dnd 5e – Can you use Dispel Magic for the silence of a shadow monk?

Suppose a sorcerer is out of range of a Shadow Monk of the 3rd level silence, poured over ki points.

Can he dispel it?

My stomach is that the sorcerer can actually drive out the shadow monks silence although technically it's not magic, due to the Sage Advice Compendium, which includes this decision:

  • Is it a magic? Or does it let you create the effects of a spell
    that is mentioned in his description?

(…)

If one of these questions can be answered "yes," the effect, ability, or item is magical to be affected by magical cancellation effects.

Now consider the shadow monks shadow Arts Feature:

shadow Arts

You can use your AI to Duplicate the effects of certain spells, As an action, you can spend 2 Ki points to create darkness, darkness, trailless passage, or silence without providing material components. In addition, you get the slight illusion of Cantrip if you do not already know it.

Seems clear enough. The only reason I'm not sure is the "best answer" to this question: "Does AI count as magic for the purpose of an antimagic field, or is it just fluff?"

This answer seems to conclude that Ki Magic is NOT indeed magical. (Note that the second answer, which is rated higher, comes to the conclusion that it IS indeed magical.)

I will probably be faced with this particular niche situation in an upcoming session and I want a clear consensus in the community on how to solve this particular problem. Other examples and evidence are also welcome.

dnd 5e – Do you need to concentrate on a spell if you cast it with a magic roll?

I'm just running From the abyss, and my group is about to encounter a mage with a description that says

When the characters become hostile, the magician orders
they should go so that they do not provoke the wrath of him
almighty master. When attacked, he uses his globe of
Invulnerability role, throw flies on itself and fly into it
the gap.

Both spells are concentration spells, so I'm not sure if this is a bug in the module, if you do not need concentration for scrolls, or if I've misread the paragraph and he only uses the scroll first, then runs away and then throws flies and flies away.

So my question is this: do I have to keep concentration for concentration spells cast with a magic roll?

dnd 5e – What effect would the removal of Magic School's limitation on spell learning for Eldritch Knights and Arcane Tricksters have on balance?

I repeat the same answer that I gave to an earlier question that I link to this question, but I think it still applies:

DMG has a workshop section to customize your game and a section to change your spell lists. It is called (among others):

Changing a class's spell list usually has little effect on a character's strength, but can significantly change the taste of a class.

So there really should not be any problems doing this from the power point of view. Your class may be slightly different if you choose thematically different spells, but that's to be expected.

You will find this section on page 287 of the DMG.

In this case, the force side effect is probably even lower, as both classes already get some free tips from the entire list, so any spells they may have under your rule are already available.

This will almost certainly be just a taste change.

postgresql – pg_restore: [archiver] The magic string was not found in the file header: Check the source URL and make sure it's public

I tried to transfer a snapshot file from my local Postgrel database (which I uploaded to Google Drive and which is publicly accessible) to my remote Heroku database with the following URL:

heroku pg:backups:restore 'https://drive.google.com/open?id=dump_id_link_here' DATABASE_URL

I'm already logged into my Heroku app through the terminal I'm running the command on.
but I got the same mistake twice. I searched online and found threads like pg_restore: (archiver) did not find a magic string in the file header, but I could not help linking the two, since I'm two very new postgrel. I hope you draw my attention to the problems. Very appreciated.

Starting restore of https://drive.google.com/open?id=dump_id_link_here to postgresql-symmetrical-52186... done

Stop a running restore with heroku pg:backups:cancel.

Restoring... !
▸    An error occurred and the backup did not finish.
▸    
▸    waiting for restore to complete
▸    pg_restore finished with errors
▸    waiting for download to complete
▸    download finished with errors
▸    please check the source URL and ensure it is publicly accessible
▸    Run heroku pg:backups:info r002 for more details.


=== Backup r002
Database:         BACKUP
Started at:       2019-09-14 21:14:26 +0000
Finished at:      2019-09-14 21:14:27 +0000
Status:           Failed
Type:             Manual
Backup Size:      0.00B (0% compression)

=== Backup Logs
2019-09-14 21:14:27 +0000 pg_restore: (archiver) did not find magic string in file header
2019-09-14 21:14:27 +0000 waiting for restore to complete
2019-09-14 21:14:27 +0000 pg_restore finished with errors
2019-09-14 21:14:27 +0000 waiting for download to complete
2019-09-14 21:14:27 +0000 download finished with errors
2019-09-14 21:14:27 +0000 please check the source URL and ensure it is publicly accessible

dnd 5e – Does the magic of a succubus end when it dies?

The charm of succubus says so

A humanoid the devil can see within 30 feet must cast a DC 15 Wisdom Rescue litter or be magically enchanted for 1 day. The enchanted target obeys the verbal or telepathic commands of the enemy. If the target suffers damage or suicide command, it may retry the save throw, ending the quest. If the target successfully saves the effect, or if the effect ceases, the target is immune to that enemy's spell for the next 24 hours.
The fiend can only ever have an enchanted target. If it enchants another, the effect ends on the previous target.

So we know that the effect ends when the succubus enchants another creature, and that the creature can again try to make its saving throw if it suffers damage or gets a suicide order.

What happens if the succubus enchants a creature and dies shortly thereafter? Does the effect end or does it take until the creature suffers damage or after 24 hours?

dnd 5e – is the metamagic option & # 39; wizard's advanced spell & # 39; for the magic & # 39; thaumaturgy & # 39; effectively useless?

The Thaumaturgy spell states

They manifest a small miracle, a sign of supernatural power within reach. You create one of the following magical effects within easy reach:

, Her voice is up to three times as loud as normal for 1 minute.
, They cause flames to flicker, lighten, darken or change color for 1 minute.
, They cause harmless tremors in the ground for 1 minute.
, You create an instant sound that emanates from a point of your choice in range, eg. A thunderbolt, the scream of a raven, or a threatening whisper.
, They immediately open an unlocked door or unlocked window or strike.
, They change the look of your eyes for 1 minute.

If you cast this spell multiple times, you can have up to three of them 1 minute effects You can reject such an effect as an action.

The metamagic feature "Wizard's Extended Spell" states:

If you cast a spell that lasts one minute or more, you can spend 1 spell to double its duration to a maximum of 24 hours.

Although the duration of Thaumaturgy 1 minute, the descriptions describe the effects as lasting only 1 minute instead of "for the duration of the spell." Does this mean that Expanded Spell has no meaningful effect? Thaumaturgy?

Can I embed a magic focus like a paladin or a cleric in a shield? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • Can I make an arcane focus shield?

    3 answers

  • Can a multiclass wizard have one thing that is two different focuses?

    3 answers

I would like to divide up either Cleric / Wizard or Paladin / Wizard into several classes and wondered if I can use my holy symbol as the magic focus for my spells. If not, I can embed my arcane focus in my shield as well as in my sacred symbol. I intend to take on the War Wizard performance and be an Arcane Clergyman if that helps.

dnd 5e – How do I determine what "magic" and "storage magic" is for Detect Magic?

Let us address your questions separately:

Question: Visual representation of magic

The Magic Detect spell allows you to detect the presence of "magic" and make creatures of objects that carry "magic" glow. But what does that mean? The same question applies to the Spellcasting spell, and I suspect these are other spells.

Reply:
This part depends on your creativity and your taste. Neither a more general "glow" or aura around the entire PC, nor a certain "magical display" of a particular piece that is magical (such as a weapon lit) can affect or interfere with your game. Depending on the type of magic used, I think that magic can be described as bright aura (cleric), dark aura (warlock, evil, etc.), natural themes (green / brown / blue), aura (druid, ranger). and so on, if you want to give your PCs more input.

Question: Spell and casting time

Imagine a scenario in which a magician shoots a magical jet of ice on a tree and freezes it. What is "magic" here? Is the magician magical while he is working? Is the ray magic (but not a creature or object)? Is the frozen tree magical now, even if it is wrapped in mundane ice? Once the ice melts, is the water magical? And if the tree has residual damage from the spell, is the tree now magical or its damaged areas?

Reply: As a general rule of thumb, I would consider the duration of the spell

  • When the duration of the spell is immediately The magic is recognizable at the moment of the casting. Take the fireball spell as an example: while casting, the magician may be identified as magical, and the air between his hands may already point to a magical evocation. When the fireball is released, the fire is a magical fire and not a normal fire, so it is magically recognizable. This has been confirmed indirectly by the action of underwater fireballs. Together sum up: A magical fireball does not follow the laws of physics and is clearly different from non-magical fire. After the fireball has disappeared, it could have caused non-magical fire that follows all the laws of physics.
  • If the magic has a duration and thus the effect lasts longer (as in your example "ice blast"). The magic is recognizable for the entire duration of the spell.

Note: As for your example, freeze something: which spell is that? If you refer to Ray of Frost after RAW, you can not freeze it. I'd treat Ray of Frost the same way I did Fireball. Regarding the spell you described, I would judge that the ice, if it is instantaneous, is not magical or, if it has a duration, is magical.

Let's further analyze the last part of your question:

I played Detect Magic quite loosely and it worked well, but sometimes I'm not sure what to highlight in the world. In these examples, for example, I would not highlight the thawed damaged tree or water, but perhaps I would highlight "remaining magic signatures" or the like.

"Residual signatures of magic" is a wonderful way to describe gray areas. If it works at your table, great!

I would probably also highlight a huge ice cube created by magic, though not strictly described as magical or even part of a spell, but only as a result.

Personally, as I said above, I would not call her magical. If you want to highlight the "craze" of ice damage or something similar, you can simply say that "the damage type does not suit any profane
Effect that PCs would attribute to the current environment or its inhabitants. "Otherwise, your PCs may be prone to using magic to repair or disperse the lingering magical effect.

Would a forest fire trigger with flames that the entire forest fire is magical? I do not suppose, but I could be convinced.

You're right, it's not magical. After RAW, the spell can not deal damage unless it is used as a ranged attack that ends the spell, see Flame. I would interpret that the flame only hurts and ignites when used as a ranged attack. This effect is instantaneous (because the spell automatically ends after that). According to my explanation above, the moment only triggers natural fire, not magical. However, if you determine that the spell can be used to ignite materials for the entire duration, I would still set the flame itself to be magical, causing the ignition of other materials that will not magically burn. So the source of the fire was magic, but after RAW the fire is not magical as soon as the forest has caught fire.

dnd 5e – What does "Magic" and "Lagermagie" mean for Detect Magic?

I wonder what "magic" means in the context of the fifth issue of D & D, especially when it comes to spell detection. I am familiar with "The Weave of Magic" and write slots and so on.

The Magic Detect spell allows you to detect the presence of "magic" and make creatures of objects that carry "magic" glow. But what does that mean? The same question applies to the Spellcasting spell, and I suspect these are other spells.

Imagine a scenario in which a magician shoots a magical jet of ice on a tree and freezes it. What is "magic" here? Is the magician magical while he is working? Is the ray magic (but not a creature or object)? Is the frozen tree magical now, even if it is wrapped in mundane ice? Once the ice melts, is the water magical? And if the tree has residual damage from the spell, is the tree now magical or its damaged areas?

I played Detect Magic quite loosely and it worked well, but sometimes I'm not sure what to highlight in the world. In these examples, for example, I would not highlight the thawed damaged tree or water, but perhaps I would highlight "remaining magic signatures" or the like. I would probably also highlight a huge ice cube created by magic, though not strictly described as magical or even part of a spell, but only as a result. Would a forest fire trigger with flames that the entire forest fire is magical? I do not suppose, but I could be convinced.

I'd like some guidance on how to draw the line between magical and non-magical.