dnd 5e – How does a Horse with Horseshoes of a Zephyr interact with a Flying Chariot?

The new “Mythical odysseys of Theros” book contains a magic item called the Flying Chariot :

The chariot’s riders and creatures pulling the chariot gain a +1 bonus to their AC.
If this magic chariot is pulled by one or more flying creatures, it too can fly.

Horses, and horse-like creatures, can benefit from Horseshoes of a Zephyr :

These iron horseshoes come in a set of four. While all four shoes are affixed to the hooves of a horse or similar creature, they allow the creature to move normally while floating 4 inches above the ground. This effect means the creature can cross or stand above nonsolid or unstable surfaces, such as water or lava. The creature leaves no tracks and ignores difficult terrain. In addition, the creature can move at normal speed for up to 12 hours a day without suffering exhaustion from a forced march.

How would a Zephyr Horseshoe Wearing Horse interact with a Flying Chariot when pulling it ?

  1. Not at all
  2. Would make the Flying Chariot float slightly above ground (4 inches) as well
  3. Would make the Flying Chariot fly

dnd 5e – How do multiple speeds interact with jumping in D&D 5e?

I have a question regarding the interaction of the Long Jump rules (PHB, p182) and the Using Different Speeds rules (PHB, p190).  The first paragraph of the rules for long jumping concludes with this sentence:

“Either way, each foot you clear on the jump costs a foot of
movement.”

My initial thought was to assume “movement” here means walking speed. However it becomes ambiguous when the jumping creature lacks a walking speed, or has multiple movement modes. Is jump distance meant to be constrained specifically by walking speed, or can each “foot of movement” be subtracted from other speeds?

I see three possible interpretations:

  1. Jump distance is subtracted from your walking speed only.

  2. Jump distance is subtracted from one of your speeds (but not necessarily walking speed).

  3. Jump distance is subtracted from all of your speeds simultaneously.

Option 1 results in a world in which many aquatic creatures cannot jump at all, so I don’t think it makes sense.  I think option 2 makes the most sense, but also leads to some odd results at the extremes.  Option 3 has the same problems as option 1, and also is problematic because it essentially double-counts the jump distance against every speed.

As an example: a dolphin has a strength of 14, a speed of 0 feet, and a swim speed of 60 feet.  Could a dolphin swim 10 feet to get a “running start” before jumping 14 feet horizontally out of the water and through the air (subtracting this distance from its swimming speed)?  I would presume that dolphins can use their swimming speed instead of walking speed for jump distance, because the alternative would be that dolphins cannot jump at all (as they would be constrained to a distance of 0 feet by their walking speed).

Now, let’s complicate the example by introducing multiple speeds: A giant octopus has a strength of 17, a speed of 10 feet, and a swim speed of 60 feet.  I would assume it could jump in a manner similar to the dolphin using only it’s swim speed – but what if it were on land?  Could the octopus use its 10 feet of walking speed to get a running start, and then jump 17 feet horizontally (subtracting the distance of the jump from its unused swimming speed)?

Another example involving climbing speed instead:  Can a brown bear (strength 19, speed 40 feet, climbing speed 30 feet) climb 30 feet up a tree and then jump 10 feet horizontally (subtracting the jump distance from its remaining unused walking speed)?

So, which interpretation is correct? Or is there another interpretation I’ve missed?

dnd 5e – How does readying a spell interact with the Sorcerer’s Metamagic feature?

The Ready action states (emphasis mine):

(…) When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. (…)

Thus, when you ready a spell you cast it before you release it; for further evidence of this there are the following questions:


To quote a few sections of the Sorcerer’s Metamagic feature (emphasis mine):

(…)

Careful Spell

When you cast a spell that forces other creatures to make a saving throw, you can protect some of those creatures from the spell’s full force. To do so, you spend 1 sorcery point and choose a number of those creatures up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one creature). A chosen creature automatically succeeds on its saving throw against the spell.

(…)

Heightened Spell

When you cast a spell that forces a creature to make a saving throw to resist its effects, you can spend 3 sorcery points to give one target of the spell disadvantage on its first saving throw made against the spell.

(…)

Twinned Spell

When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip). (…)

Thus, you do not wait until the spell forces a saving throw to use these features, instead you use them when you cast the spell; for further evidence of this there are the following questions:


This all leaves me with some related questions (if they should each be separate questions then I can certainly split them up):

What happens when you try to use Careful Spell on a readied spell? If you can do this, when do you choose the affected targets?

What happens when you try to use Heightened Spell on a readied spell? If you can do this, when do you choose the affected targets?

What happens when you try to use Twinned Spell on a readied spell? If you can do this, when do you choose the affected targets?

Note that the question about the web spell above is rather similar to Careful Spell and Heightened Spell, though there is a different gap in time between the spell being cast and the saving throw being made; I’m unsure if that changes anything

How do form #states interact with dialog action buttons, if at all?

A dialog can be fired by a link formatted as such:

<a class="use-ajax" 
    data-dialog-options="{&quot;width&quot;:400}" 
    data-dialog-type="modal" 
    href="http://drupal.stackexchange.com/some/path">
    Some path displayed in modal dialog.
</a>

If the contents of /some/path are a form, then drupal takes its action buttons and drops them into a “footer” <div class="ui-dialog-buttonset"></div> in the dialog. This seems to take into account the initial state of the buttons — so if submit has the disabled attribute by default then the corresponding UI button gets the .is-disabled class applied. The “real” form action buttons are rendered but set to display: none.

However, I’ve got #states set up on my submit button with

$form('actions')('submit')('#states') = (
  'disabled' => (
    ':input(name="field_fivestar_rating(0)(rating)")' => (
      (
        ('value' => '-'),
        ('OR'),
        ('value' => '0'),
      ),
    ),
  ),
);

The “real” form submit button is updated correctly according to its #states attribute, but the same cannot be said for the corresponding dialog button. It seems to be static based on the initial state of the submit button.

Is this expected behavior? If so, is this something that deserves an issue in the queue? Seems like an oversight and usability concern.

dnd 5e – Are the “power word” spells an attack, and how do they interact with mirror image?

Mirror Image (p260 PHB) Says:

Each time a creature targets you with an attack during the spell’s duration, roll a d20 to determine whether the attack instead targets one of your duplicates….

….A duplicate can be destroyed only by an attack that hits it. It ignores all other damage and effects.

Power Word Spells (p266-267 PHB)say:

You utter a word of power that can compel one creature you can see within range…

…Otherwise, the spell has no effect.

I can see this going one of two ways.
Either Mirror image has priority and you roll to see if a reflection is targeted by the Power Word Spell in which case it has no effect.

OR

Power Word has priority and because you see the target even tho there are duplicates, the power word effect takes place and ignores mirror image.

Which is correct?

html – interact with SVG Marker element with event handlers in React(JS)

see demo: https://codesandbox.io/s/svg-marker-element-ekkkx?file=/src/App.js
as you can see – the events on the marker element just do not fire.

what can do to make it work, or any idea for an easy alternative implementing arrowhead without the use of SVG marker elements, or any sort of workaround?

(you can see a more detailed explanation of the problem here )

mail.app – “Move focus to next window” short cut toggling window order if I interact with a window

There is a very convenient keyboard short cut to go through all windows opened by the same application. For me (but it is not the same for everyone) it is Ctrl < to flip through the window in one order, and Ctrl > to flip backwards. So far so good.

The bug (I can’t think how it can be a feature), is that the order of windows is toggled as soon as I interact with one window. Let me explain with an example

  • I open Mac mail, I create (Cmd N) say 3 new windows with topic Draft 1, Draft 2, Draft 3. If I use Ctrl < it flips through Draft 2 Draft 1 Draft 3 etc… and Ctrl > flips in forward order

  • now I’m on Draft 2, I modify the title to be Super Draft 2. Now Ctrl < flips in forward order ! Draft 3 Draft 1 Super Draft 2 etc… (and Ctrl > backward) !

  • I can reproduce the bug with safari windows (not tab, really separate windows), so it looks like it is not specific to Mail

This is very inconvenient : I can have a dozen draft email windows opened, and I’d like to go through them systematically and possibly modify some. This bug forces me to toggle between Ctrl < and Ctrl > semi randomly in order to be sure I cycle through all windows.

I’m on Mac Book Pro with Catalina 10.15.4 but this behavior is there since I learned to use the toggle window shortcut, one or two years ago.

dnd 5e – How do spells that can affect objects interact with massive objects (like ships)?

Page 119 of the DMG has stats for airborne and waterborne vehicles. They usually have multiple hundreds of hit points.

However, isn’t a boat a massive object? If it were, it would be subject to the rules concerning objects on pages 246-247. The rules for Huge and Gargantuan objects state that:

(…) That said, one torch can burn a Huge tapestry, and an earthquake spell can reduce a colossus to rubble. You can track a Huge or Gargantuan object’s hit points if you like, or you can simply decide how long the object can withstand whatever weapon or force is acting against it. If you track hit points for the object, divide it into Large or smaller sections, and track each section’s hit points separately. Destroying one of those sections could ruin the entire object. For example, a Gargantuan statue of a human might topple over when one of its Large legs is reduced to 0 hit points.

So would a ship not work similarly? If you used a spell to blow a hole into the side of the ship, could you not make it fill up with water and sink?

Spells like meteor swarm come to mind; on average, it’ll do around 160 damage (I believe it also applies to objects). This isn’t enough to destroy most ships (fair enough, the blast is too small), but surely it could destroy enough of the hull to sink most vessels, no?

Boy Scouts 1e – How does the Slashing Grace feat interact with Swashbuckler Finesse?

They combine well.

From Swashbuckler's finesse (Emphasis on mine):

In the first stage, a Swashbuckler takes advantage of weapon finesse performance with light or one-handed penetrating melee weapons and … This ability is considered a weapon skill talent to meet the talent requirements.

Regardless of what type of weapon you are using, Swashbuckler's Finesse can count you as weapon finesse if you ever want to accomplish a feat that requires weapon finesse (e.g. Slashing Grace).

By Slashing Grace (Emphasis on mine):

Choose a light or single-handed weapon (e.g. the long sword). If you are holding the weapon you have chosen with one hand, You can treat it as a one-handed penetrating melee weapon for all services and class skills that require such a weapon (like a swashbuckler or the exact blow of a duelist), …

If you use the type of weapon you have chosen, Slashing Grace is considered a one-handed weapon Piercing Weapon for all class skills that are limited to one-handed piercing weapons. Swashbuckler's finesse is limited to one-handed piercing weapons, so your chosen weapon type at Slashing Grace qualifies for the benefits of Swashbuckler's finesse (as well as some other Swashbuckler abilities with a similar limitation).

Memory Hardware – How does software interact with the CPU in the polling execution cycle?

Thank you for your reply to Computer Science Stack Exchange!

  • Please be sure answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

But avoid

  • Ask for help, clarify, or respond to other answers.
  • Make statements based on opinions; Support them with references or personal experiences.

Use MathJax to format equations. MathJax reference.

For more information, see our tips on writing great answers.