contest math – What type magic square did I just create?

I was just putting numbers on the paper and creating some patterns and while doing so, I noticed something.

1 2 3 4
2 4 1 3
3 1 4 2
4 3 2 1

This gives the value 10 if we sum the values horizontally or vertically or diagonally.

To make sure this also worked for other grid sizes I tried to use the same principle for a smaller grid size of 3×3 and a larger grid size of 5×5

1 2 3 
2 2 2
3 2 3

I tried to apply the same principle for a 3×3 grid, summing the values horizontally, vertically or diagonally give the value 6.

1 2 3 4 5
2 5 3 1 4
3 3 3 3 3
4 1 3 5 2
5 4 3 2 1

And using the same principle for a 5×5 grid and summing the values horizontally, vertically or diagonally gives the value 15.

It looks to be a bit different than the usual values we use in a magic square, and what I came up with has more of a pattern, especially when the grid is of uneven size.

1 2 3 4 5          1 2 3 4 5          1 2 3 4 5     
2 5 3 1 4          2 5 3 1 4          2 5 3 1 4     
3 3 3 3 3          3 3 3 3 3          3 3 3 3 3
4 1 3 5 2          4 1 3 5 2          4 1 3 5 2
5 4 3 2 1          5 4 3 2 1          5 4 3 2 1

Did I just create something completely new or is something like this already known in the mathematical world, if so what is it called?

dnd 5e – Does the Iron Flask magic item work on a creature that is immune to the charmed condition?

The description of the iron flask magic item states, in part:

You can use an action to remove the flask’s stopper and release the creature the flask contains. The creature is friendly to you and your companions for 1 hour and obeys your commands for that duration. If you give no commands or give it a command that is likely to result in its death, it defends itself but otherwise takes no actions. At the end of the duration, the creature acts in accordance with its normal disposition and alignment.

Now my issue with this comes from the following incident that just occurred in my past session for Baldur’s Gate: Descent into Avernus.

The players traversed the Scab prior to entering the Bleeding Citadel to find the iron flask amongst the deceased Night Hag’s objects in her lair. They released the fiendish flesh golem and killed it due to it not being theirs and attacking them as the module says. They still held onto the iron flask after the wizard identified it, and realized its potential for demons if anything. So they eventually came across the diggers trying to dig out the Crokek’toeck. They killed them and reached the beast themselves to capture it in the Iron Flask instead. The bit I’m concerned with is they intend to use the creature as a trump card and have it serve them in battle for the hour of use.

What I don’t understand is that the iron flask doesn’t explicitly state that this is a charm on the creature to force its friendly position towards the party and adhere to their commands. The crokek’toeck has immunity to the charmed condition. This confuses me, as I presume the iron flask technically charms said captured entities to obey their temporary master(s). However, the item description neglects to state this.

Do I proceed with the crokek’toeck being immune to the friendly nature once it pops out, and have it proceed to flee, attack the party, etc.? Or is the iron flask meant to override that immunity, and so their plan works as they think it would, meaning the crokek’toeck obeys the party?

I’m seeking a logical answer prior to flavored suggestions.

dnd 5e – Does multiclassing suddenly allow you to cast spells from Magic Initiate (or other similar features/feats) using more spell slots?

The following question already exists and explains that you can cast spells gained from the Magic Initiate feat if and only if the class you choose is the same as one of your own:

So let’s assume a Wizard take the Magic Initiate feat and learns the healing word spell with the Bard option of the feat. It is established already that they cannot cast this spell using their own spell slots, for some more supporting evidence classes received errata and the Wizard class now states the following under “Spellcasting” (the bolded word “Wizard” was added):

(…) The Wizard table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your wizard spells of 1st level and higher. (…)


With that established, I’m a bit confused what happens when this Wizard decides to multiclass into Bard; the multiclassing spellcasting rules state:

(…) You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, and wizard classes, and half your levels (rounded down) in the paladin and ranger classes. Use this total to determine your spell slots by consulting the Multiclass Spellcaster table. (…)

There is not longer a way to distinguish between Wizard spell slots and Bard spell slots. To me this implies the following:

Before multiclassing the Wizard could not use any of their spell slots to cast healing word, but by gaining one level of Bard they can now use all of them. Is this truly the case or have I missed a rule somewhere?

dnd 5e – Does the Thief rogue’s Use Magic Device feature let them ignore class, race, and level requirements on attuning to magic items?

The Artificer’s Magic Item Savant feature states (E:RftLW p. 58, WGtE p. 180; emphasis mine):

(…) You ignore all class, race, spell, and level requirements on attuning to or using magic items.

In contrast, the Thief rogue’s Use Magic Device feature merely states:

(…) You ignore all class, race, and level requirements on the use of magic items.

The Use Magic Device feature doesn’t mention ignoring requirements on attuning to magic items, only on using them. It seems like that would mean a Thief rogue can not attune to a magic item if it has a specific requirement on who can attune to it (e.g. the holy avenger).

Does the Use Magic Device feature let a Thief rogue ignore class, race, and level requirements on attuning to magic items?

bugs – Nubia Red Magic 3 shows negative storage on some apps and it’s driving my nuts

Probably a bug but I still want to share exactly what’s going on and hopefully find a solution. I can’t use a logcat for some reason (Sepolicy issue maybe?) But anyways I own a Red Magic 3 and it’s been a trouble from the start. Every once in a while apps crash, and I’m getting negative storage on many applications (not viewing my entire storage but viewing apps individually).

I’m on Android 9 btw.

This leads to many issues. One: If I need to clear an app data for ex. Snapchat, the storage will be negative and it will refuse to let me wipe the storage since it’s in the negative. The “Clear Storage” button is greyed out.

This leads to a bogged down phone, apps don’t run in the background correctly, notification bugs and overall a noticable change in how the phone feels in performance.

Google Play has recently stopped working completely and I believe it’s the storage bug.

Second, the issue can be fixed by, unfortunately, factory resetting my Red Magic 3.

I also noticed that it seems to do this when Magisk is installed which leads me to believe there is a storage bug of some sort.

I’ve search many threads but none that fits the issue I’m looking at.

Any ideas what might be causing it? Could it be a major bug from Nubia?

I seriously regret getting a Nubia smartphone because I’ve heard bad things from the company. Customer support sucks, they take a long time to provide updates. I am trying to fix the logcat issue as of right now.

Anybody here that has played Hearthstone or Magic the Gathering?

I have played a lot of Magic and some Hearthstone but was never really content with the game.
SEMrush

I really like card and board games and 2 years ago I took a decision to create my own game and work on it a few hours a week in weekends and some evenings before sleep. And not give up on the project.

My game is called The Space War and can now be played for free both online and offline.
See here https://thespacewar.com/

I play it a lot with my son and we love it but we now need to have more people to test it.

Can you help to playtest the game? Give some feedback?

Thanks!

 

dnd 3.5e – Does Detect Magic recognize the effects of Rebuke Undead?

According to the FAQ – yes.

Turning / blaming the undead is a supernatural skill.

Supernatural abilities are magical and disappear in an anti-magic field
but are not subject to spell resistance, counterspell or being
scattered by scattering magic.

Unfortunately, the rules don't say (at least as far as I know) whether an effect created by a supernatural ability has a magical aura that can be recognized by the spell Discover magic.
In addition, the description of the spell only applies to spells and magical items.

I found this entry in the FAQs:

Can you see magic to see supernatural effects? For example,
Can it recognize a wildly shaped druid?

– supernatural skills are magical,
and so their effects would create magical auras. Although the
Recognizing a spell has no line entry for a supernatural effect.
You can use the same line as "Magical Item (Spellcaster Level)" – a
The caster level of the supernatural effect corresponds to the creature's hit dice
unless otherwise stated (MM 315).

Subsequently, the recognition of magic would reveal a magical aura to an undead creature, under the effect of a cleric's ability to twist / blame the undead.

dnd 5e – I have this character idea, but the magic is weird with it and I can't figure it out

It sounds like you're new to 5e and trying to create characters.

The approach you have chosen is that you have chosen a character concept – you want to create a character that can control metal – and you want to create it as a 5e character.

My advice is that as a first-time player, you will probably have more fun choosing one of the existing character classes and following the standard rules for character creation. Once you understand how the system should work, you can experiment with new character concepts.


The best way to develop a "character who can control metal" concept is likely to be to spice up an existing class. For example, you could take the warlock character class that normally deals damage Eldritch explosion::

A beam of crackling energy hits a creature within range. Perform a ranged attack on the target. If hit, the target suffers 1d10 power damage.

and you would season it as new telekinetic metal explosion::

A cloud of metal scraps strikes a creature in range that is hurled by your telekinetic metal control forces. Perform a ranged attack on the target. If hit, the target suffers 1d10 power damage.

If your warlock has received other spells and powers, you can taste them again if you want.

This doesn't change the game mechanics – it just changes the narrative – so your DM is more willing to let you create a character to do so.

php – problem with the __get magic method

I am trying to restore the value of private property in my class using the magic __get method. According to the PHP documentation, every time I try to access a class's private or protected property, __get is triggered. However, it is not executed.

class Test{

    private $conexao;

    private static $connectionInstance;

    public function __get($valor){
        echo '13';
        if($valor === "conexao"){
            if(!isset($this->conexao)){
                $this->conexao = new stdClass;
            }
            return $this->conexao;
        }else if($valor === "conexaoo"){
            if(!isset($this->conexao)){
                $this->conexao = new stdClass;
            }
            return $this->conexao;
        }else{
            return null;
        }
    }

    public static function getInstance(){
        if(self::$connectionInstance === null){
            self::$connectionInstance = new Test;
        }
        return self::$connectionInstance;
    }

    public static function problem(){
        $instance = self::getInstance();

        return $instance->conexao;
    }
}

$test = new Test;

var_dump($test::problem());

In the code above, whenever I try to access it connection from inside the method problemHowever, the __get method doesn't fire when I overwrite it connection from connectionThis is an undeclared property and triggers the method.

Can someone explain why?

dnd 5e – Can an artist's steel defender be used to hurl magic stones?

The text for the steel defender function is:

It can move and use its response alone, but the only action it takes on its turn is the evasive action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it one of the actions in its statistics block or the action Dash, Deactivate or Help.

The function specifies that the action must come from the statistics block. Magic Stone reads:

You or someone else can use a pebble to make a ranged attack …

It allows someone other than the caster to use the stone, but it still requires an action to do so. Specific Beats General, so general permission for others to throw the stone is exceeded by the specific restriction for steel defenders who take actions that are not included in their statistic block. It is particularly noteworthy that the "Use element" action was excluded from the list of permitted actions.