only modify what your result would have been by one step.

Your Examples

In your first example (a strike against a DC 40), you have a success. Your result of 30 would normally be a failure, but since it is a natural 20 it becomes a success.

The second example works the same. If you would have failed your saving throw, that natural 20 makes it a success. If it would have been a critical failure, then it now becomes a failure instead.

Stacking Criticals?

Build a fifth Lv Rogue Swashbuckler who suffered the initiator's magic on Lv4 to inflict additional damage with Booming Blade and Green Flame Blade.

Using a regular rapier with Booming Blade on the current Lv, he was able to pull a sneak attack and inflict 1d8 damage + Dex Mod, + 1d8 Thunder damage and 3d6 Sneak Attack.

Do all the dice double on a critical n "Nat 20"? Would the litter have a total of 2W8 + Dex Mod + 2W8 Thunder Damage and 6W6 Sneak Attack Damage?

So would this be an example of a weapon attacking, criticizing a spell and abilities?