Using Anyone with the Link can View, can the user download the shared file in Google Drive?


I have to share a self-taken video to a large number of people via Google Drive. I think the easiest way is to use “Share” -> “Anyone with the link can view” option. However, under this option, further settings are disallowed. Hence I am not sure whether people with the link can only view the video, or they can download it via some ways and/or applications (which I don’t want them to). I know there may be applications that can do this anyway (like those YouTube Download apps and websites for YouTube videos), but at least I hope they won’t be able to download the video automatically or within a few clicks.

I tried in my own computer, when I entered the shareable link obtained to a web browser, Google’s video player opened the file and played it as a stream. However, if the browser does not support that player (or any player), will the user be prompted to download it instead?

I found the settings to disallow people from downloading the file only applied to “Share with people”, but nothing is mentioned about whether downloading can be prohibited (or automatically prohibited) under the “Anyone with the link” option.