dnd 5e – Does the Robe of Stars’s ability to enter the Astral Plane with “everything you are […] carrying” let you do so with a grappled creature?

There is an answer in plain English and there is a loose definition based on the rules.

If you scroll all the way down, my answer for the Goliath is a No. Or at least not without him going through some more hoops.

You are carrying whatever you and the GM agree you are carrying. For example, by the Merriam-Webster dictionary :

to move while supporting : TRANSPORT

  • her legs refused to carry her further

Funnily enough, this could also be argued for other less literal definitions such as:

to convey by direct communication:

  • carry tales about a friend

to bear upon or within one:

  • is carrying an unborn child

to influence by mental or emotional appeal : SWAY

  • She intended the play to carry audiences toward a sense of peace and understanding.

But D&D is usually more literal than this and you will probably get mean looks if you try to argue that you are carry audiences toward a sense of peace and understanding and thus can teleport the whole party with you.
So we can look at how the rules define it.

There is only one rule I’ve found that really mentions carrying for a player character: it is the Strength attribute definition.

I’ll argue that the main definition of carrying is any situation where you would use this rule. Or, looking at it from the character sheet, anything you would list under the Equipment section of your character sheet and count toward your encumbrance limit (even if they have a weight of 0) are things you are carrying. Weather they are objects, creatures or anything else that’s managed this way at the table.

It’s still not completely defined and the players/GM have some say in what is and is not carried. But it’s something.

Lifting and Carrying

Your Strength score determines the amount of weight you can bear. The following terms define what you can lift or carry.

Carrying Capacity. Your carrying capacity is your Strength score multiplied by 15. This is the weight (in pounds) that you can carry, which is high enough that most characters don’t usually have to worry about it.

Push, Drag, or Lift. You can push, drag, or lift a weight in pounds up to twice your carrying capacity (or 30 times your Strength score). While pushing or dragging weight in excess of your carrying capacity, your speed drops to 5 feet.

This includes a few things that are counted as part of your encumbrance :

  • The weapon you carry in your hands.
  • The armor and clothes you wear.
  • Your backpack and whatever is strapped to your backpack or belt.
  • The corpse of your friend you bring back to town for reviving..
  • Your other friend who is just unconcious but stable that you carry on your back

It’s not complete, but we can see highlight a few things that are not carrying based on other rules.

  • It’s not grappling. While grappling you are holding another character in place by some part of their body, but you are not lifting them off the ground or placing them in your backpack.
  • It’s not pushing or dragging. As those have specific rules for what happens when your character is above they limit.
  • It’s not what is inside a cart you are dragging with you, interestingly. As the cart says nothing about this. In comparison, the entry for a horse explains how to handle the weight of a cart.

About the goblin and the goliath?

There is still some uncertainty when it counts to lifting and holding a willing (living) character versus an unwilling character. I think that’s just outside the strict definitions given by the book and that’s where the GM comes in.

But from what I’ve laid out, if the goliath just grapples him : No, the goblin is not carried. The goblin is only slightly restrained, as if the goliath was holding it by the arm and preventing him from moving away. If anything, the goblin is being dragged along.

What if the goliath lifted it above the ground? I could see it be argued. But this is not covered anywhere, so you are in GM call territory. Maybe the GM asks for an athletic check to lift it, maybe he asks for a second one to really secure the goblin as being carried instead of merely lifted. Maybe the GM requires the goblin to be tied or restrained or asleep in some way to get a stable handle over it.

dnd 5e – What counts as “wearing and carrying” for the Robe of Stars?

One of my Players has the Robe of Stars and my question is now can he, for example, put a rabbit in his bag and take it with him to the Astral Plane, because he carries it in his bag? I would think not but I am not sure. The wording is:

While you wear the robe, you can use an action to enter the Astral Plane along with everything you are wearing and carrying.

The “everything you are wearing and carrying” is confusing and doesn’t realy make it clear if it just means objects, or creatures as well.

And if he could take creatures with him, could he grapple someone and also take that creature with him because he is technically carrying/grappling this creature? For example a goliath grapples a goblin then activates the Robe. Would the goblin teleport with him?

dnd 5e – Does wearing a cloak over the Robe of Eyes “close” those eyes, preventing you from seeing out of the robe?

There is a case to be made either way.

This is a great question, and it is going to come down to a DM ruling, as there is a compelling case to be made for either ruling. Unfortunately, I cannot give a definitive answer either way, but I can offer some arguments and let you decide. The first is a more strict rule-oriented approach, that is, let’s just go by what is written without trying to make sense of it; and the other is a more “simulationist” approach, that is, what makes the most sense in the context of the narrative. The DM and the players should just work out how they want to rule on the Robe, and apply that ruling consistently over the course of the campaign.

Interpretation 1: You can still see in all directions, even while the robe is covered by another article of clothing.

There is a case to be made here based on the Robe’s interaction with creatures that have abilities that trigger when they are seen. The medusa has an ability called Petrifying Gaze:

When a creature that can see the medusa’s eyes starts its turn within 30 feet of the medusa, the medusa can force it to make a DC 14 Constitution saving throw if the medusa isn’t incapacitated and can see the creature.

To avoid this, a creature can usually avert its eyes:

Unless surprised, a creature can avert its eyes to avoid the saving throw at the start of its turn. If the creature does so, it can’t see the medusa until the start of its next turn, when it can avert its eyes again.

While wearing the Robe of Eyes, a creature is never considered to be averting their eyes:

Although you can close or avert your own eyes, you are never considered to be doing so while wearing this robe.

If you can never avert your eyes from the Medusa, you can always see the medusa, even while wearing another article of clothing over the robe.

Interpretation 2: The eyes on the robe are doing the seeing, so they would see only the article of clothing that covers them.

Alternatively, we can make an argument from the spell description that the eyes are function as points of sight, and what you see is relative to their position on the robe. Usually magic items don’t tell us how they work – magic be magic. But with the Robe, it seems to indicate how it works:

The eyes on the robe can’t be closed or averted.

This seems to indicate that the position of the eyes matters, so covering the eyes with another robe would mean they see the inside of the robe only.

dnd 5e – Does wearing a cloak over the Robe of Eyes “close” those eyes?

The text on the cloak says:
“ The eyes on the robe can’t be closed or averted. Although you can close or avert your own eyes, you are never considered to be doing so while wearing this robe.”

Does this mean that the robe can see through a cloak that you’re wearing over your robes? Or would a cloak, or a blanket for that matter, obscure the robes to the point that you wouldn’t be able to see out of the robe of eyes and actually consider your eyes closed while wearing the robes?

dnd 5e – Can an Unseen Servant “wear” clothes, such as a robe or cloak?

Is it possible to put a robe or cloak over an Unseen Servant, potentially fooling others into thinking that the Unseen Servant is actually a person?

The spells say the servant is a “invisible, mindless, shapeless, medium force”, but it is unclear to me how such “force” interact with clothing.

The servant can clean, mend, and fold clothes, so clearly it can manipulate clothes in some capacities. The servant can also perform simple tasks that a human servant could do, and presumably wearing clothes is such a task.

However, the Unseen Servant is shapeless, so I’m not sure if it would be possible to put a piece of clothing over it.

dnd 5e – Is the Pit from a Robe of Useful Items permanent and can it be dispelled?

The pit can not be dispelled, since it is not magical in any sense, and it is permanent.

The text of Dispel Magic spell says (emphasis mine):

Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends.

To check if something is magical, one should apply the method described in the Sage Advice Compendium (see the question Is the breath weapon of a dragon magical?). The SAC says that if the answer to at least one of the following question is “yes”, then this something is magical:

  1. Is it a magic item?
  2. Is it a spell? Or does it let you create the effects of a spell
    that’s mentioned in its description?
  3. Is it a spell attack?
  4. Is it fueled by the use of spell slots?
  5. Does its description say it’s magical?

Let’s check these possibilities one by one.

  1. No, the pit is not a magic item, it is just a hole in the ground. Being very pedantic, there’s no magic item named Pit in any manual.
  2. It is not a spell, and it is not the effect of any particular spell. If it were so, the description of the Robe of Useful Items would have said so.
  3. No.
  4. No: no spell slot have been used to create it.
  5. The description says simply

Pit (a cube 10 feet on a side), which you can place on the ground within 10 feet of you

and nowhere it says that it is a magical pit.

The pit created by the patch of the Robe of Useful item does not satisfy any requirement to be considered magical, hence it can not be dispelled.

Moreover, the description does not have any duration entry: the pit is placed forever, or at least until someone fill it.

dnd 5e – Does the player know exactly what the items depicted on a patch from the Robe of Useful Items are?

I am aware of this question detailing whether a character can tell what is depicted on a particular patch on a Robe of Useful Items.

It makes complete sense for the user to be able to tell what type of item they are activating otherwise it wouldn’t really deserve the moniker of useful.

What I want to know if there is any rules one way or another explaining whether the character would know the exact properties of the item the patch will create. For example when picking the random patches rolling a 31-44 determines a patch of a Wooden Ladder (24 feet long). Unless this patch has the words 24ft (or similar) written on it would the character know this was any different to the 10ft ladder available in the PHB list of items?

I have considered asking for an Arcana check to determine how much of the item’s nature the character wearing is able to establish but I also don’t want to be handicapping the player if there are rules that detail this scenario.

dnd 5e – Use Magic Device with Robe of Stars

You can use it now (after a short rest). No need for Use Magic Device.

The only requirement for using the Robe of Stars is that you attune to it, and there are no specific attunement restrictions for it. The rules for attunement state:

Attuning to an item requires a creature to spend a short rest focused on only that item while being in physical contact with it (this can’t be the same short rest used to learn the item’s properties). This focus can take the form of weapon practice (for a weapon), meditation (for a wondrous item), or some other appropriate activity. If the short rest is interrupted, the attunement attempt fails. Otherwise, at the end of the short rest, the creature gains an intuitive understanding of how to activate any magical properties of the item, including any necessary command words.

So just take a quick nap with your new robe and attune to it, and you’re ready to surf the Astral Plane.