dnd 5e – Does a non-magical +1 weapon get a +1 bonus added to the attack roll only, or the damage roll as well?

Existing items do not offer mundane with +X

There are currently no official items that grant a +1 to either attack or damage that aren’t also magical.

That leaves us without guidance from existing material and whatever your source material you have is going to contain your answer. If this is homebrew (or if there is no stat block), then it is up to the DM to determine the statistics of the weapon.

It will depend on the weapon’s defined stat block

Whether it’s +1 to Attack, Damage, or Attack + Damage will be determined by the stat block of the weapon.

If you are using a published adventure or module, you’ll need to check the stat block for the weapon.

dnd 5e – How does the Magic Stone cantrip interact with the fighting style Thrown Weapon Fighting?

The magic stone spell does not use the Attack action

The following question touches on this more, in particular my answer:

The spell requires its own unique action to hurl the stones and not the Attack action. I believe this to be the case as it makes a spell attack and does not explicitly mention the Attack action like other features do; for example, the Sun Soul Monk’s Radiant Sun Bolt:

You gain a new attack option that you can use with the Attack action. This special attack is a ranged spell attack with a range of 30 feet (…)

Because of this, the spell cannot benefit from Extra Attack as it requires the Attack action:

(…) You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. (…)


Even if it did use the Attack action, Two-Weapon Fighting requires light, one-handed, melee weapons, which the stones are not

(…) When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand. (…)

Nothing states that the stones are considered light or that they are melee weapons, in fact, they are used to make spell attacks not weapon attacks. Thus, they cannot be used with Two-Weapon Fighting. Even if you got the Dual Wielder feat they would still not work:

(…) You can use two-weapon fighting even when the one handed melee weapons you are wielding aren’t light. (…)

This still requires that you use one-handed melee weapons, which the stones are not (nor is the sling you could use with the stones).


Thus, Extra Attack does not work with magic stone because they do not use the Attack action. The Attack action is also required for Two-Weapon Fighting so it cannot apply. Even if the stones did use the Attack action they still could not be used with Two-Weapon Fighting because they are not considered (light) melee weapons.

dnd 5e – How does Magic stone and thrown weapon fighting interact?

I am a Ranger with multiattack and thrown weapon fighting. I have a sack (homebrew) that lets me draw and throw a magic stone (flavoured as a turnip). I think I have established that I would have three attacks (multiattack and bonus). thrown weapon fighting lets me draw as part of the attack.

My question is: do I add the usual 1d6+wisdom modifier damage on the offhand throw? or is it just 1d6? The cantrip is cast on the stone. I’m unsure. Essentially, if someone throws the stone with the offhand does it still hit with the modifier damage?

dnd 5e – Can the Soulknife’s psychic blades be be used with extra attack as a thrown weapon?

The Soulknife (p63 TCoE) has the ability to manifest Psychic Blades

Whenever you take the Attack action, you can manifest a psychic blade from your free hand
and make the attack with that blade…

…The blade vanishes immediately after it hits or misses its target…

…After you attack with the blade, you can make a melee or ranged attack with a second psychic blade as a bonus action on the same turn, provided your other hand is free to create it. The damage die of this bonus attack is 1d4, instead of 1d6.

Can you attack multiple times with it as a thrown weapon, if you have the Extra attack or Haste spell feature?

dnd 5e – Is this recommendation for a fighter to take the Weapon Master feat entirely useless?

In short…

Yep, complete waste of a feat. There are no core weapons that a Fighter can’t use.

Covering the Bases…

There is a precedent in the DMG for having weapons that PCs do not have proficiency for, such as Firearms

It’s up to you to decide whether a character has proficiency with a firearm. Characters in most D&D worlds wouldn’t have such proficiency. During their downtime, characters can use the training rules in the Player’s Handbook to acquire proficiency, assuming that they have enough ammunition to keep the weapons working while mastering their use.

The Pincer Staff used by Kuo-toa and a Fighting Chain used by a Chain Devil are two examples of weapons that exist in the world of D&D, but are not listed as Simple or Martial weapons. But this is firmly in the realm of DM’s Call as to whether or not a Player Character would be proficient with such a weapon.

Additionally, it is possible to gain proficiency in Improvised Weapons (which are neither Simple nor Martial) by way of the Tavern Brawler feat

However

You gain proficiency with four weapons of your choice. Each one must be a simple or a martial weapon.

This line was the subject of errata which added the bolded clause. So you can’t use this feat to gain access to ‘Exotic’ weapons of any sort or Improvised Weapons.

Thus, in all cases, the Weapons Master feat is useless to Fighters. It grants proficiency in Simple or Martial Weapons, and you are already proficient in all Simple and Martial Weapons

dnd 5e – Which Artificer Infusions are appropriate for the Armorer’s Arcane Armor’s special weapon?

At 9th level, the Armorer Artificer (from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything) gains the “Armor Modifications” feature :

You learn how to use your artificer infusions to specially modify your Arcane Armor. That armor now counts as separate items for the purposes of your Infuse Items feature: armor (the chest piece), boots, helmet, and the armor’s special weapon. Each of those items can bear one of your infusions, and the infusions transfer over if you change your armor’s model with the Armor Model feature. In addition, the maximum number of items you can infuse at once increases by 2, but those extra items must be part of your Arcane Armor.

This special weapon is called ‘Thunder Gauntlets’ (a simple melee weapon) for the ‘Guardian’ Armor Model, and ‘Lightning Launcher’ (a simple ranged weapon) for the ‘Infiltrator’ Model.

But I am wondering which Artificer Infusions are appropriate for this special weapon ? Is it only the ‘Enhanced Weapon’ and ‘Radiant Weapon’ infusions, or are there others ?

pathfinder 2e – Why does the rogue’s Greater Weapon Specialization specify legendary proficiency?

The rogue’s level 15 class feature specifies:

Your damage from weapon specialization increases to 4 with weapons and unarmed attacks in which you’re an expert, 6 if you’re a master, and 8 if you’re legendary.

How can a rogue get legendary proficiency in any weapon? As far as I’m aware, only the fighter reaches legendary proficiency with weaponry, but a fighter will never be able to qualify for this feature because it comes directly from the rogue’s list of class features rather than a rogue feat. Consequently, the two states:

  1. Has legendary proficiency
  2. Has access to this feature

seem mutually exclusive. Is there something I’ve missed?

dnd 5e – Does making a melee weapon attack with Shillelagh still counts as a Strength-based attack?

Playing a melee Circle of Spores Druid and wanting to use that 1d6 extra damage I’d get if I cast Guardian of Nature and take the Primal Beast form. Here are the relevant texts from each spells:

Shillelagh
“…For the duration, you can use your spellcasting ability instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolls of melee attacks using that weapon…”

Guardian of Nature
Primal Beast. Bestial fur covers your body, your facial features become feral, and you gain the following benefits:

  • Your walking speed increases by 10 feet.
  • You gain darkvision with a range of 120 feet.
  • You make Strength-based attack rolls with advantage.
  • Your melee weapon attacks deal an extra 1d6 force damage on a hit.”

I know the Great Tree form specified Wisdom-based attack rolls, but would it be out of the question if the benefits from the Primal Beast form would apply to melee weapon attacks despite under the effect of Shillelagh?

dnd 5e – If using a weapon as an improvised weapon, are any of its properties retained?

When using a weapon as an improvised weapon you are treating it as an object.:

Sometimes characters don’t have their weapons and have to attack with whatever is at hand. An improvised weapon includes any object you can wield in one or two hands, such as broken glass, a table leg, a frying pan, a wagon wheel, or a dead goblin.

However…

If the improvised weapon is similar to a real one, then at the DM’s discretion you can use its profile instead (thus gaining appropriate properties):

Often, an improvised weapon is similar to an actual weapon and can be treated as such. For example, a table leg is akin to a club. At the DM’s option, a character proficient with a weapon can use a similar object as if it were that weapon and use his or her proficiency bonus.

As for your examples:

It all depends how you are using it. Keep that in mind.

  • Would a thrown Scimitar still be a Finesse or Light weapon? No, that is not how a scimitar is usually used
  • Would a Pike still be Heavy or have Reach? Depends how it is being wielded; if held in the middle and used as a quarterstaff then it would lose both
  • Would a net still limit you to only making one attack per action? Not if you are just smacking people with it
  • Would it still have no effect on a huge or larger creature? It would not be able to restrain anyone
  • Would a Lance still have disadvantage if an enemy is nearby and require two hands (unless mounted)? If you are using it as a makeshift pike, then it would be heavy, reach, two-handed