dnd 5e – Does the Invisibility spell cast on a construct also affect creatures inside it?

No.

Rules as Written

The spell invisibility reads (emphasis mine):

A creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell ends. Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on the target’s person. The spell ends for a target that attacks or casts a spell.

A creature is not an object/thing; it is a creature. If I said “anything in the house has to be washed down with bleach” or “anything left in the house when you sell it becomes the property of the new owner,” you wouldn’t expect people to be included because they aren’t things.

Rules as Intended

Jeremy Crawford tweeted about a similar abuse – having a Warlock’s familiar carry them to share their invisibility. He said:

@darthmallcore “Can pact familiar imps and quasits turn their masters invisible?”

Nope, that invisibility works on the fiend and its gear.

At the time he made the post, his tweets were considered “official rulings” although that has since changed. This doesn’t, however, change the fact that his tweet is an insight into the designer’s intent.

Why Allowing This is an Abuse

Casting invisibility on the construct takes only the base level slot (2nd). Normally, casting it on more people would require a higher level cast. If casting it on the construct with people inside makes them invisible as well it is like giving you free spell slots.

At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 3rd level or higher, you can target one additional creature for each slot level above 2nd.

Moreover, if it is cast only on the construct then the party members would be able to attack while invisible without breaking their invisibility since the attack clause only mentions the target of the spell. This makes greater invisibility (4th level) moot.

The spell ends for a target that attacks or casts a spell.

dnd 5e – Does invisibility on a creature affect block vision of creatures inside of it?

Yes, while they are inside of it

From the rules for the spell invisibility:

A creature you touch becomes Invisible until the spell ends. Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on the target’s person. The spell ends for a target that attacks or casts a spell.

If you are inside of the construct then it is carrying you. The rules clearly state that anything it is carrying is also invisible.

dnd 5e – Does casting Invisibility in a 2nd level slot targeting a mount make the rider invisible too?

Trying to have it both ways

Even though you are both creatures, and it should take two spells, or it should take another spell level on this one (invisibility cast at third level) to make you both invisible, let’s suppose that your DM rules that the one invisibility spell covers you both (or see the special case below). Your friend the wizard could have cast the spell on an elephant, and that’s bigger than you both, right?

Since you both gain the benefit of that single invisibility spell, you (the combined “you” of mount and rider) should then gain all of the features of the spell, to include losing it with an attack. You have posited that you are “carried” by the mount, and you stay on it, which makes your attack directly associated with the mount and your joint invisibility — so you both turn visible when you attack.

If you find a DM who rules other than what I just outlined, then exploit away, but I’ll offer that p. 195 of the PHB rules against that exploit.

If you are hidden—both unseen and unheard—when you make an attack, you
give away your location when the attack hits or misses.

That’s part of a larger paragraph on ‘Unseen Attackers and Targets’ on PHB p. 194-195.

Why I answered this way: the special case of Paladin spell / find steed

If you are a paladin1, on your steed from find steed (PHB p. 240), and you have a Ring of Spell Storing with one charge of invisibility at 2nd level …

“you can make any spell you cast that targets only you also target your steed.”

Using that feature – without any exploit – the situation you described could arise of both mount and rider being invisible from one 2nd-level casting of the spell. But once an attack is launched, there goes the invisibility. (per p. 195 PHB, cited above).

1Or a Bard who used magical secrets to get Find Steed

dnd 5e – Does the invisibility condition also affect creatures that have been swallowed?

Yes, while they are inside of it

From the rules for the spell invisibility:

A creature you touch becomes Invisible until the spell ends. Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on the target’s person. The spell ends for a target that attacks or casts a spell.

If you are inside of the construct then it is carrying you. The rules clearly state that anything it is carrying is also invisible.

Pathfinder: What to Spellbane to preserve my invisibility?

I’m trying to figure out how the enemy could bypass or cancel my Greater Invisibility. Mind Blank should protect me from See Invisibility or True Seeing. And I’m using Spellbane to disable Dispel Magic, Greater Dispel Magic, Antimagic Field, Glitterdust and Invisibility Purge.

So other than using Blindsight, Spellbaning my Spellbane or simply finding and touching me, what can the enemy do to hit me with a targeted spell? Is there anything else I should Spellbane to stay invisible?

dnd 5e – Does casting invisibility on someone with an Animated Shield make the shield invisible?

I’m trying to build an 11th level gunslinger as per this guide:

This is going to be part of an encounter the PCs face against some pirates. Since I am using PC classes for NPCs here to give the PCs a challenge, I am 100% OK giving them apropriate magically gear that the PCs can loot when they beat them.
The guide suggests using a shield, but I suspect that it must be wrong, as it is my understanding you need a free hand to reload a pistol. Maybe the guide’s intention is for you to use multiple pistols and just not bother reloading but keep quick drawing them.

I would prefer this NPC to have one or two really good pistols and just reload when needed though. My solution to this is to give him an Animated Shield. Part of the encounter will be a mage casting greater invisibility on this gunslinger, who will shoot from one square and run off to another so the PCs will have to go after the mage or cast see invisibility to find him. My question is:

Will the Animated Shield become invisible along with the rest of the gunslinger and his gear?

  • Reasons I believe it will be invisible:

    It is part of his gear, he is attuned to it, and he is attending to
    it (within 10ft of him)

  • Reasons I believe it might be visible:

    It is not actually carried by him, despite giving him an AC bonus as
    if it were carried by him. Since invisibility makes the creature and
    gear they are carrying invisible, this might not apply.

dnd 5e – Does a Firbolg lose their invisibility granted by the Hidden Step trait if a creature they summon attacks or deals damage?

The description of the firbolg trait Hidden Step states (VGtM, p. 107):

As a bonus action, you can magically turn invisible until the start of your next turn or until you attack, make a damage roll, or force someone to make a saving throw. Once you use this trait, you can’t use it again until you finish a short or long rest.

If you summon a creature and command it to attack and deal damage for you, does that count as you making an attack/damage roll, and therefore breaking your invisibility?

Or does the fact that your summon is its own creature mean that you didn’t make any rolls that would break your invisibility (though your summon did, while having no invisibility)?

dnd 5e – Does a Firbolg lose their invisibility granted by hidden step if their summon makes attacks or deals damage?

Hidden step states:

As a bonus action, you can magically turn invisible until the start of your next turn or until you attack, make a damage roll, or force someone to make a saving throw. Once you use this trait, you can’t use it again until you finish a short or long rest.

My question is that if you summon a creature and command it to attack and deal damage for you, does that count as you making an attack/damage roll and therefore breaking your invisibility? Or does the fact that your summon is it’s own creature mean that you didn’t make any rolls that would break your invisibility (your summon did)?

dnd 5e – How does moving silently with Greater Invisibility after taking an action work?

This question could be simplified with “How does moving silently away from enemy on same turn after casting Invisibility work”, but I’ll present the full scenario in case it makes a difference:

A PC, who does not have special bonus actions, is under Greater Invisibility spell (or other equal effect) which allows actions without breaking invisiblity. At the start of their turn in combat, they are 10 ft (one empty 5 feet square between them on the grid) away from an enemy. They then move 5ft, uses their entire attack action to do a melee attack on the enemy (who does not go down). Then they tell the DM “I want to move back 5 feet, then use rest of my movement silently move away, so the enemy doesn’t know where I actually go.”

What should DM respond, by the rules?

The PC can’t use hide action, or any action for that matter, because they already used their action to attack. Movement rules don’t have anything special about silent movement as far as I could find. But it also seems quite unreasonable and suspension-of-disbelief breaking to say “sorry, but you are utterly unable to move silently at this moment”.

The reason the PC wants their location to not be known is to prevent the enemy from approaching to melee range and hitting them, in this case. The reason could also be the enemy using a spell like Moonbeam, or PC wanting the enemy to waste a blind ranged attack at PC’s (who could be in full cover now, even) last known location.

It’s of course easy to make a custom ruling here, involving some combination of PC Stealth, enemy Perception, and reduced movement rate, but I’m interested in what the rules say, including any language which supports handling this as part of a custom/improvised action, even though the PC doesn’t have an action to spare.

dnd 5e – How does Crown of Stars interact with Greater Invisibility?

Suppose I already have the spell Greater Invisibility cast on me, and then I cast Crown of Stars.

From the description of Crown of Stars:

Seven star-like motes of light appear and orbit your head until the spell ends.

My questions are: Are the motes invisible?

Supposing the motes are visible, do I still get the benefits of Greater Invisibility?

Again, supposing the motes are visible, “real-world” logic would tell me that if someone were to try to attack me, the difficulty of trying to hit an invisible person would be somewhat mitigated by the fact that I could just aim at the motes. Similar logic seems reasonable for someone targeting me with a spell.

However, (my reading of) the in-game mechanics would tell me that I am still under the invisible condition (as nothing has ended Greater Invisibility) and thus I should still get all the benefits.