dnd 3.5e – Does ‘Wild’ armour work for Alternate Form?

Could a creature that doesn’t have Wild Shape, but -does- have Alternate Form (Such as a Dragon) use armour with the “wild” property to be able to use this armour in all their forms?

In the question Preventing gear loss while using Change Shape?, one of the answers seemed to suggest so. However, Wild Armour specifically mentions Wild Shape, not Alternate Form. Furthermore, while Wild Shape works “like Alternate Form except where mentioned”, the same is not necesarily true the other way around.

If this does not work, then what other way might there be for a creature with Alternate Form to wear their armour in every shape they can take?

stock photography – How do editorial photographers work “in the wild”?

I am working on becoming a better editorial photographer. I’m not sure if I’m after “breaking news” but certainly want to focus on events that are local/national news for 1-3 days so I submit my pictures as quickly as possible.

How do editorial photographers work to submit their pictures quickly?

I am starting to develop more and more experience as an editorial photographer and I like to focus on current events around my city. That means that I find myself often submitting pics to Shutterstock from my car or other “mobile” locations to get my pictures approved as quickly as possible.

Right now I do:

  1. Panasonic Lumix DMC-G7 saving to RAW+Fine
  2. Connect my iPad to the G7 via the built in WiFi router; I can only download the JPEGs via this method, RAW cannot be done over WiFi
  3. Panasonic ImageApp on my iPad to transfer the images and save them to my iPad camera roll
  4. Use the iPad to review the images and decide which ones I actually want to submit
  5. Send the images to my iPhone via AirDrop
  6. Write all my editorial captions to spec
  7. Submit the images via the Shutterstock Contributor app

It feels like this might be too many steps. So how do professional editorial photographers submit their pictures from the field? Do they submit them to an assistant first and the assistant handles the submissions? I suppose I could cut out the use of the iPhone, it’s just easier to write the captions on that platform.

dnd 5e – Can a druid use a Sending Stone while in Wild Shape?

Per the description of the sending stones:

Sending stones come in pairs, with each smooth stone carved to match the other so the pairing is easily recognized. While you touch one stone, you can use an action to cast the sending spell from it. […]

And the description for Wild Shape states: “You can’t cast spells”. At least not until you’re high enough level.

Food for thought

The sending stones only work once per day. You can Wild Shape twice per rest. So you could Wild Shape, do your recon, revert to normal, use the stone, Wild Shape again, and then head back to the party.

dnd 5e – Can you use a sending stone while you’re wild shaped

Per the description of the Sending Stones:

Sending Stones come in pairs, with each smooth stone carved to match the other so the pairing is easily recognized. While you touch one stone, you can use an action to cast the sending spell from it.

And the description for Wild Shape states; “You can’t cast spells”. At least not until you’re high enough level.

Food for thought

The sending stones only work once per day. You can Wild Shape twice per rest. So you could Wild Shape, do your recon, revert to normal, use the stone, Wild Shape again, and then head back to the party.

dnd 5e – Can a multiclassed Dreams druid/Storm Herald barbarian activate their Tundra Storm Aura while in Wild Shape?

In my next campaign, I will be the solo healer, as a Circle of Dreams Druid.

I hope that will provide enough Goodberry and other healing skills to keep the party alive. But I really want to fight too. Because of that, I searched how can I be more supportive and be good in combat too. And I decided to multi-class with the Path of the Storm Herald barbarian. But now I am a little bit confused about whether I can always use Barbarian features as I thought.

I want to do some Tundra Storm Aura-raging while I am in my Wild Shape. Is that possible?

I need that feature to support my teammates with temp-HP while I am in the fight.

dnd 5e – Does using an Owl’s “Talons” action while Wild Shaped count as taking the Attack action?

The “Talons” action is the Talons action, not the Attack action.

However, the owl can take the Attack action and use its talons to make an attack

Note that all capitalization in the preceding sentences is significant.

The Monster Manual (p. 10) is clear that the actions listed in the stat block of a creature are additional to and different from the actions available to all creatures in the Player’s Handbook. So the Talons action is the Talons action.

As such, if they take the Talons action they cannot:

  1. Use Flurry of Blows because it isn’t the Attack action,
  2. Use Extra Attack (if they have one) because it isn’t the Attack action,
  3. Use the Monk’s unarmed strike damage because Talons is a “melee weapon” and, as such, is neither an unarmed strike nor or a monk weapon.

The owl can, of course, take the Attack action and use its talons to make attacks. This would allow Extra Attack and Flurry of Blows but not the monk damage. It can use its talons to make an attack because talons are a weapon available to owls in the way that a sword or spear is available to creatures with hands if they have a sword of spear.

The wildshaped druid/monk is better off ignoring the Talons and simply using the Attack action to make unarmed strike(s) – these get all of the above benefits with the only downside being that on very, very rare occasions you might prefer to do slashing rather than bludgeoning damage although, offhand, I can’t recall when this would ever come up.

So, since there appears to be no difference between the Talons action and an Attack action using talons to attack, why make the distinction? Well, for the owl there isn’t a difference but for other creatures (e.g. those with the Multiattack action see Can you benefit from Bladesong while Shapechanged into a Marilith?, or multi-part actions like the Giant Toad’s bite – if you take the Attack action you can’t start the grapple that is part of the Bite action) it does make a difference. I venture to suggest that this was a deliberate design decision to stop the sorts of exploits that high-level characters can do with things like wildshape – a giant toad that has one opportunity per turn to start a grapple is one thing, one that has three or four?

How does the druid's wild shape function interact with magical books and manuals that increase a character's ability stats?

Certain books and manuals increase the skill rating of a character who uses them. Can a druid who has just entered Wild Shape benefit from such a volume / manual (i.e.Dex, Con, Str) since these books / manuals are believed to be "used up"?

dnd 5e – Can the shepherd druid's spirit totem function be used in a wild form?

The wild shape function of the druid partially states (PHB, pp. 66-67):

You cannot cast spells. (…) You retain the advantage of functions from your class, race or other source and can use them if the new form can do this physically.

The relevant part of the spirit totem function of the circle of the shepherd druid says (XGtE, p. 23):

From level 2 onwards, you will have the ability to evoke nature spirits and thus influence the world around you. As a bonus action, you can magically summon an immaterial spirit to a point that you can see within 60 feet of you.

Can you use that Ghost totem Characteristic of the circle of shepherds druids while in their wild form?

From what I can deduce, Spirit Totem would be available for a druid to use in a wild form, since it's a class function, not a spell (although it's magical).

I would be happy to receive answers to support or contest this. If you or your table have tested this function, even better!

dnd 5e – Can the Spirit Totem function of a druid be used in wild shape?

Can you use that Ghost totem Feature of Circle of the Shepherd (XGtE, p.23) while in your wild shape (PHB, p.66-67)?

SPIRIT TOTEM

From level 2 onwards, you will have the ability to evoke nature spirits and thus influence the world around you. As a bonus action, you can magically summon an immaterial spirit to a point that you can see within 60 feet of you.

WILD FORM

You cannot cast spells. (…) You retain the advantage of functions from your class, race or other source and can use them if the new form can do this physically.

From what I can deduce, ghost totem would be available for a druid that can be used in wild form, as it is a class function that is not a spell. even though it's magical.

I would be happy to receive answers to support or contest this. If you or your table have tested this function, even better!