dnd 5e – Does a Fighter’s Action Surge stack with the Haste action?

A fighter, once per rest, can use Action Surge to gain an additional action on his turn.

The target of a Haste spell also gains an additional action on his turns (until the spell ends).

If a fighter is Hasted by a fellow mage and then uses his Action Surge, does he gain two additional actions on his turn (for a total of 3 actions, plus the eventual bonus action & reaction) ?

dnd 5e – Can an Arcane Archer fighter’s Shadow Arrow be used like a Wand of Enemy Detection?

Magic exists which can divine the intentions of other creatures toward me. For instance, the description of the wand of enemy detection magic item says, in part:

While holding it, you can use an action and expend 1 charge to speak its command word. For the next minute, you know the direction of the nearest creature hostile to you within 60 feet, but not its distance from you. The wand can sense the presence of hostile creatures that are ethereal, invisible, disguised, or hidden, as well as those in plain sight.

The Arcane Archer fighter can choose the Arcane Shot option Shadow Arrow (XGtE, p. 30; emphasis mine):

You weave illusion magic into your arrow, causing it to occlude your foe’s vision with shadows. The creature hit by the arrow takes an extra 2d6 psychic damage, and it must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be unable to see anything farther than 5 feet away until the start of your next turn.

Abilities and effects do what they say they do. There is no fluff in descriptions.

As written, it appears that if I hit a creature with my Shadow Arrow, it does regular arrow damage plus 2d6 psychic damage. In addition, if the creature hit is my foe, it must make a Wisdom save or have its vision occluded.

Suppose I want to determine if an NPC of uncertain loyalty is my foe or not. I hit him with a Shadow Arrow. It seems that if his vision becomes occluded, he must be my foe; if not, he is either not my foe or he has succeeded on the saving throw. Is that right?

  1. Does the Shadow Arrow really know who is my foe, similar to a
    wand of enemy detection? Or does it assume that anyone I would
    shoot at must be my foe?
  2. If the latter, could an NPC that was trying to gain my trust
    volunteer to receive my arrow? Would that affect the result if they
    were being truthful vs. deceptive?
  3. If my DM house-rules that critical failures on attack rolls result
    in attacking allies when I fire into a melee, can I be confident
    that my Shadow Arrow will not be able to occlude the vision of
    anyone friendly to me?

Related questions:

Since America was established by imperfect people such as slave holders and Indian fighters, should we dismantle the whole Union and start?

The entire world has tried to dismantle this nation. 

Dynamics of world dominance, from the most powerful control-freak to the humblest Citizen, have only acted normally. 

And, by them acting normally, all attempts to dismantle this nation? 

…They have ALL failed.

dnd 5e – Is the bloodthirsty ability of the Ixalan vampire designed to be applied to downed enemy fighters?

For reference…

Blood thirst

You can drain blood and life energy from a willing creature, or a creature you pack, disarm, or hold. Perform a melee attack on the target. If you hit, you deal 1 piercing damage and 1d6 necrotic damage. The target's maximum hit point target is reduced by an amount equal to the necrotic damage taken, and you receive hit points equal to that amount. The reduction continues until the target has ended a long pause. The target dies if this effect reduces its maximum hit point to 0.

I am a DM. I have a player who indicates that RAW can use this ability on a knocked out (defeated) enemy fighter at the end of the fight for a 2d6 heal per fighter (and possibly 4d6 when they reach their final death, except on her train). It is his intent that with party teamwork, a large majority (if not all) of the fighters will be eliminated, allowing for a fairly substantial free post-fight healing.

While this seems to be the case with RAW, it doesn't seem balanced to me. What are the opinions of other DMs about the balance of this ability in this sense?

movement – GURPS – How does melee between fighters with different weapon ranges work?

Suppose in a classic medieval fantasy world two warriors fight, one with a spear and the other with a sword or halberd and the other with bare hands with martial arts.

I usually use simple rules for close combat, ignoring the range of the weapons, but in some cases the difference between the range of the weapons is too large or the player wants to make a special move and asks for this to be taken into account.

I read the advanced combat system, but I couldn't understand exactly what the rule was. How can the warrior attack the martial artist with the halberd if he is in the immediate vicinity? And how can the warrior pass the spear with his sword to get closer to his enemy?

pathfinder 1e – How to balance matches after the loss of the front line fighters?

I've been running a Pathfinder game for some time. I think I have done a pretty good job of balancing encounters so far. The group is about to reach Level 7 and there were only 2 dead, but many, many short calls. This is exactly the kind of risk level I would like to have in this campaign.

The group consisted of a barbarian, a bard, a druid, a paladin, and a sorcerer. A fairly balanced party composition that has learned to work reasonably well together. The Barbarian and the Paladin are the main front liners, while the other supports them with spell and ranged attacks.

My problem is that the Barbarian was killed in the last session and the player most likely replaces it with an oracle. In addition, my paladin player told me that he will move overseas for a year next month so he is outside as well.

What changes do I have to make to my encounter design to account for the loss of the front line fighters?

I seek advice from GMs who have experienced similar situations or campaigns for groups that lack melee characters.

And – If an encounter is already underway, can an enemy joining the fight surprise some existing fighters?

AD & D is mostly a system for determining what happens in situations we already understand rather than dictating which situations are possible in the game. There is no reason why a hidden third party could not approach a fight undetected, so this is possible.

You can determine if There are surprises when you do the usual cube shape: 2 to 6 for each of the three groups (PCs, gnolls, and lizardman slinks) that are modified by the situation and abilities of the groups.

Unfortunately AD & D offers no effects such a situation.

Normally, the surprise is modeled by making a page inactive for a series of segments and giving the unsurprising side particular benefits during that time (DMG, p. 61-2). Obviously this does not work if the surprised party or the surprised parties are actively fighting each other – it would not make sense to model the surprise as their production pause while the new, unnoticed party was acting.

In practice, as is often the case in AD & D, where there is no method of handling things, this means that the DM has to make a judgment on how to handle it. It can be as easy as declaring an event in the middle of combat: "Fighter, defend yourself against the blows of the greatest gnoll, to be suddenly attacked from your flank …!" (At this point, the DM brings the necessary roles and narratives before the result of the attack). The timing would be based on the knowledge of the DM about the movements of the Lizardman, the new surprise dice (made in secret) and the factors in distance on page 62. It is quite possible that, due to the peculiarities of the situation, a successful surprise from the lizardman will not be beneficial or will result in one or more complete attacks on the victim.

The DM has the responsibility to be accurate, but fair, but of course that's for AD & D.

Why does the US military say there are still thousands of IS fighters after Trump says he defeated them?

Maybe you have difficulty with the vocabulary?

Here, let me help you. Defeated does not mean the same as "annihilated"

The revolutionaries defeated the British, Americans defeated the Indians and the Mexicans, the North defeated the South, the Allies defeated the Germans and the Japanese.

Do you see where I'm going with it?

,