dnd 5e – Can the spell remove curse be cast on you?

Yes, removing cursing can certainly be done on your own. This quality assurance (highlighted by NathanS) states that you can target yourself if a spell targets a creature of your choice (unless the spell explicitly determines otherwise). This is also confirmed by the player's manual under "Targeting Yourself" in Chapter 10. "Remove Curse" has a number of touches. The description of the magic states (focus on mine)

With you touch to affect all curses a creature or object end.

As for the second half of your question, I can not answer that because I do not have the book, but maybe someone else can.

dnd 5e – Do you need to concentrate on a spell if you cast it with a magic roll?

I'm just running From the abyss, and my group is about to encounter a mage with a description that says

When the characters become hostile, the magician orders
they should go so that they do not provoke the wrath of him
almighty master. When attacked, he uses his globe of
Invulnerability role, throw flies on itself and fly into it
the gap.

Both spells are concentration spells, so I'm not sure if this is a bug in the module, if you do not need concentration for scrolls, or if I've misread the paragraph and he only uses the scroll first, then runs away and then throws flies and flies away.

So my question is this: do I have to keep concentration for concentration spells cast with a magic roll?

dnd 5e – What effect would the removal of Magic School's limitation on spell learning for Eldritch Knights and Arcane Tricksters have on balance?

I repeat the same answer that I gave to an earlier question that I link to this question, but I think it still applies:

DMG has a workshop section to customize your game and a section to change your spell lists. It is called (among others):

Changing a class's spell list usually has little effect on a character's strength, but can significantly change the taste of a class.

So there really should not be any problems doing this from the power point of view. Your class may be slightly different if you choose thematically different spells, but that's to be expected.

You will find this section on page 287 of the DMG.

In this case, the force side effect is probably even lower, as both classes already get some free tips from the entire list, so any spells they may have under your rule are already available.

This will almost certainly be just a taste change.

dnd 3.5e – What exactly does the spell Polymorph do?

The first point of confusion with the spell polymorph clarifies how exactly his text interacts with that of Old Self, For this purpose, below is the combination of the two spells as if polymorph was written as a separate and not as a derived saying. This was achieved by separating both spells line by line and then replacing the lines with Old Self with the respective lines polymorph, plus line breaks of Old Self to refer to "topic" instead of "you".

Note that this answer uses the "Replaced" interpretation of polymorph versus Old Self instead of the interpretation "adds or substitutes". The "Add or Replace" interpretation results in strange rules that make little sense from a player's point of view, such as the arbitrary restriction that a creature of normal minuteness, of which there are no normal player races, becomes smaller the size selection. So in all cases where a polymorph Rule refers to something that is governed directly by Old Self, the relevant one Old Self Language was completely discarded and replaced by the language in polymorph,

polymorph

transmutation
Level: Sor / Wiz 4
components: V, S, M
Casting time: 1 standard action
Range: Touch
Aim: Willing creature touches
duration: 1 min./stage (D)
Saving Throw: none
Spell Resistance: No

You turn the willing subject into another form of living entity. You can not make a subject take on a form that is smaller than fine, or you can not make a subject assume an intangible or gaseous form. The assumed form can not contain more hit dice than the level of your caster (or the subject's lower HD) up to a maximum of 15 HD at the 15th level. The new form may be of the same type as the subject or one of the following types: aberration, animal, dragon, fey, giant, humanoid, magical beast, monstrous humanoid, mud, plant or vermin.

When switching, the subject recovers lost hit points as if they were rested one night (though this healing does not restore transient capability damage and provides other benefits of rest, and the change back does not heal the subject). The subject receives ratings for strength, dexterity, and constitution of the new form, but retains its own ratings of intelligence, wisdom, and charisma. The subject's class and level, hit points, targeting, base attack bonus and basic rescue bonus all remain the same.

The subject retains all the supernatural and magical peculiar attacks and features of his normal form, except those who need a part of the body that the new shape does not have (such as a mouth for a breath weapon or eye for an eye attack). The subject retains all the extraordinary special attacks and properties derived from class levels, but it loses all of its normal form, not derived from class levels. It also receives all the extraordinary special attacks that the shape possesses, but not the exceptional special qualities possessed by the new form or supernatural or magical abilities.

If the new form is capable of speech, it can communicate normally. The subject retains all the magic abilities it had in its original form, but the new form must be able to speak intelligibly (ie speak a language) to use verbal components, and limbs must be capable of fine manipulation be to use somatic or material components.

The subject acquires the physical qualities of the new form while maintaining his own mind. Physical features include natural size, worldly movement abilities (such as digging, climbing, walking, swimming and flying with wings, up to a maximum speed of 120 feet for flies or 60 feet for non-flying movement), natural armor bonus, natural weapons (such Claws, bites, etc.), bonuses for racial skills, racial bonuses, and all gross physical traits (presence or absence of wings, number of extremities, etc.). A body with extra limbs does not allow the subject to perform more attacks (or more beneficial two-weapon attacks) than normal.

The subject does not receive any particular features not mentioned above among the physical characteristics, such as obscurantism, low vision, blindness, blindness, rapid healing, regeneration, smell and so on. The subject does not receive supernatural special attacks, special qualities or enchanting abilities of the new form.

The creature type and subtype of the subject (if any) change to match the new form. The creative can not take on the shape of a creature with a template, even if that template does not change the creature type or subtype. Incorporal or gaseous creatures are immune to transformation, and a creature with the subtype form-shifter can return to its natural form as a standard action.

You can freely set the minor physical properties of the new shape (such as hair color, hair texture, and skin color) within the normal ranges for a creature of this type. The essential physical characteristics of the new form (such as height, weight and gender) are also under your control, but they must comply with the standards for the new form. The subject is effectively disguised as the average member of the race of the new form. If you use this spell to create a disguise, you will receive a +10 bonus on your disguised check.

When the change occurs, the subject's equipment, if any, will either remain supported or held by the new form (if it is able to carry or hold the item) or merge in the new form and become inoperative. When the subject returns to its true form, all the objects previously fused into the new form appear in the same place on their body that they were before, and are functional again. All new objects which the subject wore in the assumed form and can not wear in his normal form fall down and land at his feet. Anything that could carry it in any form or carry it in a part of the body that is common to both forms at the time of the reversal is still held in the same way.

Any part of the body or piece of equipment that is separate from the whole returns to its true form. When killed, the subject returns to its original form, though it remains dead.

Now that the spell is clearer, we can now pinpoint what happens polymorph Really, numbered after paragraph:

dnd 5e – is the metamagic option & # 39; wizard's advanced spell & # 39; for the magic & # 39; thaumaturgy & # 39; effectively useless?

The Thaumaturgy spell states

They manifest a small miracle, a sign of supernatural power within reach. You create one of the following magical effects within easy reach:

, Her voice is up to three times as loud as normal for 1 minute.
, They cause flames to flicker, lighten, darken or change color for 1 minute.
, They cause harmless tremors in the ground for 1 minute.
, You create an instant sound that emanates from a point of your choice in range, eg. A thunderbolt, the scream of a raven, or a threatening whisper.
, They immediately open an unlocked door or unlocked window or strike.
, They change the look of your eyes for 1 minute.

If you cast this spell multiple times, you can have up to three of them 1 minute effects You can reject such an effect as an action.

The metamagic feature "Wizard's Extended Spell" states:

If you cast a spell that lasts one minute or more, you can spend 1 spell to double its duration to a maximum of 24 hours.

Although the duration of Thaumaturgy 1 minute, the descriptions describe the effects as lasting only 1 minute instead of "for the duration of the spell." Does this mean that Expanded Spell has no meaningful effect? Thaumaturgy?

dnd 5e – Can the Spell of Motion spell prevent the Gibbering Mouther's Aberrant Ground property from lowering a creature's speed to 0 in the event of a failed Rescue?

The freedom of movement The spell only prevents difficult terrain from affecting our target Move, The saving throw happens anyway

The freedom of movement Spell states:

During the entire time, the movement of the target remains unaffected by difficult terrain. Spells and other magical effects can not reduce the target's speed or cause the target to be paralyzed or held back.

From this we can conclude what the spell does:

  1. Difficult terrain does not affect your Move. Note that this does not say anything about your speed, hit points or other effects on difficult terrain.

  2. Spells and magical effects can not reduce your speed.

  3. Spells and magical effects can not paralyze or hold you back.

Gibbering Mouther's Aberrant Ground feature is not magical, so the last two points do not apply. The function causes the following:

The ground within a radius of 10 feet around the mountain is doughy terrain. Each creature starting their turn in this area must receive a DC Save Throw of 10 or reduce their pace to 0 by the beginning of their next turn.

  1. Ground within a 10 foot radius becomes difficult terrain.

  2. If a creature starts its turn within a 10 foot radius, it must make a save throw. If you do not perform this save, your speed will become 0.

The function never says that we automatically (or should not) make the saving throw if we are immune to the normal effect of difficult terrain. Since freedom of movement only helps to prevent changes to ours Move However, this is a change in our speed, which is still normal for us.

Likewise with a spell like tip growthcreating a damaging area of ​​difficult terrain,freedom of movement will not stop us somehow from being damaged; it only prevents the area from costing extra Move,

pathfinder 1e – Would the work of the Ventriloquist spell in a field of silence allow you to be quiet?

Silence says

After casting this spell, complete silence prevails in the affected area. All sounds are stopped: Conversation is impossible, spells with verbal components can not be cast, and no noise from the area penetrates or penetrates the area. The spell can be cast on one point in space, but the effect is stationary unless it is cast on a mobile object. The spell can be centered on a creature, and the effect then emanates from the creature and moves as it moves. An unwilling creature may attempt to rescue a will to negate the spell, and may use spell resistance if it exists. Items that are in the possession of a creature, or magic items that emit sounds, do not receive the benefits of saving and spell resistance, but unattended objects and points in space. Creatures in a Silence Spell area are immune to acoustic or speech-based attacks, spells, and effects.

To break it down into a simpler format for understanding (at least for me), silence prevents the following from within:

  • conversation
  • Spells with verbal components
  • Enter sound or leave sound

This seems to make it impossible for ventriloquism to produce sounds from a realm of silence, but that is wrong. The ventriloquist says:

You can hear your voice (or any sound you normally can vocalize) seem to go from elsewhere, You can speak in any language you know. With regard to such voices and sounds, anyone who hears the sound and rolls a successful save sees it as illusory (but still hears it).

So while your voice seems to come out of the realm of silence, it actually does not. So you could give the impression that your voice came from an area of ​​silence.


The answer is no. The silence prevents noises from getting into the sphere of action, which the ventriloquist attempts.

Likewise, Ventriloquism could not be used for two reasons to cast spells with a verbal component in an area of ​​silence. First, because silence explicitly forbids it, and secondly, because your voice still comes out of the realm of silence for the purpose of the spell.

dnd 5e – Can a Chain Sorcerer's Covenant renounce his Attack Action to assail all confidants of the "Flock of Families" spell?

It is likely that only an acquaintance can attack

There are a few things that indicate this is the case:

  1. The pact feature of the chain uses the singular

    The pact of the chain says:

    (…) In addition, when performing the Attack action, you can forgo one of your own attacks to allow it you are familiar use it is Reaction to an attack by it is have.

    Although this function existed before Herd of confidants For example, the feature with the release did not receive any errata Lost Laboratory of Kwalish, If you apply the feature as it is, the singular is used throughout. Strictly speaking, this means that only a confidant can achieve this advantage.

  2. Other parts of the Herd of confidants Spells are only valid for one familiar

    The Herd of confidants Spell states:

    (…) Every familiar uses the same rules and options for a confidant who has been chosen by the I'm familiar spell…

    When you touch a spell with a range of one of the confidants who were summoned by this spell can trigger the spell as usual …

    This is more of a supportive idea; Here's another feature of Familiars that applies to only one. Therefore, it makes sense if other functions work similarly.
    Also note that Herd of confidants Never say that the confidants act instead as a kind of collective entity every single one familiar follows the rules of I'm familiar spell.

  3. Other familiar skills could be executed in unison

    If all confidants could attack at the same time, you could dismiss the confidants at once and call you back. Both abilities use the singular in their descriptions:

    (…) As a complaint, you can temporarily dismiss you are familiar

    As an action during it is temporarily released, you can cause it reappear in a free space within 30 feet of you …

    So, if the attack pact of the chain works with all the familiar at once, so would this ability. Although it is by no means a break in the game, the sudden summoning of three to ten confidants is certainly a great asset to your group. This points something to the attack pact of the chain, which only works together with one familiar.

Arguments 2 and 3 are much weaker than argument 1, especially Herd of confidants The spell is somewhat inconsistent: it is said that touch spells can only be performed by one familiar, but it also means:

Connoisseurs summoned by this spell can telepathically communicate with you and share their visual or auditory senses while they are within a mile of you …

And it is not mentioned whether this sense release can only be valid for one familiar or if it is always active (the version in I'm familiar requires your action to activate and remove your own senses while sharing). And then Herd of confidants Does not mention the possibility of dismissing or recalling family members.

The spell is not consistent as it appeals to the abilities of I'm familiar and how they change (or not change) with Herd of confidants spell. As such, arguments 2 and 3 are significantly weakened, although argument 1 still stands.


Overall, the use of the singular in the pact of the chain and the fact that some (though not all) features of the spell are said to work with just one familiar each, speak for the idea that pact of the chain works only with a familiar together.

Also note that the pact of the chain itself is not part of the pact I'm familiar and even Jeremy Crawford, although he was a designer of the book, was not the to lead Designer like he was for other books for the fifth edition. It is quite possible that the pact of the chain was forgotten when the description for this was written Herd of confidants spell.


A little remark:

The pact of the chain says:

(…) If you perform the Attack action, you can also forego one of your own attacks …

You will not give up your entire Attack action, just an attack that you can perform with the Attack action (features like Extra Attack allow you to perform multiple attacks with the Attack action, so you can only use one of them Have to give up attacks). For more information about distinguishing between attacks and the Attack action, see "What does the" A-Attack in capital letters "action mean when compared to the" A-Attack in lowercase "action?"

dnd 5e – How are magical effects copied / cast to a creature when a spell copies / shapes a creature by "removing" its equipment?

This becomes important when using a spell such as Simulacrum or True Polymorph, or any other form change spell that affects the equipment.

Suppose I make a simulacrum from an orc armed with an ax, and the orc has an express spell on it. The saying says that the copy has no equipment.

But will it be in a hurry?

What is permanent magic effects instead?

What about instant magical effects?

What about "powerful" magic effects? Suppose a deity makes a kind of "divine desire" (stronger than a normal desire) to mechanically impart one of these two magical effects to a creature:

  • Instant: The creature gets a +2 bonus to the Strength.

or

  • Instant: The creature gains +2 Strength.

So would a simulacrum benefit from such extreme magic or not?

In short, magic effects are copied and (if so) to what degree?

Is there anything in the RAW rules that supports both interpretations?