dnd 5e – Would a Tempest Cleric’s Booming Blade, transmuted to lightning damage, knock a target away twice?

Let’s assume a chain of events. We have a level six Tempest Cleric, who has access to Booming Blade through some combination of racial spell, feat, or multi-classing.

Further, also through feat or multiclassing, the character has picked up the Transmuted Spell metamagic.

When you cast a spell that deals a type of damage from the following list, you can spend 1 sorcery
point to change that damage type to one of the other listed types: acid, cold, fire, lightning, poison, thunder.

Booming Blade deals thunder damage, so it is eligible for this metamagic. Further, although it deals this damage twice, the wording of the metamagic does not limit it to only one roll, so we can assume it lets us replace both instances of damage with, in this case, lightning damage.

However, our character is a level six Tempest Cleric, and has access to the Thunderous Strike feature.

Thunderous Strike. At 6th level, when you deal lightning damage to a Large or smaller creature, you can also push it up to 10 feet away from you.

My question is, is there a reason the following wouldn’t work: We hit a creature with our lightning-transmuted Booming Blade, pushing it 10 feet away from us. On its own turn, the creature decides to close the distance – thus triggering the movement clause of Booming Blade, taking additional lightning damage and, because of Thunderous Strike, being pushed away again.

dnd 5e – Can the spell Knock open the doors of the Temple of the Gods?

The Knock spell does not open magical locks other than Arcane Lock

The first part of the description of the spell specifies that you choose an object. It makes absolutely no statement about the object you choose being guaranteed to be unlocked by the Knock spell.

It then specifies conditions for if your target is a mundane lock.

Finally, it specifies conditions for the object is held shut with Arcane Lock.

If neither of those applies, the spell is silent with regards to opening the lock.

When choosing an object, you don’t need to know what bars it shut

The fact that the spell mentions a “magical means that prevents access” doesn’t imply that it can open all magical locks. It just means that your character can look at it and say “Hey, this object is locked/barred/stuck! I might be able to open it, and I can certainly select it as a valid target!”

Whether it works or not depends totally on the type of lock, with only mundane locks or things locked with Arcane Lock being affected by the spell.

(Although it appears any target will make a loud noise, as the spell doesn’t specify that it had to be successful to make the knock sound.)

dnd 5e – What happens when you use the knock spell on an object with a magical lock that isn’t specifically arcane lock?

The knock spell’s description reads:

Choose an object that you can see within range. The object can be a door, a box, a chest, a set of manacles, a padlock, or another object that contains a mundane or magical means that prevents access.

A target that is held shut by a mundane lock or that is stuck or barred becomes unlocked, unstuck, or unbarred. If the object has multiple locks, only one of them is unlocked.

If you choose a target that is held shut with arcane lock, that spell is suppressed for 10 minutes, during which time the target can be opened and shut normally.

When you cast the spell, a loud knock, audible from as far away as 300 feet, emanates from the target object.

As far as I see it, the description of the knock spell describes 4 things:

  • What the knock spell can target.
  • What happens if the knock spell targets something locked by a mundane lock, or is stuck or barred.
  • What happens if the locking mechanism is specifically the spell arcane lock.
  • The spell creates noise.

Valid spell targets include magical locks. But it doesn’t seem the spell says what it does when such a target is selected (except for create a loud knock sound). This is the case, unless a magical lock is considered ‘stuck’ in which it is according to the spell the lock would be unstucked.

However, the spell says what it does to stuck things where it specifies what happens to a target that is held shut by a mundane lock, or stuck or barred. If magical locks were considered stuck, there wouldn’t have been any need to specifically say what happens to a mundane lock, because it would apply to non-mundane locks too.


I originally asked this question here, but the question unfortunately got edited into a different question. The answer there addresses the question it got edited to. So I feel it is appropriate readdress the main issue in a new thread. For this reason, I don’t think this is a duplicate question, even though I copied the majority of the content of this question from that thread.

dnd 5e – What happens when you use the knock spell on dimensional shackles?

The knock spell’s description reads:

Choose an object that you can see within range. The object can be a door, a box, a chest, a set of manacles, a padlock, or another object that contains a mundane or magical means that prevents access.
A target that is held shut by a mundane lock or that is stuck or barred becomes unlocked, unstuck, or unbarred. If the object has multiple locks, only one of them is unlocked.

If you choose a target that is held shut with arcane lock, that spell is suppressed for 10 minutes, during which time the target can be opened and shut normally.

When you cast the spell, a loud knock, audible from as far away as 300 feet, emanates from the target object.

As far as I see it, the description of the knock spell describes 4 things:

  • What the knock spell can target.
  • What happens if the knock spell targets something locked by a mundane lock, or is stuck or barred.
  • What happens if the locking mechanism is specifically the spell ‘arcane lock.’
  • The spell creates noise.

Valid spell targets include magical locks, but they aren’t a mundane lock, and we have good grounds to presume they aren’t limited to the arcane lock spell either.

Is something locked by a magical lock considered stuck for the purpose of what happens to a stuck object? This would be strange to me because why then do they specify mundane lock.

Moreover the part referring to things that are locked by a mundane lock, stuck, or barred seems to have an inclination towards the mundane (non-magical), are there magical means of making something stuck which would be included in this description? If so, where is the line between being magically locked and magically stuck?

Is the creation of noise the only result for using the knock spell on a magical lock that isn’t arcane lock?


I’m interested in the answer to this because I’m wanting to break out the dimensional shackles infusion on my artificer. Dimensional shackles seem to be magically locked for all intents and purposes. Moreover the item is designed to prevent teleportation, among any humanoid they were probably made for mages, can a mage simply open them with knock (presuming they know the spell and have it prepared)?

❕NEWS – DeFi might knock out Binance as Top crypto exchange in the future said the CEO | Proxies-free

As reported by Coindesk, immense and rapid growth of DeFi might topple Binance as the most popular crypto exchange in the future, said the CEO, Changpeng Zhao. Trying to tap into that market Binance has launched Binance Smart Chain, an DeFi effort that copy some of the features that Ethereum blockchain have. Why Ethereum blockchain? Because it has proved to be a fertile land for DeFi development. Many new DeFi startups like Uniswap, Curve, Balancer and SushiSwap quickly eating up the trading volume that once concentrated on several of the biggest crypto exchange like Binance.

magento2.3 – magento2 knock out js foreach data

I want to select from data but it undefined. This is my code:

<tbody data-bind="foreach: { data: mails, as: 'mail', noChildContext: true }">
        <tr>
            <td data-bind="text: console.log(mail.from)"></td>
        </tr>     
</tbody>
<script type="text/javascript" >
    function WebmailViewModel(mails) {
        var self = this;
        self.folders = ('Inbox','Archive','Sent');

        self.mails = ko.observableArray();
        self.chosenFolderId = ko.observable();
        self.chosenFolderData = ko.observable();
        self.chosenMailData = ko.observable();

        self.goToFolder = function (folder) {
            self.chosenFolderId(folder);
            self.chosenMailData(null);
            $.ajax({
                type: "GET",
                url: "Mailjs.php",
                data: {
                    folder: folder,
                },
                dataType: "json",
                success: function (response) {
                    self.mails(response);
                },
            });
        };
}
ko.applyBindings(new WebmailViewModel());
</script>

This is my respone
enter image description here

But console undefine
enter image description here

Please help me!

dnd 5e – Can the shove from the Minotaur race’s Hammering Horns trait knock an enemy prone?

Unfortunately, Hammering Horns can’t knock the target prone

Firstly let’s observe the Minotaur’s Hammering Horns trait from the Guildmasters’ Guide to Ravnica (p. 19; emphasis mine):

Immediately after you hit a creature with a melee attack as part of the Attack action on your turn, you can use a bonus action to attempt to shove that target with your horns. The target must be no more than one size larger than you and within 5 feet of you. Unless it succeeds on a Strength saving throw against a DC equal to 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Strength modifier, you push it up to 10 feet away from you.

Then let’s look at the rules on shoving a creature from the basic rules (emphasis mine):

Using the Attack action, you can make a special melee attack to shove a creature, either to knock it prone or push it away from you. If you’re able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them.

The target must be no more than one size larger than you and must be within your reach. Instead of making an attack roll, you make a Strength (Athletics) check contested by the target’s Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check (the target chooses the ability to use). You succeed automatically if the target is incapacitated. If you succeed, you either knock the target prone or push it 5 feet away from you.

Then let’s look at the most important piece of information from the basic rules – Specific Beats General (emphasis mine):

This book contains rules, especially in parts 2 and 3, that govern how the game plays. That said, many racial traits, class features, spells, magic items, monster abilities, and other game elements break the general rules in some way, creating an exception to how the rest of the game works. Remember this: If a specific rule contradicts a general rule, the specific rule wins.

Exceptions to the rules are often minor. For instance, many adventurers don’t have proficiency with longbows, but every wood elf does because of a racial trait. That trait creates a minor exception in the game. Other examples of rule-breaking are more conspicuous. For instance, an adventurer can’t normally pass through walls, but some spells make that possible. Magic accounts for most of the major exceptions to the rules.

From this, we must observe that the specific rule of the Minotaur’s bonus-action shove from the Hammering Horns trait overrides the general rules on shoving a creature. The Minotaur trait utilizes a bonus action, and doesn’t explicitly reference the shoving rules. Instead, it describes the exact mechanics for its own race-specific shove, using a bonus action taken after the Attack action.

dnd 5e – Can a Minotaur’s Hammering Horns knock an enemy prone?

Unfortunately, No

Firstly let’s observe the Minotaur feature from Guild Master’s Guide to Ravnica

Hammering Horns
Immediately after you hit a creature with a melee attack as part of the Attack action on your turn, you can use a bonus action to attempt to shove that target with your horns. The target must be no more than one size larger than you and within 5 feet of you. Unless it succeeds on a Strength saving throw against a DC equal to 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Strength modifier, you push it up to 10 feet away from you.

Then let’s look at the RAW for the ‘Shove’ action from basic rules

Shoving a Creature
Using the Attack action, you can make a special melee attack to shove a creature, either to knock it prone or push it away from you. If you’re able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them.

The target must be no more than one size larger than you and must be within your reach. Instead of making an attack roll, you make a Strength (Athletics) check contested by the target’s Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check (the target chooses the ability to use). You succeed automatically if the target is incapacitated. If you succeed, you either knock the target prone or push it 5 feet away from you.

Then let’s look at the most important piece of information from dnd-5e basic rules.

Specific Beats General
This book contains rules, especially in parts 2 and 3, that govern how the game plays. That said, many racial traits, class features, spells, magic items, monster abilities, and other game elements break the general rules in some way, creating an exception to how the rest of the game works. Remember this: If a specific rule contradicts a general rule, the specific rule wins.

Exceptions to the rules are often minor. For instance, many adventurers don’t have proficiency with longbows, but every wood elf does because of a racial trait. That trait creates a minor exception in the game. Other examples of rule-breaking are more conspicuous. For instance, an adventurer can’t normally pass through walls, but some spells make that possible. Magic accounts for most of the major exceptions to the rules.

From this we must observe that the specific rule of how shoving works for the purposes of utilizing a bonus action as a race feature of Minotaur overrides the general rule of the shove action. The Minotaur feature utilizes a bonus action, moreover it doesn’t explicitly state that the shove action can be taken with a bonus action. It states the exact consequences of the taking a race specific shove action using a bonus action taken after an attack.

dnd 5e – If I cast True Polymorph on my Simulacrum and concentrate for the entire duration, will the Simulacrum knock again destroy it?

Simulacrum Conditions:

If you cast this spell again, all currently active duplicates that you created with this spell will be destroyed immediately.

Does this mean that I take my Simulacrum and transform it permanently? true polymorph in a dragon, for example, that I occupy Simulacrum again would it still instantly destroy the dragon i just made?

dnd 5e – Can a character knock an enemy that is already vulnerable?

Imagine a 5th-level fighter, Battle Master archetype.

He uses the Trip Attack maneuver on the first attack of his Attack action and hits the enemy in the stomach. In his second attack, he hits the enemy with advantage, and as a bonus action (thanks to the shieldmaster's mastery) he pushes the vulnerable enemy 10 feet into a pit.

Is that allowed by the rules? If an enemy is already vulnerable, can a character push the enemy away?