I used to remember that the users who were removed should NOT see the library link if you stop inheriting permissions from above and display the automatic link in the current navigation of a library. Now you can see the library link, but if you click on it, you will see an empty library. I expected the page to have no access, but no, only the library with no content (but it can see all the metadata columns).
Do I remember wrong or has something changed? The only way to "hide" the URL is to use audience targeting in Settings – Navigation ?.
I use a classic page.