dnd 3.5e – What method can be used to renew a psionic power on a schedule, even if the character sleeping or unconscious?

If a character wants to have a psionic power renew on a once or twice per day schedule (no more than twice per day at max) regardless of external circumstances or personal status conditions up to and including sleeping or unconsciousness, how might one accomplish it?

Auto-hypnosis skill name sounds like it should be able to do something like this, but a reading of the available options does not seem to cover it. Likewise Concentration skill does not cover this concept either.

The method needs to be purely internal, not reliant upon any external item or agent or third party.

An internal item (some item converted to a bone rune, perhaps?) or internal agent (such as a split mind, symbiotic creature, or shared possession of the body or part of the body?) are acceptable. Custom made internal items (so long as they are made in accordance with item creation rules) are acceptable.

The method also needs to be as uninterruptible as possible (null-psi zones or anti-psi resistant or immune would be best).

Multiple methods that combine to achieve the affect are also fine, so long as they meet or come as close as possible to the ideals of internal-only and uninterruptible.

Cost is not an issue, but non-epic is greatly preferred, and answers proposing non-epic items obviously need to remain below the gp cost limit for non-epic items.

The best method would be not only internal and uninterruptible, but also purely mental so that it cannot be lost, stolen, or cut out… if such as thing even exists in D&D.


As an example of a power one might want to pull this sort of effect off with, the Stealsteel power, where one might potentially die once the power turns off. (Power listed at bottom of article.)

dnd 5e – Can you gain Temporary Hit Points when unconscious?

dnd 5e – Can you gain Temporary Hit Points when unconscious? – Role-playing Games Stack Exchange

legal – If someone becomes unconscious due to a cocktail of prescription medication, would they be held liable for holding up the flight?

I have a friend who has travelled to the U.S, Canada, UK, and Australia a few times. He is prescribed the painkiller oxycodone (Oxycontin) by his GP and an anti-anxiety medication, diazepam (Valium) by his psychiatrist.

He says that he takes it normally but I know that he’s teetering towards addiction as he now takes an added dose for sleep as well. He’s taken these on flights and slept deeply as well as totally forgot his experience. Knowing that he’ll build tolerance to it and have to take larger doses, I imagine there’s a time that will come when hill suffer an overdose particularly as these are both CNS depressants.

If he were to take these on a flight and then become unconscious to the point where the crew couldn’t arouse him from his sleep, would he get charged for disrupting the flight when he lands? I believe that a pilot would have to deviate the plane from its original destination.

dnd 5e – Can the Grave Domain Cleric’s “Sentinel at deaths door” cancel the autocrit from hitting an unconscious person?

Yes, the PC protected by Sentinel at Death’s Door will take a single death saving throw failure

It’s pretty straightforward if we look at all the pieces in sequence, and most of the citations are already in the question.

A creature at 0 hit points is, generally, subject to the Unconscious condition, which transforms any hit into a critical as long as the attacker is within 5 feet:

Any attack that hits the creature is a critical hit if the attacker is within 5 feet of the creature. (PHB, Appendix A: Conditions, Unconscious)

When it applies, the Sentinel at Death’s Door feature transforms a critical hit into a normal hit:

As a reaction when you or an ally that you can see within 30 feet of you suffers a critical hit, you can turn that attack into a normal hit. Any effects triggered by a critical hit are canceled. (Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, Chapter 1: Subclasses, Cleric, Grave Domain, Grave Domain Features)

So a critical hit becomes a normal hit when this feature is activated. The remaining question is what happens on a regular hit to a creature at 0 HP:

If you take any damage while you have 0 hit points, you suffer a death saving throw failure. If the damage is from a critical hit, you suffer two failures instead. If the damage equals or exceeds your hit point maximum, you suffer instant death. (PHB, Chapter 9: Combat, Damage and Healing, Dropping to 0 Hit Points, Death Saving Throws, Damage at 0 Hit Points)

So in summary:

  • The two death saving throw failures are a result of the creature at 0
    HP taking a critical hit, but only one failure would be imposed on a
    non-critical hit
  • A critical hit is automatic (under some circumstances) for an
    unconscious creature target, but this class feature converts a
    critical hit to a normal hit
  • And so if the feature is used then the critical hit becomes a normal
    hit, and the creature at 0 HP suffers the effects of the normal hit
  • That effect is a single, automatic failure on a death saving throw

dnd 5e – Can “Sentinel at deaths door” cancel the autocrit from hitting an unconscious person?

sentinel at death’s door has the following wording:

At 6th level, you gain the ability to impede death’s progress. As a reaction when you or an ally that you can see within 30 feet of you suffers a critical hit, you can turn that attack into a normal hit. Any effects triggered by a critical hit are canceled.

PHB pg 292 describes the unconscious condition:

  • An unconscious creature is incapacitated (see the condition), can’t move or speak, and is unaware of its surroundings
  • The creature drops whatever it’s holding and falls prone.
  • The creature automatically fails Strength and Dexterity saving throws.
  • Attack rolls against the creature have advantage.
  • Any attack that hits the creature is a critical hit if the attacker is within 5 feet of the creature.

Does this mean that, RAW, a grave cleric could make it so a pc would only lose one death save from the hit, instead of two?

dnd 5e – What happens to an Artillerist artificer’s Eldritch Cannon if the Artillerist falls unconscious?

You are correct: the Eldritch Cannon stays around.

As stated in the quote you gave, the cannon only disappears if it runs out of HP or time, or if you actively dismiss it. If you fall unconscious or even die, there is no rule that says the cannon would disappear, so it doesn’t.

The next line answers the rest of your question:

On each of your turns, you can take a bonus action to cause the cannon to activate if you are within 60 feet of it.

Since the cannon only does anything if you use a bonus action to activate it, if you can’t take bonus actions, it just sits there and waits.

dnd 5e – What happens to an Eldritch Cannon if the Artilerist falls unconscious

The Eldritch cannon is a magical object created by an Artillerist:

The cannon is a magical object. Regardless of size, the cannon has an AC of 18 and a number of hit points equal to five times your artificer level. It is immune to poison damage and psychic damage. If it is forced to make an ability check or a saving throw, treat all its ability scores as 10 (+0). If the mending spell is cast on it, it regains 2d6 hit points. It disappears if it is reduced to 0 hit points or after 1 hour. You can dismiss it early as an action.

The three options given for cannon disappearing are:

  • Cannon HP = 0
  • 1 hour has passed
  • Dismissed as an action

So presumably the Artillerist falling to 0 hp doesn’t affect the cannon; it will remain but will be inactive until the Artillerist has been revived. Is this interpretation correct?

dnd 5e – What happen if a Twilight Domain Cleric that shared his darkvision becomes unconscious or die?

The Eyes of Night feature from the Twilight Domain Cleric, introduced in Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything pg. 34, grants darkvision to the cleric:

You can see through the deepest gloom. You have darkvision out to a range of 300 feet.

It also allows the cleric to share this darkvision with willing creatures:

As an action, you can magically share the darkvision of this feature with willing creatures you can see within 10 feet of you, up to a number of creatures equal to your Wisdom modifier (minimum of one creature). The shared darkvision lasts for 1 hour. (…)

But the description of the feature does not state what would happen if the cleric becomes unconcious or die, only state that it last for 1 hour.
I can think of some interpretations for those cenarios:

  1. The cleric already used his action to share his darkvision, so he does not need to do anything and the sharing will last for the duration, regardless of what happen to the cleric.
  2. Since it is your (the cleric) darkvision, if the cleric goes unconscious that cleric still have the darkvision and the feature, so it’s still shared. But if it died, a corpse does not have such a feature, so the sharing it’s cutted off.
  3. An unconcious creature cannot use it’s features, so, even though the cleric shared when he was conscious, once he becomes unconscious the sharing is canceled. Naturally, the same goes in the case if he dies.

Personally I think the second scenario it’s the more appropriate, but I’m not absolutely sure.

Is there any official rule that could help to determine what would happen in this cases?

dnd 5e – Does healing an unconscious, dying player character restore only up to 1 hp unless they have been stabilised?

No such rule exists.

There is simply no rule that says healing a creature with 0 hit points only counts as 1 hit point. The rules do say this:

The best way to save a creature with 0 hit points is to heal it.

A creature receives full healing from any healing spell while unconscious and at 0 hit points, and they immediately become conscious again:

This unconsciousness ends if you regain any hit points.

These quotes are from the rules for Dropping to 0 Hit Points.

Further, the rules for healing state:

When a creature receives healing of any kind, hit points regained are added to its current hit points.

If your current hit points are 0, and you receive 13 points from a cure wounds, the rules say you have 13 hit points.

A Grave Cleric feature explicitly confirms that you roll dice for healing a creature at 0 hit points.

The Grave Cleric’s Circle of Mortality feature states:

When you would normally roll one or more dice to restore hit points with a spell to a creature at 0 hit points, you instead use the highest number possible for each die.

If it were the case that healing an unconscious creature always only restored one hit point, this feature would be entirely useless: it would never trigger because you would never be rolling one or more dice to restore hit points.

dnd 5e – What happens when an unconscious creature fails their saving throw against a Banshee’s Wail?

A Banshee (MM, p. 23) has the Wail action:

Wail (1/Day). The banshee releases a mournful wail, provided that she isn’t in sunlight. This wail has no effect on constructs and undead. All other creatures within 30 feet of her that can hear her must make a DC 13 Constitution saving throw. On a failure, a creature drops to 0 hit points. On a success, a creature takes 10 (3d6) psychic damage.

If someone was already at 0 hit points (for example, having failed their saving throw against a different Banshee’s Wail), what would happen if they fail their saving throw against this Banshee’s Wail (assuming they still need to make a saving throw)?

  • The unconscious creature takes one step towards death, as though they took damage (thus making the saving throw meaningless, since they’d take a step towards death either way);
  • The unconscious creature just dies (unlikely, but in case there’s something written that would imply this hidden in the rules somewhere);
  • Nothing, since this isn’t damage, its just an effect (meaning the unconscious creature would be better off failing this save than passing in this case!)
  • Something else…

DreamProxies - Cheapest USA Elite Private Proxies 100 Cheapest USA Private Proxies Buy 200 Cheap USA Private Proxies 400 Best Private Proxies Cheap 1000 USA Private Proxies 2000 USA Private Proxies 5000 Cheap USA Private Proxies ExtraProxies.com - Buy Cheap Private Proxies Buy 50 Private Proxies Buy 100 Private Proxies Buy 200 Private Proxies Buy 500 Private Proxies Buy 1000 Private Proxies Buy 2000 Private Proxies ProxiesLive.com Proxies-free.com New Proxy Lists Every Day Proxies123.com Proxyti.com Buy Quality Private Proxies