dnd 5e – Can Primal Savagery be used as a reaction with the War Caster feat?

My druid player has just taken the War Caster feat, which states (from the PHB):

When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from
you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather
than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time
of 1 action and must target only that creature.

In combat, she attempted to use Primal Savagery as a reaction when given the opportunity for an opportunity attack. For Primal Savagery (from XGtE):

  • Casting Time: 1 action
  • Range/Area: Self
  • Components: S
  • Duration: Instantaneous

You channel primal magic to cause your teeth or fingernails to sharpen, ready to deliver a corrosive attack. Make a melee spell attack against one creature within 5 feet of you. On a hit, the target takes 1d10 acid damage. After you make the attack, your teeth or fingernails return to normal.

I allowed it during the session because it seems to generally fit with the spirit of War Caster, but after a closer look I’m curious. War Caster needs to target the hostile creature, and Primal Savagery is technically targeting the self before delivering an attack. Right now at level 12, Primal Savagery does 3d10 on a hit without consuming a spell slot, so it’s not negligible (though not an enormous issue).

Does Primal Savagery work with War Caster as written?

(Note: This is quite similar to this question about Bigby’s Hand but I feel that the difference is that Primal Savagery can be used to only hit one target.)

dnd 5e – Can Primal Savagery be used as an opportunity attack with the War Caster feat?

My druid player has just taken the War Caster feat, which states (from the PHB):

When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from
you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather
than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time
of 1 action and must target only that creature.

In combat, she attempted to use Primal Savagery as an opportunity attack. For Primal Savagery (from XGtE):

  • Casting Time: 1 action
  • Range/Area: Self
  • Components: S
  • Duration: Instantaneous

You channel primal magic to cause your teeth or fingernails to sharpen, ready to deliver a corrosive attack. Make a melee spell attack against one creature within 5 feet of you. On a hit, the target takes 1d10 acid damage. After you make the attack, your teeth or fingernails return to normal.

I allowed it during the session because it seems to generally fit with the spirit of War Caster, but after a closer look I’m curious. War Caster needs to target the hostile creature, and Primal Savagery is technically targeting the self before delivering an attack. Right now at level 12, Primal Savagery does 3d10 on a hit without consuming a spell slot, so it’s not negligible (though not an enormous issue).

Does Primal Savagery work with War Caster as written?

(Note: This is quite similar to this question about Bigby’s Hand but I feel that the difference is that Primal Savagery can be used to only hit one target.)

religions and deities – What was this religious-themed RPG from 90s/2000s about a war between heaven and hell to get souls as fast as possible?

I’m trying to remember the name of a tabletop RPG I once ran across. This was a religious-themed game in the early 2000s, or possibly the late 90s.

The only thing I can really remember is that there is a war between heaven and hell to get souls as fast as possible since the rapture is coming. There is a drug that makes people see god and if you get addicted to it it gives your soul to the side of heaven. The biggest dealer of this drug is Jesus. There is one image I can remember from the book that is Jesus in a speedboat; he may have been wearing sunglasses.

Is there a war against legal VPN services that serve privacy? Why?

I use OpenWrt and by default all outgoing traffic is tunneled through Wireguard VPN endpoint (provider from the list of privacytools.io recommendations).

Often I get an “Access Denied” or the page does not load (timeout). Famous local sites, which block legal VPNs (example Zalando). As a workaround I use the integrated Opera VPN, which has never been locked out.

Why do site operators block legal VPNs? Often sites that block VPNs are overloaded with ads. Are they so greedy for the location info associated with the provider IP?

Can Cyberpunk Red be used to create campaigns after the Unification War?

I’m considering getting the corebook, but first I would like to know how feasible would it be to use it to create a campaign after the Unification War. I know Red takes place right after the 4th Corpo War and its Night City is still part of NoCal, but I like the idea of instancing a campaign on an independent NC.

Does the core book allow a campaign like that? Or at least does it provide tools to create something like that?

❕NEWS – China continues it’s war against crypto | Proxies-free

I think this is about power and control. The Chinese crypto scene is getting stronger and more wealthy to be controlled. This on a long term might risk the power of the political elites. In addition with a centralized, government-controlled digital currency (which might not be a crypto currency as we know) the government can controll the population and since there is already lots of digital payment systems, they can unify all of them and drive control in to the last unmanaged part of their peoples live.

This is 1984 on steroids.

dnd 5e – Can a character that has multiclassed as a War Domain Cleric and Blade Pact Warlock attack 3 times in a round?

In DnD 5e a 1st level a War Domain cleric gets “bolts of inspiration” that allow an extra attack as a bonus action. This ability can only be used a limited number of times per long rest.

At 5th level a Blade Pact warlock can get the Thirsting Blade Eldritch invocation which allows the warlock to attack twice with their pact weapon.

If a character had all the prerequisites could they attack 3 times in one round? Twice with the attack action and once as a bonus action.

I know that extra attacks from multiclass do not stack. Is this an exception to the rule? Given the limited nature of the War Priest ability I don’t think it would be terribly unbalanced but a character could occasionally elevate their burst damage.

dnd 5e – Can a trickery cleric’s illusory duplicate make opportunity attacks if the cleric has the War Caster feat?

The cleric’s Trickery Domain subclass has the Channel Divinity feature “Invoke Duplicity” which creates an illusory duplicate of the cleric and provides the following abilities:

For the duration, you can cast spells as though you were in the illusion’s space, but you must use your own senses. Additionally, when both you and your illusion are within 5 feet of a creature that can see the illusion, you have advantage on attack rolls against that creature, given how distracting the illusion is to the target. (PHB, pg. 63)

Can this duplicate make opportunity attacks? Or, more precisely, can the cleric make opportunity attacks through their duplicate?

If the cleric has the War Caster feat, they are able to use certain spells as opportunity attack “replacements”:

When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature. (PHB, pg. 170)

This would be necessary for allowing opportunity attacks via the duplicate because the cleric can only cast spells through them, not make weapon attacks there. (Spells with 1-action or 1-bonus-action casting times cannot be used as opportunity attacks, as discussed by Sage Advice here.)

So I think this comes down to a question of reach. Does the illusory duplicate extend the cleric’s reach to include the 5 feet around the duplicate because the duplicate allows the cleric to cast spells “as though (they) were in the illusion’s space”? They are allowed to make melee spell attacks within 5 feet of the duplicate, after all. Or is the cleric’s reach limited to the 5 feet around them, personally?

War of the Immortals 2.5D MMORPG

Join us in WOI Mortal!

Heard of battle of the immortals? A sequence to that is War of the Immortals (WOI).

WOI is a 2.5D mmorpg with 9 classes, good storyline, along with plenty of amazing pets, fashions, upgrades and unique double class switchable during fights! With continuous updates from us, there are many new gears, skills, bosses, pets and mass pvp and pve events waiting for you!

WOI Mortal is the longest lasting WOI private server since 2016 after official server shutdown and still on-going with 200 over daily active players, with ages ranging from 16 to 60 years old. In WOI Mortal, there are caring players community and GMs that will help you with guidance, requests and tickets support!

Free to play, fast to progress! Offering you FREE hourly 3500 zen (game currency) per account, up to 2 accounts while you stay online! That’s 5,000,000 zen a month for your spending spree and opening boxes for rare items that you can do in-game vending if you stay online like many players do!

Be a pet collectors over 100+ pets, fashion collectors, try variety of gear and skill builds to dominate battle royal over alliances and legions! Easy to learn and catch up!
SEMrush

(​IMG)

Truly a relaxing game that you can play from young till old ~
The hidden gem game that you will grow and experiences that you will never forget ~
Once you got in to play, you will always stay and return to play ~

Join us in WOI Mortal!

 

dnd 5e – Can the Ice Knife spell be used with the War Caster feat opportunity attack?

The War Caster feat allows you to cast a spell that targets one creature as a reaction when granted an opportunity attack.

Ice knife targets one creature but then explodes to potentially effect more:

The target and each creature within 5 feet of it must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or take 2d6 cold damage.

RAW or RAI answers only please:(i.e. not house rulings please):

Can you cast Ice Knife using the War Caster feat OA triggered reaction?

(I have deliberately not included links I know about to supporting materials as I have been part of discussions on other sites about this and do not want to bias the answers. I am not happy I know the answer despite this 🥺)