dnd 5e – Can a druid wildshape into a larger form while surrounded?

The spell Enlarge/Reduce can be used as analogy.

The content on Wild Shape in the PHB and Xanathar’s Guide to Everything has no information about the possibility of insufficient space.

The spell Enlarge/Reduce does, however. The Enlarge part of the spell states, inter alia:

If there isn’t enough room for the target to double its size, the creature or object attains the maximum possible size in the space available.

Of course the part about objects is irrelevant and the increase in size depends on the monster wildshaped into. But an analogy can be made for larger size wildshapes since this is an size-increasing and magic effect like the spell.

Of course, a change in shape occurs as well, making it closer to Polymorph and True Polymorph but those spells do not have a limited space clause.

Launching away creatures would definitely be a house rule since that kind of effect would need to be stated in the rules for Wildshape. As GM you can of course decide to make Wildshape work that way.

dnd 5e – Circle of the Moon Druid discrepancy on dndbeyond

The article is correct, becuse of the modifications the Moon druid subclass does to the Wild Shape feature

Specifically, Moon Druids get the Circle Forms feature which explicitly overrides the CR restrictions of the normal Wild Shape (emphasis added):

Starting at 2nd level, you can use your Wild Shape to transform into a beast with a challenge rating as high as 1 (you ignore the Max. CR column of the Beast Shapes table, but must abide by the other limitations there).
    Starting at 6th level, you can transform into a beast with a challenge rating as high as your druid level divided by 3, rounded down.

Player’s Handbook, p. 69

This is an example of Specific Beats General, a principle outlined on page 7 of the Player’s Handbook (which is also in the Basic Rules) and reiterated on page 5 of Xanathar’s Guide to Everything.

dnd 5e – Can a druid use a Sending Stone while in Wild Shape?

Per the description of the sending stones:

Sending stones come in pairs, with each smooth stone carved to match the other so the pairing is easily recognized. While you touch one stone, you can use an action to cast the sending spell from it. […]

And the description for Wild Shape states: “You can’t cast spells”. At least not until you’re high enough level.

Food for thought

The sending stones only work once per day. You can Wild Shape twice per rest. So you could Wild Shape, do your recon, revert to normal, use the stone, Wild Shape again, and then head back to the party.

dnd 5e – Can the Spirit Totem function of a druid be used in wild shape?

Can you use that Ghost totem Feature of Circle of the Shepherd (XGtE, p.23) while in your wild shape (PHB, p.66-67)?

SPIRIT TOTEM

From level 2 onwards, you will have the ability to evoke nature spirits and thus influence the world around you. As a bonus action, you can magically summon an immaterial spirit to a point that you can see within 60 feet of you.

WILD FORM

You cannot cast spells. (…) You retain the advantage of functions from your class, race or other source and can use them if the new form can do this physically.

From what I can deduce, ghost totem would be available for a druid that can be used in wild form, as it is a class function that is not a spell. even though it's magical.

I would be happy to receive answers to support or contest this. If you or your table have tested this function, even better!

dnd 5e – Is a wild druid attack considered a weapon attack?

When you are transformed, use the statistics block of the animal you are transformed into. An animal's attacks are melee weapon attacks. Using an example from the humble roof:

Bite. Melee weapon attack: […]

In general, any non-spell attack is a weapon attack. Note that weapon attacks are not necessarily weapon attacks, which is relevant for certain spells and effects.

13. Age – How do I count regeneration spells against the daily sum and the sum per battle of the druid?

The level progress chart for the Wild Healer Druid (13 true ways, Page 63) is used both daily and per fight for regeneration spells. Does this mean that a druid can cast the spell per fight in combat and then use daily use whenever he likes it on the day of the adventure? Or is the use per fight a fixed upper limit for the use per fight, so that the daily use remains between the fights?

For example, I have two level-per-combat applications and a daily use of the level 4 spell. Can I use both my pro-combat use and daily use in a single combat encounter?

dnd 5e – Can a shifter druid use its racial shift function in wildshape?

The Eberron Rising from the Last War shifter race has the Shifting ability:

Once every short break as a bonus promotion, you can take on a more beastly look. This transformation takes 1 minute until you die or until you return to your normal look as a bonus promotion.

Druids have the wild form function:

From stage 2, your action can magically take the shape of an animal that you have seen before. You can use this function twice. You will get reused usages if you have finished a short or long break.

[…] You retain the benefits of functions from your class, race or other source and can use them if the new form can do this physically […]

Obviously, a wild breed trait can be used Absence of a conflict that prevents its use. Is there such a conflict in this case? For example, with the clause "take on a more beastly look" when a beat-shaped druid is already 100% beastly?

Can a shifter who is a druid use his move function at the same time as his wildshape class function?

dnd 5e – How can I as a DM deal with my druid spying on everything as a spider?

I gm Lost mines from Phandelver,

Level 2 (soon to be 3) My player's druid has discovered that they are almost impossible to catch in wild form in spider form, especially since they "fit" in caves etc. (which I have agreed twice).

However, this means that the PCs pretty much know the entire dungeon layout, as they are somewhat small.

What can I do to prevent this full exploration without being unfair?

I tried:

  • Let the time run out. Wild Shape doesn't last long, but 2-3 hours is enough for almost all dungeons.
  • Let NPCs hit the spider when they see it – which doesn't do much due to the high stealth bonus, and by climbing to the ceiling it now stays out of sight.
  • Let NPCs switch posts between exploring and entering the group – which somehow works but still leaves much of the dungeon crawling puzzle lost.

Any other ideas? I am ready to provide the pre-written dungeons and maps with new ideas, but so far none have occurred to me (except maybe one anti-magic field in the last dungeon, but it would not fit for any of the other encounters / dungeons before).

dnd 5e – Can a multi-class bard / druid use intersecting words while shaped wildly?

Cut words:

Also in the third stage you will learn how to use your joke to distract, confuse and otherwise destroy the trust and competence of others. If a creature you can see within 60 feet of you makes an attack roll, skill check, or damage roll, you can use your reaction to consume one of your uses of Bardic Inspiration to roll a Bardic Inspiration die and subtracting the number rolled from the role of the creature. You can use this feature after the creature rolls the die, but before the GM determines whether the attack roll or ability check is successful or fails, or before the creature does its damage. The creature is immune if it cannot hear you or if it is immune to spells.

Wild Shape (relevant part only)

You retain the benefits of features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form physically can. However, you can't use any of your special senses like Darkvision unless your new shape also has that sense.

Well, even though there are "words" in the title of the skill, it never says you have to speak. In fact, "you are simply distracting, confusing, and otherwise destroying others' trust."

It means the target creature must be able to hear, it does not mean that it has to understand you. Although the last call arrives at the DM, it is likely that you can still be distracted and distracted by roaring, screeching, etc. in their wildly shaped form. A dancing, roaring bear, for example, is still pretty distracting.

dnd 5e – Can a druid with Thorn Whip pull a target through other creatures?

What is blocking Thorn Whip's "train"?

Thorn whip: … and if the creature is large or small, you pull the creature up to 10 feet closer to you.

As a specific example, the druid draws a creature 15 feet away, but another creature is right in front of the target (and between the target and the druid). Can the target be pulled by the other creature?

Does it matter whether the other creature is an enemy or an ally? Does the other creature have a choice?