Modern Gmail (which started in 2016-2017) has this extremely annoying neck. If you accidentally click on your blank profile photo, a window will pop up asking you to upload your photo that will not be closed.
"Does not close" – clicking on the "X" (Close) button will not delete it, and clicking on the "Cancel" text button will not delete it either.
The only way to get rid of this panel is to reload the page (which will always take forever with the newer and "improved" Gmail due to extreme script puffing) or using the "uBlock Origin" element zapper.
How do I block this panel forever?