web application – Contacted by a suspicious email

I have created an online service called insta-grab.com
The purpose of this tool was to learn node.js and to learn to use domains.
This tool lets you download instagram pictures.
I do NOT use ads or monetize from it, and i have never done and SEO from it.
Not only that, but the tool does not work anymore.

So i received an email:

Name.com received a request to send this email to you regarding your domain below. You are not required to respond to the requesters email.

This is the Instagram Legal Department. We are attempting to contact you regarding your infringing domain. View the complete Notice of Trademark Infringement at http://ad-facebook.com/instagram-disable.html

If you do not want to visit the website, this is what it says inside:

- Notice of Facebook Trademark Infringement

To Whom It May Concern,

We are writing concerning your registration and use of a domain name which contains the famous Facebook trademark.

As you undoubtedly know, Facebook is the leading online social network service. Facebook adopted the name and trademark Facebook in February 2004 and, since that time, Facebook has actively used the Facebook name and trademark in connection with its online social network service, including maintaining the web site www.Facebook.com. The term Facebook is one of the most famous trademarks on the Internet. Facebook owns exclusive trademark rights to the Facebook name as a result of numerous trademark registrations in the United States and internationally, as well as related common law rights. Accordingly, Facebook enjoys broad trademark rights in its name.

Facebook has made a substantial investment in developing and providing its services. As a result of Facebook's pioneering efforts and devoting substantial effort and resources to providing only high quality services, the Facebook name and trademarks are widely known among the consuming public worldwide, and the name and trademarks embody substantial and valuable goodwill.

Accordingly, we were concerned when we learned of your registration and use of the domain name. As we hope you can appreciate, protection of its trademarks is very important to Facebook. Your registration and use of the domain name violates the Lanham Act (15 U.S.C. 1051 et seq.) because it infringes and dilutes the famous Facebook trademark.

Infringement occurs when a third party's use of a company's trademark (or a confusingly similar variation thereof) is likely to confuse consumers as to the affiliation, sponsorship or endorsement of the third party's services. Trademark dilution occurs when a third party's use of a variation of a company's trademark is likely to lessen the distinctiveness of the company's famous trademark.

We have filed several proceedings before the United Nation's World Intellectual Property Organization's arbitration panel. Facebook has prevailed in each case and the domain names at issue were all ordered to be transferred to Facebook. Facebook is concerned that your unauthorized use of the Facebook name may cause confusion as to whether you or your company's activities are authorized, endorsed or sponsored by Facebook when, in fact, they are not.

We understand that you may have registered the domain name without full knowledge of the law in this area. However, Facebook is concerned about your use of the Facebook trademark in your domain name. As you may know, the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act provides for serious penalties (up to $100,000 per domain name) against persons who, without authorization, use, sell, or offer for sale a domain name that infringes another's trademark.

While Facebook respects your right of expression and your desire to conduct business on the Internet, Facebook must enforce its own rights in order to protect its valuable and famous trademark. For these reasons, and to avoid consumer confusion, Facebook must insist that you immediately stop using the domain name and disable any site available at that address. You should not sell, offer to sell, or transfer the domain name to any third party.

Please email enforcement@ad-facebook.com (include your domain name in the subject line) to confirm in writing that you will agree to resolve this matter as requested. If we do not receive confirmation from you that you will comply with our request, we will have no choice but to pursue all available remedies against you.


Facebook IP & DNS Enforcement Group

Legal Dept.

Facebook, Inc

If i am breaking any laws, i am willing to comply, of course!
But some things seem fishy.

  1. I am not using the word instagram in the URL. Am i breaking any trademark? I dont think so.
  2. The website does not seems legit – ad-facebook.com seems fishy
  3. No certificate is available
  4. The UX is non existant. It is just text
  5. The text says that i am using ads on the website, which i do NOT. Seems like a template text
  6. There are no links
  7. There is no email to contact them.

Literally, the first thing is i tried to contact them, and ask them if i am doing something bad. And sorry, if i was doing so, i did not know that, and i will terminate the website immediately.
But there is NO email to contact them back.

What are your thought?
Should i be concerned?