dnd 5e – Can the automatic damage from the Witch Bolt spell be repeatedly activated using an Order of Scribes wizard’s Manifest Mind feature?

It’s likely that the Spectral Mind is considered to be your location for the entire duration of the spell.

First, let’s look at the full relevant text of the Manifest Mind ability:

Whenever you cast a wizard spell on your turn, you can cast it as if you were in the spectral mind’s space, instead of your own, using its senses. You can do so a number of times per day equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.

As a bonus action, you can cause the spectral mind to hover up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space that you or it can see. It can pass through creatures but not objects.

The Manifest Mind feature says that you can treat the Minds space as your own whenever you cast a spell. I don’t see a clause stating that the spell snaps back to your true location after it’s been cast, nor do you have the option of doing so even if you wanted to. It appears that, once cast, the spell is locked in to treating the mind as the source for the duration.

This means that the Mind must stay within 30 feet of the target, and should the target ever have full cover from the mind, the spell is broken, even if the target is within 30 feet of you, and not behind full cover.

pathfinder 1e – Dimensional Savant + Wild Flanking, do I damage myself?

It’s been established that you do count as your own ally for Teamwork Feats when using Dimensional Savant to flank with yourself, but how far does this extend into Wild Flanking, a Betrayal Feat?

Since I’m technically acting as both initiator and abettor, would I have to roll to potentially damage myself, or would it be a non-issue since I’m not really there on the other side of my flanking target? One could argue that I’m both there and not there at the same time; Schrödinger’s Flanker, if you would.

dnd 5e – When a ranged attack deals multiple damage types, can I choose what damage type my Sharpshooter bonus gives?

I am a Blood Hunter (Critical Role class here) with the Sharpshooter and Crossbow Expert feats wielding two hand crossbows. My Crimson Rite allows me to deal an additional 1dx magical damage of some element when I make an attack with a targeted weapon. Sharpshooter simply says that you can add 10 damage to the attack, but it doesn’t specify type. I see a direct comparison to Jeremy Crawford’s ruling on Hunter’s Mark, implying I could choose the damage type of the extra damage. Am I missing some rule that contradicts my assumption?

dnd 5e – Does a non-magical +1 weapon get a +1 bonus added to the attack roll only, or the damage roll as well?

Existing items do not offer mundane with +X

There are currently no official items that grant a +1 to either attack or damage that aren’t also magical.

That leaves us without guidance from existing material and whatever your source material you have is going to contain your answer. If this is homebrew (or if there is no stat block), then it is up to the DM to determine the statistics of the weapon.

It will depend on the weapon’s defined stat block

Whether it’s +1 to Attack, Damage, or Attack + Damage will be determined by the stat block of the weapon.

If you are using a published adventure or module, you’ll need to check the stat block for the weapon.

legal – UK car rental: protections against charges for damage, that was pre-existing and renter had no chance to discover at checkout?

I recently rented a car in the UK (from a major chain). When I returned the car, the inspection found three pieces of minor interior damage, and I’m now getting charged £100 for these as “change of condition”.

However, all three pieces of damage were pre-existing, and I don’t believe I can reasonably have been expected to notice/declare them at the initial checkout stage, for several reasons. Primarily, no interior inspection was offered at the point of checkout. But besides that, two of the three pieces of damage wouldn’t have been recognisable with an ordinary visual inspection. (The third defect might have been caught with an interior inspection — it was visible once you knew where to look, though fairly inconspicuous.)

It seems obviously abusable, if car rental firms can hold renters liable for defects in condition that renters had no reasonable chance to discover in advance. Are there any consumer protection laws/regulations against such charges, in the UK?

dnd 5e – Does the Order of Scribes Feature Awakened Spellbook also change the damage type of Absorb Elements?

No, you’d still need to take the incoming hit from the specified damage types.

As the spell says you can temporarily replace the damage type with another, thereby altering the type of damage you can deal out while the spell is in effect.

But you can’t change the trigger to the spell. You’d still need to get targeted by acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder damage because if you weren’t you couldn’t cast the spell in the first place.

So, a wizard hits you with Fire Bolt, you can cast Absorb Elements in reaction to that, change the damage type to poison, gaining resistance to poison and do an extra 1d6 of poison damage on your next turn. You lose the resistance to the incoming attack though as it is still fire.

Objection raised: The wording says “you have resistance to the triggering damage type”.

Good point, but then you have to say the extra damage is of the triggering type too as that is what the wording says and therefore there is nothing to be gained at all. But as the ability in question lets you change the damage type I think changing the resistance and outgoing damage is allowed by the ability. The trigger itself has to stay the same as it was prior to the spell being cast.

nosql – What is the damage to the database if it uses high memory storage? Are there consequences for this use? Does it affect performance?

To add on to danblack’s point, it’s generally good for your server’s memory to be mostly consumed by the database system because accessing data from memory is faster than disk, but if you don’t have enough memory to support your database system’s workload then you can run into performance issues when it needs to pull from disk or compensate in other ways.

If you updated your question with the specific issue you’re trying to solve then we can provide more specific information, but if you’re just generally asking then you don’t have to worry too much about this until you run into performance issues. There’s a lot of other things that can equally or more likely affect performance before memory provision does.

dnd 5e – If I cast Thunderous Smite and Booming Blade, hit, and use Destructive Wrath to maximize damage, how many uses of Channel Divinity are expended?

How many uses of channel divinity should be expended in the following example?

Example:

  • A character is using that a weapon that deals 2d6 thunder damage on a hit.
  • They cast Thunderous Smite, using a bonus action.
  • Then cast Booming Blade (at 5th level), making a melee attack as an action.
  • On a hit, the weapon does a total of 2d6 + 1d8 + 2d6 thunder damage.

Thunderous Smite:

The first time you hit with a melee weapon attack during this spell’s duration, your weapon rings with thunder that is audible within 300 feet of you, and the attack deals an extra 2d6 thunder damage to the target.

Booming Blade:

At 5th level, the melee attack deals an extra 1d8 thunder damage to the target, and the damage the target takes for moving increases to 2d8.

Destructive Wrath:

When you roll lightning or thunder damage, you can use your Channel Divinity to deal maximum damage, instead of rolling.

I’m interpreting this as three separate rolls for thunder damage, each requiring a use of Channel Divinity to maximize. Instead of one use of Channel Divinity to maximize all of them at once.

One of the main reasons I’m thinking this, is because another use of Channel Divinity needs to be expended to maximize the secondary damage from Booming Blade, as it’s a completely separate roll.

dnd 5e – Can massive damage kill you while at 0 HP?

Damage at 0 Hit Points. If you take any damage while you have 0 hit points, you suffer a death saving throw failure. If the damage is from a critical hit, you suffer two failures instead. If the damage equals or exceeds your hit point maximum, you suffer instant death.

Death Saving Throws, Player’s Handbook, pg. 197

Mathematically, this is equivalent to the normal rule that occurs when a character is above 0 hit points, so it makes perfect sense that they would reimplement the rule here in precisely this manner.