dnd 5e – What is included with a character’s proficiencies when they become a dhampir or other legacy races?

Recently, I have been studying the dhampir’s description in Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft, and the other legacy races (reborn and Hexblood) (having tried to create something similar before it was published). However, I am finding the Ancestral Legacy trait a little hard to understand:

If you replace a race with this lineage, you can keep the following
elements of that race: any skill proficiencies you gained from it and
any climbing, flying, or swimming speed you gained from it.

If you don’t keep any of those elements or you choose this lineage at
character creation, you gain proficiency in two skills of your choice.

Does this mean that dhampirs will lose most of what makes a character race unique?

(Edited) For instance, would a changeling no longer assume other races, would a bugbear’s arms shorten and his muscles weaken (long limbed/powerful build), Would a triton no longer breath underwater (amphibious trait that would affect the hexblood), etc…

dnd 5e – Can a Dhampir bite themselves to get the benefits of their Vampiric Bite?

Sure. Go ahead and make an attack roll.

There is no rule that you cannot attack yourself, but all the usual rules for making an attack apply. You must make an attack roll against your own armor class. On a hit, you deal 1d4+CON piercing damage to yourself, and can choose to gain a obnus on your next ability check.

For a more thorough discussion of attacking yourself, see here: Can a PC attack themselves with an unarmed strike?

This works because Wizards removed the feature that prevented it from the UA version.

In the Unearthed Arcana version of the Dhampir, we see:

Type: Humanoid and Undead

Your type was humanoid and undead, meaning the UA Dhampir is not an eligible target for its own bite. Thanks Wizards of the Coast.

dnd 5e – What is the interaction between Gift of the Ever-living Ones and Dhampir Vampiric Bite ability

The healing isn’t rolled, so Gift of the Ever-living Ones has no effect.

Gift of the Ever-living Ones affects your healing rolls, not your damage rolls. In the case of the Dhampir trait, you roll damage, and then heal an amount equal to the amount rolled – the healing itself isn’t rolled, it’s simply set equal to the amount rolled by another dice roll. As a result, Gift of the Ever-living Ones has no effect, since the healing itself isn’t rolled for.

If, on the other hand, you had some sort of effect that heals you and then does damage based upon the amount rolled for the healing, then you would deal maximum damage with that effect, since the healing would be maximized as well. I don’t know if any such effects currently exist in the official content for the game, though.

pathfinder 1e – Dhampir and Lifelink

Lifelink behaves the same regardless of what creature is bonded. So whether living, dead, undead, dhampir, or even a construct, lifelink heals the target for 5 when the oracle is damaged for 5. It simply has no rule suggesting otherwise.

Moreover, it’s not at all clear what the ”inverse” would even be here. If anything, the ability would just fail—but if that was what was intended, it would have been trivial for lifelink to specify “living,” which would exclude constructs and the undead. Dhampir would still be affected, but there would be cause to consider whether or not a house rule on that point would be appropriate. As it is, though, it just works, and there isn’t really any suggestion it shouldn’t.

dnd 5e – Dhampir bite attack, does it add both STR and CON?

The Vampiric Bite, from the new Dhampir lineage race, says as follow (emphasis mine):

Vampiric Bite

“Your fanged bite is a natural weapon, which counts as a simple melee weapon with which you are proficient. You add your Constitution modifier to the attack and damage rolls when you attack with your bite. Your bite deals 1d4 piercing damage on a hit. While you are missing half or more of your hit points, you have advantage on attack rolls you make with this bite.”

Normally, a simple melee weapon attack works as follow:

Attack Rolls

To make an Attack roll, roll a d20 and add the appropriate modifiers.

Modifiers to the Roll

Ability Modifier
The ability modifier used for a melee weapon Attack is Strength, and the ability modifier used for a ranged weapon Attack is Dexterity.(…)

Proficiency Bonus
You add your Proficiency Bonus to your Attack roll when you Attack using a weapon with which you have proficiency, as well as when you Attack with a spell.

This translates into rolling 1d20 + STR modifier + Proficiency bonus.

Does it mean that a Vampiric Bite attack adds CON modifier to the above formula (1d20 + STR mod + Proficiency bonus + CON mod)?

Same question for the damage roll:

Damage rolls

When attacking with a weapon, you add your ability modifier—the same modifier used for the Attack roll—to the damage.

Normally for a melee weapon the attack formula is (weapon-damage-die) + STR modifier.
If another modifier is used, instead of the usual one, the wording is different from what we see in the Vampiric Bite. An example is Finesse weapons, which say as follow:

Finesse

When Making an Attack with a finesse weapon, you use your choice of your Strength or Dexterity modifier for the Attack and Damage Rolls. You must use the same modifier for both rolls.

Is it correct to say that, unlike Finesse weapons, the Vampiric bite does not replace the STR modifier with CON, but rather adds both (making the damage formula 1d4 (weapon-dmg-die) + STR modifier + CON modifier)?

dnd 5e – Does a UA Dhampir Cleric Turn Itself? What does that look like?

Dhampir have two types tags in the new Unearth Arcana, they are both humanoid and undead. There is even a nice rules reminder in D&D Beyond that points out:

If an effect works on at least one of a creature’s types, that effect can work on that creature. For example, if you are both a Humanoid and an Undead, cure wounds works on you, since the spell works on a Humanoid.

Everything so far is peachy keen. I was going to introduce an NPC that is a Dhampir Cleric, but ran across an odd edge case. If the cleric uses Channel Divinity: Turn Undead I’m not sure what happens:

Channel Divinity: Turn Undead
As an action, you present your holy symbol and speak a prayer censuring the undead. Each undead that can see or hear you within 30 feet of you must make a WIS saving throw (DC 14). If the creature fails its saving throw, it is turned for 1 minute or until it takes any damage. A turned creature must spend its turns trying to move as far away from you as it can, and it can’t willingly move to a space within 30 feet of you. It also can’t take reactions. For its action, it can use only the Dash action or try to escape from an effect that prevents it from moving. If there’s nowhere to move, the creature can use the Dodge action.

I know it is play test material and will have weird edge cases like this not hammered out. I also know at my table I will have to make a call if it comes up. However, as it stands, the NPC is an undead within 30 feet who can see and hear itself, so RAW would have to make the roll, right? And what would it mean if you failed it and became turned and had to move away from itself? What would that look like?

Boy Scout – Relationship between Moroi Vampires and Dhampir Offspring

A pretty interesting plot hook has presented itself and made me curious about the relationship between Dhampir and their respective vampiric parents. I've reviewed some of the basic information given for each, but it does not talk too much about the relationship between the two.

Are there any traditions that talk about the relationships or dispositions that normally exist between these two?

More specifically, the Fullblood Moroi vampire in the direction of her half-blood offspring?